My podcast with Radio Live

When I was in New Zealand I was unable to do a podcast with reader Graeme Hill for the podcast Radio Live, but I did it from my home in Chicago a few days ago. I was on my landline, so the sound quality on my end isn’t optimal. The interview is about 40 minutes long; click on the screenshot below (taken in February 2016) to go to the podcast. I like the photo as it brings back pleasant memories of Darwin Day last year, when I spoke to the British Humanists. My hair is a bit unkempt, but at least I have a tie.  Behind me you can see the well known anatomist and science presenter Alice Roberts, who was the moderator that night.

22 Comments

  1. Joseph Stans
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    To cut the proper swath, your ties needs to be at least two feet longer;.

    • Posted May 22, 2017 at 8:38 am | Permalink

      Nope; should be at the top of your belt buckle, which is where it is.

      • Randy schenck
        Posted May 22, 2017 at 8:45 am | Permalink

        Exactly, however I try to avoid the thing if possible.

      • Rita
        Posted May 22, 2017 at 10:48 am | Permalink

        Anyway, that belt buckle is too cool to cover up!

    • Ken Elliott
      Posted May 22, 2017 at 11:23 am | Permalink

      I can’t speak for Joseph as I’m not a mind reader, but I took his comment as sarcasm against President Trump, who wears his ties egregiously long, not sartorially correct as Jerry has demonstrated in this photo.

  2. Michael Fisher
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 8:46 am | Permalink

    Tomorrow, the British Humanist Association [BHA] will change its operating name to Humanists UK. I have no idea why – perhaps it’s part of a worldwide rebranding to come?

  3. Michael Fisher
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 9:04 am | Permalink

    For those who can’t see it the play button at radiolive is immediately below the PCC[e] pic, left side. In Firefox I could not see the play button until I clicked the “Disable protection for this site” button in Firefox.

  4. Alan
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    I don’t see where to click to start the podcast, only where one can listen to the show live.

    • Michael Fisher
      Posted May 22, 2017 at 9:21 am | Permalink

      @Alan. See my comment above yours!

      • Alan
        Posted May 22, 2017 at 9:43 am | Permalink

        I was using chrome. Switching to explorer solved it. Thanks.

  5. dougeast
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    Here’s the link I used:

    http://www.radiolive.co.nz/home/audio/2017/051/evolutionary-biologist-jerry-coyne.html

  6. Michael Fisher
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    Randall Munroe must have listened to the podcast: https://xkcd.com/1840/

  7. Teresa Carson
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 10:14 am | Permalink

    Your hair is lovely and not at all umkempt. I remember when your hair was always a little wild — but still lovely 🙂

  8. Les Faby
    Posted May 22, 2017 at 12:41 pm | Permalink

    Professor, you say gender not matching sex is not biology.
    (at about 4 minutes to the end)
    In "Why sex is binary and gender is a spectrum"he gives reasons why gender can have a biological basis. The “Y” chromosome has a master switch on it that usually turns on a set of genes on other chromosomes but sometimes some genes are missed. This happens in 1 out of ~300 people.

    This looks plausible to me.

    • Les Faby
      Posted May 22, 2017 at 12:42 pm | Permalink

      He is SIDDHARTHA MUKHERJEE.

  9. Posted May 22, 2017 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    To ban linty hair, and to define it just a little, while keeping a “natural” look, use half a hazelnut portion of hair wax or a hair creme for that purpose. 😉

    PS: Safari also doesn’t display a podcast button.

  10. Ken
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:22 am | Permalink

    Thanks for edumacating NZ, Jerry. We’re not nearly as bad as the US, but do need to be reminded of the facts from time to time. Fortunately, you had a pretty good interviewer too, so could concentrate on some interesting topics rather than counter any crap.

  11. Posted May 23, 2017 at 7:22 am | Permalink

    It is a very nice pix.

  12. Genghis
    Posted May 23, 2017 at 2:11 pm | Permalink

    Alice is awesome.

  13. Posted May 24, 2017 at 11:56 am | Permalink

    A noose!

  14. Zetopan
    Posted May 25, 2017 at 4:44 am | Permalink

    Jerry:

    At least two times in the broadcast you stated that 3.5 billion years was the same as 3.5 million million years. That is off by a factor of 1,000. A billion is a thousand million, not a million million.

    3,500 = 3.5E3 or 3.5 thousand

    3,500,000 = 3.5E6 or 3.5 million or 3.5 thousand thousand

    3,500,000,000 = 3.5E9 or 3.5 billion or 3.5 thousand million or 3.5 million thousand

    3,500,000,000,000 = 3.5E12 or 3.5 thousand billion or 3.5 million million or 3.5 billion thousand

    The latter example above is *far* above the age of the visible universe (13.8E9), so it seems to be a rather unlikely age for how long life has been know to exist on Earth.

    Also, I am pretty sure that the date of the first life on Earth has been pushed back closer to 4.2 to 4.3 billion years before the present (which were not rabbits).

    • Posted May 25, 2017 at 9:57 am | Permalink

      Yes, you’re right of course; my mistake.
      But as far as the origin of life on earth, the earliest reasonable estimate is about 3.8 bya, and the best documented estimate is 3.5 bya. Of course it must have happened earlier, but I doubt there’s a good date of 4.3-4.2 bya that anybody accepts.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

