Readers’ wildlife photos

October 20, 2016 • 8:00 am

Reader Keira McKenzie from Oz continues her series of gorgeous flower photographs, with lagniappe: a photo of Plushie, her beloved black cat. Keira’s captions are indented.

These images are the various presentations of what are known as Granny Bonnets (Isotropis cunifolia, not to be confused with columbines).  The backs of this tiny flower are more spectacular than their sweet little faces.

flower_60

flower_61

flower_41

flower_14

Fringe Lily (Thysanotus multiflorusthey have edible and apparently yummy roots).  A startling pink, I have seen photos of white ones.

flower_34

flower_35

This one is especially for you, Jerry.  Commonly known as a cats paw (Anigozanthos humilis), it is, quite obviously part of the kangaroo paw family, but it’s low growing and its colour is just gorgeous.

flower_22

The common name for these are ‘pixie mops‘ (Petrophile linearis). the mages should be looked at in order. First, the cone, all fluffed up and getting ready to open,

flower_15

linearis

Open!

flower_19

Completely open with the tiny coloured flowers at the ends.  Such an astonishing flower.  Apparently some people call them ‘spider plants’ because of their appearance when they first open, and yes, it does look like one of those huge furry spiders with the big furry feet!

flower_1

Blue devils (Eryngium pinnatifidum).  The bud:

flower_85

Opening:

flower_87

Open.  The last image makes sense of the common name: ‘blue devils’.  Such an astonishing flower.

flower_21

The miffed madam pictured is miffed because, having successfully lost her collar, i.d. tag and bell, and running nude for a night, I surprised her with new collar, bell and i.d. this afternoon.

cat_3-1

11 thoughts on “Readers’ wildlife photos

  1. Gorgeous pics!

    Over the ditch in NZ the granny bonnets in my garden are aquilegia – what you refer to as columbines. I never knew others referred to them as columbines or that there were other flowers called granny bonnets. I’ve known aquilegia as granny bonnets my whole life, and I learned the names via my mother and grandmother who both are/were great gardners.

    It’s only 2.30am and I’ve already learned several new things today!

      1. I often wake up around this time due to pain, and checking out WEIT is one of the things I do while I wait until I’m able to sleep again.

  2. Such beautiful plants, and lovingly depicted! I really enjoyed that, so thank you.
    The transformation of the pixie mop is interesting. It was striking to see how the flowers dramatically elongate. I know that that can be caused by various cell elongation factors, but that is about all I know.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *