Cats appropriating owners

Reader Michael Glenister shows us how humans really do become the staff of their cats. His comment:

My cat will often come visit me when I’m on the computer and demand attention, so eventually I’ll put it on my shoulders. The cat will then start moving along my right arm, forcing me to instinctively raise it. When the arm is level, the cat will lie down and make itself comfortable. This forces me to hold on to the wall unit by my desk (just out of camera view) to support my arm, and use the computer one-handed.
I thought you would find that amusing.
Here are two pictures of Hili bothering Malgorzata, who’s trying to write on the computer. Malgorzata is a softy and cannot resist, either! Photos by Andrzej.I’ll see everyone in Poland come September.

7 Comments

  1. Jenny Haniver
    Posted July 4, 2017 at 3:04 pm | Permalink

    Hili looks somewhat distressed, but resigned, that the staff member is eating of the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge.

  2. Paul S
    Posted July 4, 2017 at 4:14 pm | Permalink

    I have to lock my cat out of the office because she likes to join conference calls.

  3. yiamcross
    Posted July 4, 2017 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

    My cat comes and demands I brush her when I’m on the computer. When she’s had enough she lets me know by slicing and dicing my hand. One of us learns.

  4. Craw
    Posted July 4, 2017 at 7:08 pm | Permalink

    Catural appropriation.

  5. Serendipitydawg
    Posted July 5, 2017 at 4:43 am | Permalink

    My wife has similar problems with the highly desirable footrest of her recliner chair; the exact play of events depends on whether George or Bert manages to colonise first and whether the laptop is in use. It generally ends up with one squished staff member trying to relax while either using an awkwardly placed laptop or trying to type around and read through Bert (not easy, he’s a big boy).

  6. David Coxill
    Posted July 5, 2017 at 7:12 am | Permalink

    My cat Misha once sat on my laptop ,i put it down and managed to get a photo of him .

  7. Mobius
    Posted July 5, 2017 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    A few years back, I was leaving the house when I noticed a tail flicking out from beneath my car. I bent down to look and a small tortoise shell kitten came out, wrapped itself around my leg and announced to world that I was its new daddy.


