1,387 subscribers to go

We’re ticking down at a decent pace toward the 50,000 subscriber mark, and though some readers have had the hauteur to tell me that that’s a meaningless figure, it means something to me. 1387 subscribers to go, so we’re more than 97% of the way there. Then I can die a happy man, and no, I’m not going to off myself at the Landmark Number; it’s a metaphor!

Some other data:

Total number of posts: 15,744

Total number of comments: 804,856 (average 51.1 comments per post)

Number of unpublished “draft posts” (most will never see the light of day): 1,167. These include the infamous “What’s the matter with Wikipedia?” post begun years ago by Greg Mayer. (It’s an indictment of the inaccuracy of that site.) I fear that, like Casaubon’s “Key to all Mythologies” in Middlemarch, Greg’s intriguing post will never see the light of day. And yes, I’m Greg-shaming!

19 Comments

  1. John
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:20 am | Permalink

    Non-existent godspeed!

  2. Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    The site’s growth is well-deserved! I was surprised that the average number of comments per post was only 5. Seems quite low to me.

    • Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:24 am | Permalink

      It’s not 5 but 51.1.

      • Posted June 21, 2017 at 8:09 am | Permalink

        Sorry about that Professor. I deserve an F for reading too quickly! The comments overall are very insightful and a great supplement to your excellent posts.

  3. GBJames
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:21 am | Permalink

    Are we really all “amazing people”?

    • Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:25 am | Permalink

      Well, that’s WordPress’s characterization, not mine. But I have to say that I’m immensely pleased with the acumen and thoughtfulness of most of the readers.

    • Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:30 am | Permalink

      ah – I sense a doubter!
      True – some are not as amazing as others…
      OED Online –
      1530 J. Palsgrave Lesclarcissement 421/1 “You will amase hym with beatyng of hym thus aboute the heed. He was so amased with the stroke that he was redy to fall downe.”

    • Posted June 21, 2017 at 11:55 am | Permalink

      There is only one Amazing, and He is Randi.

      …and I’m not sure if he follows Jerry or not….

      Cheers,

      b&

  4. Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:23 am | Permalink

    Poor Greg!

    Wikipedia is useful, but never totally reliable. However, there are those working to improve it. I know the ‘wiki-median’ in Residence at the Wellcome Institute, @HistorianAlice & she is adding entries for women scientists who may have been forgotten or neglected. A chum of mine spends far too much time editing pages & I do add links & information in areas to do with our library coverage, eg history of science or deafness etc.

    But do use with caution.

  5. Jim Knight
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 7:45 am | Permalink

    Why shame Greg? Greg’s a good guy. He is a purist, I think, and if it isn’t exactly correct then he is offended.

    • Posted June 21, 2017 at 8:14 am | Permalink

      Oh for crying out loud; he’s a friend, I’ve teased him about this for years, and I let him know I publicly “shamed” him by email this morning. And I’ve mentioned that Wikipedia article before, and its failure ti appear, on this site.

      Can you cool it? I’m sure he’s not offended, but amused.

      As always, I ask you not to tell me what to do.

  6. Diana MacPherson
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    If you’re anything like me, you’ll be happy at the landmark achievement for a time then want to achieve something else and go through the agony of that.

  7. Larry Cook
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 10:20 am | Permalink

    15,774 posts represents an amazing amount of work. Since I found your site I’ve been impressed by how prolific you are. Prolific yet you take care to get your facts straight, keep things in context and remain fair toward the subjects of your posts. And your writing is remarkably good and enjoyable to read. It’s no wonder you have so many readers.

    • Diane G.
      Posted June 24, 2017 at 2:23 am | Permalink

      Indeed, the output is prodigious, and especially so given the consistent high quality (as you say).

  8. Igor
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 11:47 am | Permalink

    How can I subscribe?

    • JohnnieCanuck
      Posted June 21, 2017 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

      In the red bar to the left, click on ‘Sign me up!’ in the white box.

      That’s it. Your associated email is going to be added to the rest of the cognoscenti, without further ado.

  9. Mark R.
    Posted June 21, 2017 at 1:44 pm | Permalink

    50,000 sounds like an outstanding goal to me…don’t know why some think it doesn’t mean anything. Some people signing up multiple times? hmpf.


