Readers’ wildlife photos

Reader Karen Bartelt sent some photos from Pinnacles National Park in California. The IDs and captions are hers, and indented.

A few photos from Pinnacles NP and the surrounding area taken in March 2017.
Western bluebird (Sialia mexicana), male:
California thrasher (Toxostoma redivivum):
California towhee (Pipilo crissalis):
California condor (Gymnogyps californianus).  Most condors have wing tags.  We saw #14, #85; about 7 individuals total:
The prettiest animals, imho, were these bramble green hairstreaks (Callophrys dumetorum):

10 Comments

  1. Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:55 am | Permalink

    Lovely photos. Makes me think of what California smells like on a nice day.

  2. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 10:42 am | Permalink

    Beautiful pictures! Thank you. I would really like to see everything you show here. I have seen a condor, for just one breathtaking moment.

    • rickflick
      Posted May 18, 2017 at 7:22 pm | Permalink

      I sometimes mark my life with those breathtaking moments. The fleeting glimpses that take your breath and leave you hoping for more.

  3. cruzrad
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    Nice condor shots! Thanks.

    • Karen Bartelt
      Posted May 18, 2017 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

      There was a cost to getting these photos. Coming back down, I slipped off the trail and landed on my left shoulder with my head downslope. There were also thorns. My husband managed to get me upright again, but I was really nauseous for about a day. The shoulder never got better, so I had an x-ray later. The PA said, “Well, you know that your shoulder is basically shot anyway?” So now I have to decide when a shoulder replacement will fit in.

  4. Jonathan Wallace
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 12:08 pm | Permalink

    The name Callophrys is Greek for “beautiful eye-brows”. It seems apt.

  5. darrelle
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 1:32 pm | Permalink

    Lovely pics. The Western Bluebird is a real beauty. I don’t think I’ve seen one before.

    That 2nd Condor picture is very nice.

    The face on the Bramble Green Hairstreak (what a name, the binomial too) is very striking. It looks like an alien from a movie or perhaps cover-art that I’ve seen, but I can’t quite place it.

  6. Christopher Bonds
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 3:29 pm | Permalink

    Saw California condors at the Grand Canyon. Amazing birds!

  7. Posted May 18, 2017 at 4:09 pm | Permalink

    Nice, bramble green hairstreaks (Callophrys dumetorum)are a treat. Thanks.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

