My lunch in Washington

Since tomorrow I’m doing my bit for CfI and the Dawkins Foundation without remuneration (and I don’t want any!), I figured I might as well eat well when I’m in Washington. And so I hied to Georgia Brown’s restaurant, just a short hop from my hotel. It’s slightly upscale Southern food, and they have a good prix fixe lunch menu, which is what I had. There were three courses:

First, though, bread: a cornbread stick and homemade biscuit with sweet butter, washed down with a Sam Adams lager:

Hush puppies (deep-fried cornmeal fritters) filled with shrimp and crab chunks, served over coleslaw with a sauce:

Steak frites with cole slaw (again); the fries were homemade, with skins on, and the steak, which rested on a baguette that sopped up the juices, was topped with a garlic and chive sauce. I of course had it cooked rare:

Dessert: Strawberry shortcake, which appeared to be served with a sliced donut-like cake, amply slathered with fresh whipped cream:

Oy, am I full!

21 Comments

  1. Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    That looks delicious and I have just got back from the gym… Very hungry and too tempting!

  2. dabertini
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

    Fantastic meal!! PCC(E) must be fed.

  3. Randy schenck
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:23 pm | Permalink

    Very nice. And you could just walk on over to the White House for a little tour. I think the owner is out.

    • Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:39 pm | Permalink

      He doesn’t own it. He’s merely the Resident.

      And the way he’s treating the place, it’s even odds that he’ll get evicted before the first lease is up for renewal.

      Cheers,

      b&

      • Randy schenck
        Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:54 pm | Permalink

        Ah yes, to just be a renter must really make his hair orange. Can’t wait to see the for rent sign in the front yard.

      • Kevin
        Posted May 23, 2017 at 3:16 pm | Permalink

        He’s probably spent less time in the White House than any President. Not enough gold on the walls. And he probably needs gold plated toilets too, so the White House makes him generally constipated.

        • Posted May 24, 2017 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

          When has he ever _not_ been full of shit?

          b&

          >

  4. Taskin
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:25 pm | Permalink

    Yum!

  5. Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:27 pm | Permalink

    What, no ketchup on your meal?

  6. DrBrydon
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:32 pm | Permalink

    I haven’t seen an honest-to-god schooner of beer in almost thirty years, since I lived in Alexandria, VA (coincidentally), and used to go the Alexandria Fish Market

  7. Kevin
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 3:17 pm | Permalink

    That looks so good.

  8. Nicholas K.
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

    Washington D.C. is a great food city.

  9. Posted May 24, 2017 at 12:21 am | Permalink

    Hushpuppies! Haven’t seen them for decades. Drool!

  10. Posted May 24, 2017 at 6:35 am | Permalink

    “Oy, am I full!” No kidding! What a meal! 🙂

  11. Bob Barber
    Posted May 24, 2017 at 6:38 am | Permalink

    Professor, how do you stay so thin? If I ate lunches like that, not to mention the meals you ate on your New Zealand trip, I’d weigh 300 pounds!

    • Posted May 24, 2017 at 7:22 am | Permalink

      PCC(E) has mentioned many times that the meals he shows on his website are very different from the way he typically eats.

      It’s what you do every day …

  12. Posted May 24, 2017 at 12:23 pm | Permalink

    Ah! Coleslaw! One of my favourite American foods. (Well, when I don’t upset my GI tract with it, anyway.)


