23 thoughts on “Sir Patrick Stewart’s Halloween costume: no white sport coat, but a pink crustacean

  1. I think one of the more interesting parts is that, from what I heard, he used to be something of a grump in his earlier days.

    Star Trek: The Next Generation was originally just a paycheck to him. And, admittedly, given the way the show started, I can’t blame him.

    I could be wrong there, but I like the idea that a world class actor can be both an accomplished and heartwrenching thespian… and also a total goofball.

    1. I’d also like to take this opportunity to notice and comment on how glad I am this site is not subject to “First Post!” syndrome 😀

      1. I’m sure that we can change that, if you so desire.
        Oblig : I for one welcome our new Lobster-oid Overlords!

  2. The officiant who married them — Ian McKellen — is iirc an atheist.

    There is a book by Zack Parsons called Your Next-Door Neighbor is a Dragon which deals with fringe groups on the internet. The author goes to a furry convention wearing, of all things, a lobster outfit (or maybe it was a cuttlefish.) Hilarity ensues.

    Turns out to be a bad choice under the circumstances.

    1. McKellan is WELL-known for taking the Bible in every hotel he ever stays in and cutting out the Levitical passages on homosexuality with a razor blade. (Wonder if that happened to the one used at the wedding.)

  3. I love his voice work as Deputy Director Avery Bollock (whose cartoon character looks just like him) on American Dad (since 2005), and also Suzie Swanson’s inner monologue voice on Family Guy. Yes, also loved Captain Picard…. and Professor Xavier on X-Man.

  4. I gotta say, Picard as a lobster is a hell of a lot better than that one episode of Voyager that I had the misfortune of watching where the crew beamed onto an alien planet and suddenly “evolved” into giant salamanders. Ye gods, what drek.

    Cheers,

    b&

    1. I do wish television writers could grasp the distinction between “evolution” and “metamorphosis”, I really do.

    2. What about the bad TNG episode where they “de-evolved” & Picard changed into a startled Lemur or something.

      The Voyager episode was amusing because didn’t Janeway & Chakotay mate as the salamanders & produce offspring?

      1. Either I missed that TNG episode you’re referring to or I’ve managed to forget it. And, thankfully, I seem to have forgotten enough of the Voyager episode to neither confirm nor refute your suspicions that…wait. Remind me, again…what is it we’re discussing?

        b&

        1. Here is the TNG episode. I had forgotten that Riker became a cave man. LOL. It was really bad.

          It amazes me that I can remember this stuff that I watched 20 years ago, yet forget the name of someone I just met.

          Seems it was Tom Paris, not Chakotay that mated with Janeway as an amphibian. From this wiki site:

          When Tom Paris broke the warp ten barrier that same year, he began exhibiting strange behavior until his DNA completely mutated and transformed him into an amphibian species. In his delirious state, he abducted Janeway, embarked on a warp 10 journey with her which resulted in her DNA mutating as well. When they were discovered by Voyager a short while later, they had mated and produced offspring. After The Doctor was able to restore them back to their human form, they decided to leave the offspring on the planet they had left them. Janeway joked to Paris that while she did think about having children, she never believed it was going to be with him. (VOY: “Threshold”)

          Clearly my youth was wasted watching TV.

          1. I prefer to think of it as my brain remembering all the wrong things. But I’m probably a sad ol’ git too.

  5. This was such a popular post, I think I saw it pop up simultaneously from Think Geek, George Takei & Dr Horrible. 🙂 It’s as good as Ricky Gervais’s bath pictures!

  6. Is Patrick Stewart doing the voice-over in the National rental car adverts? If so I hope it’s because he needs the money. Surely he must wince every time he has to say “me-ow, Business Pro. Me-ow”.

    Go like a Pro, Patrick!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *