Squirrel update

What with the warm weather and the 35-pound bag of sunflower seeds I bought, along with weekly purchases of peanuts, I’m attracting a lot of squirrels to my windowsill. I leave the window propped open when I sweep the sunflower-seed husks off their ledge and replenish their water dish, and when I do that they sometimes they come inside, impatient for a peanut. (They tolerate the seeds but really love the nuts.) Once, when I left the lab untended and the window open, what must have been a whole scurry of squirrels made off with two pounds of peanuts sitting on a cart five feet away from the window. I would have liked to have seen that!

There are so many sciurids that I can’t recognize them all. Here’s one sticking his noggin into the lab for a peanut this morning:

8 Comments

  1. Posted June 25, 2017 at 7:31 am | Permalink

    I keep trying to find a redeeming quality in semi domesticated squirrels and chipmunks, and some cats.
    For cats, Imbelieve Kafka’s thought that they are more sentient a species thanhomo sapiens

  2. Posted June 25, 2017 at 7:31 am | Permalink

    I keep trying to find a redeeming quality in semi domesticated squirrels and chipmunks, and some cats.
    For cats, Imbelieve Kafka’s thought that they are more sentient a species thanhomo sapiens

  3. rickflick
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    The squirrel sure is cute. The image gives me vertigo. One could ask, with their high wire lifestyle, what is it like to be a squirrel? Does a squirrel experience vertigo – especially on her first trip out of the nest?

  4. Diana MacPherson
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 8:42 am | Permalink

    I would have loved to see the squirrels making off with the bag of nuts! 🥜

    • Gregory Kusnick
      Posted June 25, 2017 at 10:44 am | Permalink

      I’m sure they’d be happy to do it again if Jerry wants to catch it on camera.

  5. Posted June 25, 2017 at 7:23 pm | Permalink

    The beautiful and talented Sarah Silverman has a joke in her newest Netflix special about how squirrels can only ever relocate about eighty percent of the nuts they bury. True or not, still a funny thought!

  6. Dale Franzwa
    Posted June 25, 2017 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    It’s quite remarkable how how well those squirrels have trained Jerry. No need to go out and hunt up noms when Jerry will provide them just for the taking. They’ve tamed him so well it’s safe to venture right up and eat noms from his hand and he won’t even pull their tails. Amazing!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

