Chicago! (and ducks)

Here are photos of the city skyline from my crib, the first taken last evening and the second at about 5 a.m. today:

Yesterday, when I made one of my three daily trips outside to feed the ducklings, I counted five instead of four! It turned out that another mother had just taken her new babies to the water—a brood of five. Now I have nine ducklings to feed, and believe me, what with competition between the mothers (they beat each other up) and from the hungry drake, it’s a nightmare! I will be bereft if any duckling doesn’t fledge.

The older brood:

The younger brood this morning (you can see the oatmeal I’ve been feeding them, which they greatly like):

4 Comments

  1. Randy schenck
    Posted May 31, 2017 at 7:08 am | Permalink

    Urban Duck feed. We have the same thing going on here with ducks and geese. Maybe it is the only sanity we get.

  2. Posted May 31, 2017 at 7:26 am | Permalink

    For those interested, what to feed ducks & what not to feed ducks – i.e. bread
    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/mar/16/dont-feed-the-ducks-bread-say-conservationists

  3. Posted May 31, 2017 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    Nice landscape photos. Cute ducks. Oatmeal seems perfect for ducks.

  4. Posted May 31, 2017 at 8:46 am | Permalink

    Aaaaww, you’re so kind.


