Note to readers about emails

I am finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with the volume of email from readers, and this will become even more difficult as I travel during the rest of this year. Therefore, I ask readers to follow this protocol until informed otherwise: please do not email me more than once every three or four days. While I appreciate readers sending me items that might interest me—that, in fact, is how I get the subjects of many of my posts—I can’t keep on top of gazillions of emails, and I sometimes find myself distressed as I don’t even have time to acknowledge them all. If you have items to send me, either space them out or collect them in single spaced emails.

There are two exceptions:

1.) If I make typos or other errors in my posts (a frequent occurrence), please inform me ASAP.

2.) Readers’ wildlife photos are always welcome, and you can send them at any time.

Thanks for your consideration. —The Management

19 Comments

  1. Posted November 14, 2017 at 7:20 am | Permalink

    Hey, we are just keeping you on your toes; preventing you from lapsing into post-retirement somnolence! 🙂

    (I am amazed at your energy to keep up with your website — and all the other things you accomplish. Good on you!)

  2. Serendipitydawg
    Posted November 14, 2017 at 7:28 am | Permalink

    I’ll try to keep it down…

    The one benefit of lighter posting is fewer typoos (sic :-))

  3. Jake Sevins
    Posted November 14, 2017 at 7:59 am | Permalink

    I don’t know how you do it, Jerry. And I do worry you’re going to burn out at some point… most people don’t have this work capacity.

    Take care, please.

  4. Ken Elliott
    Posted November 14, 2017 at 8:06 am | Permalink

    It’s always good to get feedback, especially if it helps with a relationship. Your relationship with us, if I can speak for all or most of WEIT’s readership, is important. I know that I will heed your request as I have certainly been guilty as charged. From our end, perhaps, it’s not obvious how many of us are performing the same exact activity of sending you something we think you might like as if we’re the only ones doing so. Again, thank you for pointing that out, and thank you for this wonderful relationship you have cultivated with us. You are perhaps one of a kind.

  5. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted November 14, 2017 at 8:21 am | Permalink

    I often see things that I think would be of interest, but I usually don’t email them in. Sure enough, many of them appear on WEIT anyway! So my thoughts are sufficient, which is pretty damn miraculous.

    • Posted November 14, 2017 at 8:26 am | Permalink

      Wow! Through the intervention of Ceiling Cat (may her/his name be hallowed)? Have you a cat friend who beams forth the messages?!

    • Posted November 14, 2017 at 10:17 am | Permalink

      Yes, but if everybody did the same as you, I wouldn’t get ANYTHING!

      • David Coxill
        Posted November 14, 2017 at 12:39 pm | Permalink

        Hi ,doc ,sent you an email about the Lynx that escape from a zoo in Wales a few weeks ago ,the local council hired a marksman to kill it .They considered it a threat to Humans .
        Didn’t know if you got it or not .

        • Posted November 14, 2017 at 2:45 pm | Permalink

          I don’t remember it, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t get it. This is the problem: I get so much stuff that I can’t even evaluate it for posting, much less acknowledge it.

          • David Coxill
            Posted November 15, 2017 at 1:54 am | Permalink

            I think you need an intern to deal with your emails .
            Pardon me for asking how many emails do you get on a average day?

          • Posted November 15, 2017 at 10:29 am | Permalink

            It is dead now… 😦

  6. Posted November 14, 2017 at 8:25 am | Permalink

    Victim of your success!

    Couldn’t we have a post once a week to take news stories that may be interesting? That is, ‘submit stories below’. I frequently put something under the Hili post as I do not want to bombard you… otherwise i would suggest again an e-mail address like hotmail or gmail that we could send stuff to… that could then be a sort of ‘cloud storage’ for you…

  7. Posted November 14, 2017 at 9:36 am | Permalink

    Might I suggest that when we send The Management an email which really doesn’t require a response, we proactively dispense with the stuffy superfluous formalities and state “no response necessary”?

    Otherwise I might feel the need to respond “You’re Welcome” and that’s not helping the problem.

  8. Joseph Stans
    Posted November 14, 2017 at 10:50 am | Permalink

    Hummph! Not long ago you were all excited about hitting the 40,000 mark on membership. Now we get complaints about how much work it is….

    • mordacious1
      Posted November 14, 2017 at 11:14 am | Permalink

      (cough) That’s 50,000…

  9. mordacious1
    Posted November 14, 2017 at 11:17 am | Permalink

    I only send you emails when I have something very important to say. To that end, I have never sent you an email.

    You’re welcome.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

