My new shoes

Having stupidly left my fleece on a bus in New Zealand, I needed to replace it, and found a brand-new Timberland fleece, in my size, on a consignment site called “Poshmark“. It was less than half the retail price, so I ordered it. I didn’t notice until later that Poshmark has received many complaints about people getting the wrong stuff, or not getting anything at all.

But I did get my package two days ago. In it was this:

That’s not a fleece!

Well, they’re pretty spiffy shoes, size 7.5B, but they don’t fit me. After complaining, I was told that there had been a mixup, and was assured that my fleece would go out immediately. They also sent me a mailing label to return the shoes. If you’re a woman, would you wear these?

37 Comments

  1. BobTerrace
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:05 am | Permalink

    If you’re a woman, would you wear these?

    ummm…Isn’t the question valid for those who are not a woman? πŸ˜‰

    • Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:10 am | Permalink

      Either way, or if an inbetweenie, that is non-specific gender, they cannot be good for feet or back!

    • Gregory Kusnick
      Posted May 18, 2017 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

      By Boolean implication, the answer is Yes if you’re not a woman.

  2. Stephen Caldwell
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:08 am | Permalink

    I have a niece up at UChicago. I’d say throw ’em to her but I think the heels are too short πŸ™‚

    • Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:12 am | Permalink

      She does not study biology? Anyway, she could take on squirrel feeding when PCC[E] is away!

  3. Dee
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:08 am | Permalink

    Would I wear these? Oh hell no.

  4. Filippo
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:09 am | Permalink

    From what I see in the NY Times “Style” section, someone would wear them.

  5. Charles Sawicki
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:15 am | Permalink

    Fine for an elf that likes high heels!

  6. Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:15 am | Permalink

    Fashion photo shoot, please, Jerry πŸ˜‚

    • Ken Phelps
      Posted May 18, 2017 at 10:36 am | Permalink

      Shave your legs first.

      • dabertini
        Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:09 am | Permalink

        NO! NO! Au natural!

  7. Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:16 am | Permalink

    Hmm. If asked to name the hide, I’d have to say Eastern mole (Scalopus aquaticus), probably, thew the Hairy-tailed mold (Parascalops breweri) would be a candidate.

  8. Randy schenck
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:17 am | Permalink

    How could anyone walk in that?

    • Linda Calhoun
      Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:55 am | Permalink

      They can’t.

      That’s half the point.

      L

  9. Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:17 am | Permalink

    I can’t imagine anyone wearing them but, like Miss Ironfist, if you want to give us a ‘gander’. . . πŸ™‚

  10. W.Benson
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    Fleeced?

    • Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:32 am | Permalink

      Where’s the ‘I just laughed’ button? πŸ˜‰

  11. Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:38 am | Permalink

    No. And neither would my wife. She’s given up on heels — too hard on the joints.

    However, I saw some of my son’s female classmates (US middle school, 6th-8th graders) wearing similarly heeled shoes. Working on foot damage at age 13-14.

    • Gemma Jillian
      Posted May 18, 2017 at 10:27 am | Permalink

      And very christian-like these killers are.
      Did you know?

      Ask any confirmand what she was “required” by Luther’s Small Catechism-preacher-teacher (then ordered of & by her mother & father, too) to wear upon her “special day” of that Blessed Confirmation. Age 13.

      By 40? Bunions

      (Bunions are NOT extraneous growths. Bunions are forced deformities=same as is that which is brought on by foot-binding.)

      By 60? Bilateral bunionectomies

      OR ELSE she cannot wear any shoes.

      Killers I say. Hell effing-no! Not ever.

      • somer
        Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:20 am | Permalink

        Parents /churches who inculcate it into their kids are downright abusive
        Have to say though I agree with the commenter who said the boots should suit an elf.

  12. Alfonso D
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 8:51 am | Permalink

    You should keep them and wear them to your next evolution lecture. For sure it will be the most watched lecture ever on the subject on YouTube. And it will help bring a lot of attention to the advancement of science. But please don’t fall.

  13. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 9:26 am | Permalink

    This is undoubtedly divine retribution for this website’s frequent preoccupation with footwear.

    πŸ™‚

    cr

  14. Kevin
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    Ceiling Cat, I would like to see that person who could make those shoes work.

  15. Taskin
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    Just my size…..I’d rather have the fleece.

  16. David Coxill
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 10:11 am | Permalink

    Suits you sir .

  17. Joanne Dallas
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:18 am | Permalink

    Can these be considered an oxymoron! No way can comfort and warmth for feet be coupled with spiky heels and make any sense.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  18. Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    At least you get free tissue paper with them.

  19. Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    At least you get free tissue paper with them.

  20. Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:47 am | Permalink

    No, I like my lower back the way it is.

  21. toni j.
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    Yep! Absolutely.

  22. Posted May 18, 2017 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

    Warning:
    Do not drink and wear.
    The wearer should expect ridicule in public.
    Try our matching walking stick if upright gait problems persist.
    Do not wear to bed although this is considered safe it is NOT for the bed.

  23. largeswope
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 7:04 pm | Permalink

    No.

  24. jeffery
    Posted May 18, 2017 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    YOU ONLY HAD ONE JOB….I used to wonder how anything got done right in this world, then I realized that nothing DOES get done right!

  25. Pierluigi Ballabeni
    Posted May 19, 2017 at 2:01 am | Permalink

    I do not understand why many females of a plantigrade mammal species use devices that make them appear digitigrade.

  26. Sabine Stevens
    Posted May 20, 2017 at 2:41 am | Permalink

    Yes. Yesyesyes. Oh absolutely yes πŸ˜‰


