Tuesday: Hili dialogue (and Leon monologue)

by Grania

Good morning! Jerry is off to Gdansk, so it falls to me to do the morning Hili dialogue.

It was a busy day in history.   In 1609 Henry Hudson began his exploration of the Hudson River while aboard the Halve Maen. In 1846 Elizabeth Barrett eloped with Robert Browning. In 1933 Leó Szilárd, purportedly while waiting for a red light on Southampton Row in Bloomsbury, conceived the idea of the nuclear chain reaction. In 1940 a teenager Marcel Ravidat discovered cave paintings in Lascaux, France.

In 1953 U.S. Senator and future President John Fitzgerald Kennedy married Jacqueline Lee Bouvier.  In South Africa in 1977 anti-apartheid activist Steve Biko died in police custody after having been brutally beaten. In 2011 today, The 9/11 Memorial Museum in New York City opened.

Today in Twitter there is this useful chart that pretty much anyone who has posted anything online will relate to.

And a dog having his day.

[JAC: I have internet on my train and emphasize that I’m not responsible for the d*g tw**t.]

Out in the country near Dobrzyn, Leon poses on his new property.

Leon:  Now we will prepare a model of my statue.

In Polish:

Leon: Teraz przygotujemy projekt mojego pomnika.

And a tw**t found by Matthew. I’ve never seen a woodpecker pecking a human.

And finally, a cat’s dilemma from Hili.

Hili: The grass is wet.
A: Because there is a dew.
Hili: If I went with you my paws would get soaking wet
A: So go back.
Hili: No way.
In Polish:
Hili: Trawa jest mokra.
Ja: Bo jest rosa.
Hili: Jak pójdę z wami, to będę miała całkiem mokre łapki.
Ja: To wróć.
Hili: Mowy nie ma.

16 Comments

  1. Posted September 12, 2017 at 6:32 am | Permalink

    SR;PW

    • Grania Spingies
      Posted September 12, 2017 at 6:50 am | Permalink

      Everyone’s a critic.

  2. rickflick
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 6:49 am | Permalink

    Ooo. Grania snuck in a d*g tw**t! 2G2BT.

  3. Steve Pollard
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 6:57 am | Permalink

    Having several times had to wait at red lights on Southampton Row, I can confirm that there is ample time to construct quite complex thoughts and ideas.

  4. Randy schenck
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 6:57 am | Permalink

    My… Only three years old when the ten years of Camelot began. Time really flies.

  5. Posted September 12, 2017 at 6:59 am | Permalink

    Amazingly those Lascaux cave paintings are about 14,00 years older than the Earth itself. Although I am now blocked by Ken Ham, I feel an informative t***t to him coming on.

  6. Terry Sheldon
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 11:01 am | Permalink

    From the patches on the gentleman’s uniform, it appears that the woodpecker resides in Poland. Perhaps PCC(E) could check it out in his spare time…

  7. TJR
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    If people just put RH;PAC instead of wasting your time while you work that out it would be a big help.

  8. Posted September 12, 2017 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

    On the d*g video.

    I was once house-sitting for friends. Their neighborhood d*gs pretty well had run of the house. (They had their own d*g; but they and their d*g were out of town.)

    I wanted to eat supper and built myself a big ham sandwich (with lots of condiments and with cheese). I put in the living room where I wanted to eat and went back to the kitchen for a glass of water.

    When I got back to the the living room (I was gone maybe 30 seconds), I saw an empty plate and just the tail of the neighbor’s German Shepherd (Alsatian) disappearing out the front door!

    It was so ridiculous, I just had to laugh out loud. (Besides, I had more ham!)

    Served me right for leaving the front door unlocked (the various dogs could open the front door handle because it was one of those horizontal handles instead of a round knob).

  9. Posted September 12, 2017 at 2:35 pm | Permalink

    Peter Gabriel did good song about Biko, called “Biko”.

    • Posted September 12, 2017 at 3:04 pm | Permalink

      Indeed.

    • Andy Lowry
      Posted September 12, 2017 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

      Never could figure out how he came up with that title.

  10. ploubere
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

    My mother got to see Lascaux shortly after WWII, when the cave was open and anybody could just walk in. By an incredible coincidence, when they arrived at the site a full solar eclipse took place. She described it as a surreal day.

  11. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted September 12, 2017 at 5:18 pm | Permalink

    I felt way out of wack today, then wondered “hey, was there a Hili Dialogue today?

    … anyone else not getting it or just me? The 9/11 muffin too …?!

    Help?!

    • ThyroidPlanet
      Posted September 12, 2017 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

      … last one I remember getting was Greg Meyer’s trolley dog post….

      and seems I can’t subscribe

      Was it something I said? About carrot varieties?

    • ThyroidPlanet
      Posted September 12, 2017 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

      Update : a known known : it appears my email grace space ran out… sorry…


