Jesus ‘n’ Mo ‘n’ speech

The new Jesus and Mo strip, called “fall,” is a rare one not accompanied by the artist’s comment. But it needs no gloss, except to say that all too often Leftists will discount news they hear from a right-wing source, even if it’s true (Righties like Trump of course do the same thing with the “left-wing media”). I’d prefer not to see that kind of behavior on this site, for, after all, conservatives can sometimes be right! Since all sites except those like the New York Times sometimes make mistakes, or distort stuff, I try to check every substantive news claim against other sources.

9 Comments

  1. Ken Kukec
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 8:58 am | Permalink

    … after all, conservatives can sometimes be right!

    See also:
    blind squirrels, nuts
    blind birds, worms
    blind pigs, truffles

    I kid my conservative friends, I kid!

  2. jwthomas
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    The #NYTimes makes mistakes too. There are no infallible sources.

    • darrelle
      Posted June 21, 2017 at 10:15 am | Permalink

      Somehow I don’t think Hili would agree with you. I’m pretty sure my cat doesn’t either.

      • Kevin
        Posted June 21, 2017 at 11:24 am | Permalink

        But being infallible and apathetic about what others think about you are not necessarily the same thing. 🙂

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 24, 2017 at 2:30 am | Permalink

      Yes, that comment surprised me. But compared to organs like the HuffPo, I guess the old mainstream media still give appreciably more attention to what used to be expected journalistic standards such as fact checking, correcting, etc.

  3. Kevin
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    Humans love to hear what they love to hear. Then we learn who tells us the most we agree with and they are our friends forever. Truth becomes theirs to share with us.

    Worth repeating:

    “Always train your doubt most strongly on those ideas that you really want to be true.”

    S. Carroll

  4. Mark R.
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 1:53 pm | Permalink

    We all indulge in confirmation bias. Though with propaganda “news” shows like F*X streaming through living rooms, I must say conservatives indulge much more.

    • Posted June 22, 2017 at 6:27 am | Permalink

      I don’t. I have never – to my certain knowledge – written a post in which I am guilty of confirmation bias.

      • Diane G.
        Posted June 24, 2017 at 2:32 am | Permalink

        😀

        If you say so yourself, right?


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] https://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/2017/06/21/jesus-n-mo-n-speech/ […]

