Meet Jerry Coyne the Fifth (and another adoption opportunity)

UPDATE:  Reader Su sent an email titled “When I first subscribed to WEIT. . ” that continued this way:

. . . . …I quickly discovered you were the most pro-cat site, pro-cat person in existence.

So it made perfect sense that folks would end up naming kittens after you.
But it also produced the Spartacus Effect— all cats now claim you as their leader, the one who understands All Things Cat.

You could do worse for a legacy!

________________________________

As I’ve said repeatedly, I will leave no offspring save cats named after me. So far there are at least four of them: in Colorado Springs, London, Bangalore, India and Christchurch, New Zealand. Now, thanks to reader and photographer Stephen Barnard, there is a fourth. Stephen’s email was titled “Jerry Coyne III”, but I think he forgot all the predecessors, so this one is actually Jerry the Fifth. Here’s the story:

A stray cat with several young kittens (at least three) has shown up on the ranch. Unfortunately, my tenant’s dog killed one kitten before we noticed them. It was pretty traumatic for her because she’s an animal lover with two cats of her own. I’ve trapped one kitten and am going to trap the others, and I hope also  the adult, and take them to the shelter. [JAC: I verified that this is a no-kill shelter.] It’s about three weeks old.

Isn’t he cute? If you’re near Idaho, perhaps you’d like to adopt him. Two free books if you do!

Stephan also enclosed a photo:

Mourning doves (Zenaida macroura). This is why I can’t have feral cats.

I’m very glad he’s live-trapping the cats rather than killing them; but he’s an animal lover.

And reader Elizabeth sent a photo of a new litter at Bristol’s famous cat pub, the Bag Of Nails:

Thought that you might be interested in this great news from Bristol UK. The photo was taken by my daughter on an evening out at her favourite pub.

Delightful.
Bristol readers: you know what you have to do: visit and adopt!

12 Comments

  1. Stephen Barnard
    Posted June 11, 2017 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    My tenant is adopting Jerry Coyne IV.

    • Randy schenck
      Posted June 11, 2017 at 8:43 am | Permalink

      Great show. There is nearly a litter of Jerry Coynes.

    • Posted June 11, 2017 at 9:31 am | Permalink

      YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good show. If she wants books, let me know.

    • Posted June 11, 2017 at 9:37 am | Permalink

      Now Jerry Coyne V (see Heather’s comment below), or Jerry the Fifth for short.

  2. Heather Hastie
    Posted June 11, 2017 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    The other Jerry is in India – you persuaded Mr Das to name a female kitten Jerry by showing him pics of Jerry Hall, so this the Idaho kitten is Jerry V.

    And Jerry V is adorable! I envy your tenant Stephen.

  3. Avis James
    Posted June 11, 2017 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    We also had a Jerry the Cat named after you. He was feral, but lived in our yard and ate our food! He was then moved out to the farmhouse where I took you horseback riding. BTW: we are going to look at kittens today. I will send pictures.

    • Posted June 11, 2017 at 9:59 am | Permalink

      OMG. Is it still alive? That would mean that this would be Jerry the Sixth!

  4. Mark R.
    Posted June 11, 2017 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

    A clowder of Jerry’s…Hip, hip hurray!!!

  5. Benjay
    Posted June 11, 2017 at 9:25 pm | Permalink

    I had to explain a Northern Chinese Leopard, stuffed, in a glass case at the airport to my 4 yr old daughter Saturday morning. I could not do her justice. Jerry could.

  6. zytigon
    Posted June 12, 2017 at 1:42 am | Permalink

    If I had a cat called Jerry I would expect it to be super talented and able to administer first aid and maybe pull a cord to alert emergency services like the Diabetes-sniffing cat Charlie mentioned in a BBC article 11th June.

    The article says:
    Charlie is a remarkable rescue cat – the feline equivalent of a sniffer dog.
    The 20-year-old moggy has been hailed a “lifeline” by owner Kirsty Furness, from Stevenage, after he proved he was able to “smell” the symptoms of her type 1 diabetes.
    He has taken to tapping her face and yowling until she wakes up, and the “heroic” cat is now in line for a national award.

    [ Sounds to me like Charlie is just responding to her being unresponsive but I guess if it doesn’t do it when she is just sleeping normally then Charlie must have some sense that Kirsty is unwell ]


