End-of-Hump-Day felid

Here’s a tw**t found by Grania. Did any reader do this crossword?

17 Comments

  1. Gregory Kusnick
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

    I’m guessing the answer to 19 Down is “Large cat (4.5)”.

  2. jay
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

    If I weren’t currently out of the country, I would run out and buy a copy of the N.Y. Times just to do this crossword.

    (I started to write “Unfortunately I’m out of the country,” but in fact I’m glad to be.)

  3. Posted June 7, 2017 at 4:31 pm | Permalink

    1 down is tiger, 21 down is lion, 19 down is liger,

    • Posted June 7, 2017 at 4:35 pm | Permalink

      3 down lynx, 6, 7, 12 down must include leopard, panther,cheetah, not necessarily in that order…

      Can I haz tuna?

      • Ralph
        Posted June 7, 2017 at 8:34 pm | Permalink

        Yup, you have them all except 13 down, begins with C, seven letters.

        • Posted June 7, 2017 at 9:27 pm | Permalink

          I didn’t notice that one. Siamese.

    • Graham Head
      Posted June 7, 2017 at 6:33 pm | Permalink

      Or Tigon.

  4. Julian C
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 4:32 pm | Permalink

    It’s the London Times, not the NYT. The answer will probably be in tomorrow’s issue — maybe somene can share it (I refuse to give Murdoch any of my money).

  5. barn owl
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 4:58 pm | Permalink

    16 down is mohair.

    What?! Lou Jost already solved the cat clues.

    • Posted June 7, 2017 at 6:27 pm | Permalink

      But somebody needs to see the actual puzzle to see if I am right…the real answers might be less obvious…

      • Pete T
        Posted June 8, 2017 at 2:24 am | Permalink

        Right answers, wrong order. 13D is the most interesting cat answer.

        • Barney
          Posted June 9, 2017 at 6:09 am | Permalink

          I have an extremely sneaky answer for 13 down. Is there a straightforward one too?

  6. Frank Bath
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 7:17 pm | Permalink

    I try this (coffee time) crossword every day but I wasn’t able to complete this one. To my shame I couldn’t get one of the cats.

  7. Ralph
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 8:20 pm | Permalink

    Here’s the complete crossword.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0zTRKnct3JXRVh0SlJwTDUwcXM/view?usp=sharing

  8. dd
    Posted June 7, 2017 at 10:04 pm | Permalink

    Dr. Coyne…this is of interest:

    http://quillette.com/2017/06/08/evergreen-state-battle-modernity/

    • Colin McLachlan
      Posted June 8, 2017 at 9:06 am | Permalink

      Thanks for the link. I found that a very interesting explanation of the modern/post-modern struggle.

  9. Neil Faulkner
    Posted June 8, 2017 at 9:30 am | Permalink

    It’s not unusual for crossword compilers to have a running theme in a puzzle. I remember a Grauniad one where every down clue, bar the first, referenced 1 Down. Eg, “Joker to follow 1d (7)”.

    1 Down was “Time when king’s in command (4)”, which I simply couldn’t figure out, and consequently got left stumped on all the other down clues. Turned out to be “bird”, and all the other down clues were birds. “Joker to follow 1d” was “wagtail”.


