Readers’ wildlife photos

We have a new contributor today, reader José Ramón López from Puebla, Mexico, a lovely town that I visited several years ago and will revisit this coming November. Not all of his species are identified, so readers can help. His notes are indented:

I submit four non-artsy photos. Hope they´re good enough…
The first two: orioles. Third and fourth: a blue jay (in the fourth, the good fellow is very serious under the rain). They all live in Puebla, México. Feel free to correct me if needed. I think those birds are orioles and blue jay, but I´m not an Audubon…

[JAC]: aren’t these robins?

And what are these?

Stephen Barnard is still photographing the brood of eleven (now ten) gadwall ducklings (Anas strepera); here’s part of the brood in a picture named “Proud mom”:

14 Comments

  1. DrBeydon
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 7:37 am | Permalink

    Nice pix, José. I like the fourth one in particular; he looks like I feel in the rain sometimes.

  2. Christopher
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 7:44 am | Permalink

    Are the jays perhaps the gray-breasted jay, Aphelocoma ultramarina? Maybe the unknowns are Tawny-throated leafscrapers, Sclerurus mexicanus but I’ve no idea really, never been that far south so my knowledge is pitiful.

  3. jwthomas
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 8:16 am | Permalink

    Re the Pueblo birds:
    They look like Western Robins and California “Scrub” Jays to me, familiar from my front lawn and garden. The robins have moved on to the foothills behind me but the Jays are still screeching their lungs out here every day in the flatlands.

    I’m too lazy and it’s way too early morning for me to go looking through my Petersons for the science names but, hey, they’re not my photos anyway.

    • jwthomas
      Posted July 7, 2017 at 9:33 am | Permalink

      *Puebla*

      • darwindad
        Posted July 7, 2017 at 2:49 pm | Permalink

        Agree with jwthomas. Two American robins and two jays. No orioles.

  4. Anna Wilson
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 8:16 am | Permalink

    I travel to Costa Rica regularly and these 1st two bird photos look like what they call yigüirro or clay coloured thrush but their distinctive song certainly sounds like that of a robin. Given that robins do migrate, I think they might be one and the same.

  5. claudia baker
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    The baby gadwalls. I can’t even.

    Nice bird photos!

  6. darrelle
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 9:18 am | Permalink

    Comparing the first two photos side by side with wikipedia photos, they are pretty much an exact match for the American Robin, Turdus migratorius. And their year round range includes a large area of central Mexico while their wintering range covers pretty much the rest of Mexico.

    Nice pics José. In addition to the birds the environs around Puebla reveal it as a beautiful place.

  7. rickflick
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    I want to call the black birds crows, although they seem to have a slight difference from the American crow(Corvus brachyrhynchos). For one thing, this bird has a much longer tail than the common crow. The second of these, the group of three, is a very appealing composition. The overlapping curves of the grass reflects the curves of the birds. Good one.

  8. Posted July 7, 2017 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    First two: American Robins. Second two: Scrub Jays. (The groups has been split; which one?) Black birds: Great-tailed Grackles.

    All identified from my knowledge of U.S. birds, and perhaps Puebla has different ones, but they’ll be related to the species I listed.

    • Posted July 7, 2017 at 12:45 pm | Permalink

      +1

      Took the words out of my reply. 🙂

  9. Raymond Little
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

    Well, they’re blue, and they’re jays, but not Blue Jays. If you’re from Toronto, you know the difference, via sports coverage.

  10. Posted July 7, 2017 at 1:36 pm | Permalink

    The top two birds are American Robins (Turdus migratroius). The jays are not Blue Jays but probably Sumichrast’s Scrub Jay which is a subspecies of Woodhouse’s Scrub Jay. The bottom birds are juvenile Great-tailed Grackles.

  11. Mark R.
    Posted July 7, 2017 at 1:45 pm | Permalink

    Nice photos.

    In the 5th and 6th photo, what is the plant/tree the birds are perched on? Really cool looking flora.


