Feeding the ducklings

It’s been a very rough day, and my one solace has been my two trips to the pond outside to feed my (and their mom’s) brood of four ducklings. They’re getting large and will probably fledge before too long; I’ll miss them. Today they got, besides their usual uncooked oatmeal, a treat of freeze-dried mealworms, which they scarfed up. At $10 for a small jar, though, mealworms are too pricey for regular duck noms.

Here are two videos showing the feeding:

Mealworms:

Look how big those babies are! They’re still peeping, and haven’t quacked yet.

Oatmeal:

12 Comments

  1. Stephen Barnard
    Posted June 19, 2017 at 2:45 pm | Permalink

    Nice. Some very large rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) hang out at the culvert that is the inlet to one of my ponds. I feed them nightcrawlers at $3/dozen. When I started they were very shy and would scatter when a worm hit the water. Now they hear me coming and hit the worm in a fraction of a second.

  2. Simon Hayward
    Posted June 19, 2017 at 2:47 pm | Permalink

    Those sound like overpriced mealworms (big city prices perhaps!) I used to buy them for my son’s gecko’s – when he was younger – and they were always cheap. The store sold them live and one of the assistants would periodically snack on them. I’ve eaten them cooked, but never live.

    • Stephen Barnard
      Posted June 19, 2017 at 2:50 pm | Permalink

      Look for a pet store that specializes in reptiles. I’m sure they sell lots of mealworms.

  3. claudia baker
    Posted June 19, 2017 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    Adorable duckies.
    I’m sorry you’ve had a rough day.

  4. Ken Kukec
    Posted June 19, 2017 at 2:54 pm | Permalink

    Ten bucks for a small jar of mealworms? Jeez, Jerry, what’s next? Gonna run down to Dean & DeLuca, pick ’em up a tin of beluga caviar?

  5. Patrick Foley
    Posted June 19, 2017 at 3:01 pm | Permalink

    If you are going to make a habit of this, consider raising the mealworms yourself. Shouldn’t be hard for a Drosophilist.

  6. Posted June 19, 2017 at 3:03 pm | Permalink

    I’m so sorry about your rough day. You’re a force for good in the world, and I really appreciate you and your posts. Hope things are better fast.

  7. Posted June 19, 2017 at 3:04 pm | Permalink

    Sorry your day went so poorly. I wish we could feed anything. It’s all against the law. Sigh.

  8. Posted June 19, 2017 at 6:17 pm | Permalink

    At my local park the signs ask people to only feed the ducks grapes (cut in half), peas, and limited quantities of worms. Although last time I visited there were only signs saying “Don’t feed the ducks”.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

