Spot the black rat snake!

Reader Gabe McNett sent me two really good “spot the photos”, along with reveals. I’ll put one up today. Here’s his notes (I’ve eliminated the clues):

A black rat snake (Pantherophis obsoletus). I spotted this beauty while returning from a field site. I’d rate this one as relatively easy.

Black rat snakes are common and I always enjoy seeing them, but I admit it can always be a little surprising to spot them in the field because of their size (up to 6 feet). Nevertheless, they’re harmless. I tried to get a closer picture, but it took off before I was able to do so.

Is it easy? You tell me. Reveal at 4 pm Chicago time. Click photo to enlarge:

11 Comments

  1. GBJames
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:37 pm | Permalink

    I think I see it.

  2. W.Benson
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:37 pm | Permalink

    Climbing low on trunk of big white oak (?) at left of foto?

  3. James Duke
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:45 pm | Permalink

    I found it. This is easier than most of your “Spot the ” pics.

  4. David Coxill
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:47 pm | Permalink

    I think it is on the big tree on the right ,down near the bottom.

  5. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:52 pm | Permalink

    Oh no!

    The one time I click on the ST_ pic, I click again – I suppose that’s a feature not a bug? The “reveal” is achieved by clicking the ST_ pic?…

    Wicked good one though…

    • Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

      I think what you are saying is that when you click and click again to embiggen you can see the reveal as well.
      I see it too.
      But I found the snake on my own.

      • ThyroidPlanet
        Posted August 10, 2017 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

        Yes

        I clicked – and then, I clicked again.

        ^^^^^dont ask me why, but this kind of syntax/phrasing always reminds me of a Seinfeld episode.

      • ThyroidPlanet
        Posted August 10, 2017 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

        embiggen – Simpsons.

        • Posted August 10, 2017 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

          I don’t know where the term ’embiggen’ originates, but I am pretty sure it is one of many things I have learned about on WEIT 😊.

  6. Jan looman
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 2:58 pm | Permalink

    Base of the tree on the right

  7. Craw
    Posted August 10, 2017 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Rat snake? There! Over there! the orange thing with the big comb-over!


