Readers’ wildlife photo: spot the katydid

As I’m occupied today, there will be one wildlife photo, and it’ll be a “spot the. . . ” picture. It comes from reader Siegfried Gust, who sent other photos that I’ll include in the reveal. For now, spot the katydid, As Siegfried notes:

Greetings from Costa Rica.

I came across a lichen mimicking katydid the other day and thought that you might be able to use some pictures of it on your site. Here is a wide shot that shows just how well they blend in for one of your “Spot the _______” posts.

Can you spot it? (Click to enlarge.) I consider this one “hard”. The reveal is at 1 p.m. Chicago time:

20 Comments

  1. Posted July 28, 2017 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    Can’t find it! Though there is a suspicious shape in the bryophytes at lower left….but maybe this is pareidolia.

    There is a cute tiny mantis in the frame as well.

    • darrelle
      Posted July 28, 2017 at 8:14 am | Permalink

      Go down from there and look for black banding.

      • Posted July 28, 2017 at 8:21 am | Permalink

        Got it. That really was hard! Darrelle, I need you as a co-investigator of our forests here!

        • darrelle
          Posted July 28, 2017 at 10:50 am | Permalink

          Careful Lou! You might unexpectedly find my on your door step!

          • rickflick
            Posted July 28, 2017 at 11:07 am | Permalink

            If you actually make the trip, leave a trail of bread crumbs. I’ll bring my camera.

            • darrelle
              Posted July 28, 2017 at 11:13 am | Permalink

              I get the couch.

              • rickflick
                Posted July 28, 2017 at 11:24 am | Permalink

                That’s OK. I’ll just stay out on the hammock under the stars.

              • darrelle
                Posted July 28, 2017 at 11:28 am | Permalink

                Damn. I wrote hammock first, then switched it to couch for some stupid reason. Rock, paper, scissors?

              • rickflick
                Posted July 28, 2017 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

          • darrelle
            Posted July 28, 2017 at 11:11 am | Permalink

            “me” even.

  2. darrelle
    Posted July 28, 2017 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    Wow, that katydid is very cryptic. If it weren’t for a leg and the black bands I might not have been able to distinguish it.

    Also see a praying mantis.

  3. GBJames
    Posted July 28, 2017 at 8:16 am | Permalink

    I’m not seeing this one.

    • rickflick
      Posted July 28, 2017 at 9:47 am | Permalink

      Oh, good. Someone to commiserate with. 8-(

  4. Dee
    Posted July 28, 2017 at 8:51 am | Permalink

    I got lucky on this one and actually spotted it. Legs and black bands for me too.

  5. Posted July 28, 2017 at 10:05 am | Permalink

    Well, I can see the black bands and possibly a leg. But the katydid image doesn’t exactly spring out at me, even when I know where it is. And I couldn’t say which end is which.

    The little mantid is nice.

    Isn’t natural selection marvellous!

    • rickflick
      Posted July 28, 2017 at 11:05 am | Permalink

      If you’re the real Richard Dawkins, please raise your hand, or wink, so we know.

      • Colin McLachlan
        Posted July 28, 2017 at 1:08 pm | Permalink

        Try clicking on his name 😉

  6. Posted July 28, 2017 at 10:14 am | Permalink

    Even when I found it, it does not then ‘jump out’ at me. That is amazing.

  7. Kurt Lewis Helf
    Posted July 28, 2017 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    That was tough!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

