Readers’ wildlife photos

Ants are more than a picnic pest, but have their own beauty. Reader Tony Eales shows us some lovely pismires from Australia. His notes are indented:

Ants. I don’t personally know a lot about ants but I do find them fascinating, if challenging, photographic subjects. Because of my arthritis all these species are typically found running up and down the trunks of trees (except for the Rhytidoponera). The one nearly every child in my area knows about are the Rhytidoponera metallica as they are very common in grassy parks where children play and sit and they deliver a memorable sting. My favourites are the golden and silver Polyrhachis which are large, fairly common and not very aggressive. The group is in dire need of a re-classification and the experts will usually just say Polyrhachis sp. Rather than commit to a species name.

Myrmecia nigrocincta:

[JAC: read the link to see why this is called the “jumper ant”.]

Podomyrma gratiosa:

Polyrhachis (Hagiomyrma) sp1:

Polyrhachis (Hagiomyrma) sp2:

Polyrhachis (Hagiomyrma) sp3:

Rhytidoponera metallica [green-head ant]:

Rhytidonoponera sp.:

Tetraponera sp. [“slender ants”]:

9 Comments

  1. busterggi
    Posted May 12, 2017 at 7:48 am | Permalink

    here are a couple of photos of my resident racoon, she has been coming by since her momma brought her & her siblings by to scrounge on leftover cat food so she’s known me almost her whole life. NOT tame, I’ve never petted her or even named her, she just knows I’ll feed her at times, especially now as she’s eating for a family. her dad is a semi-regular, him I’ve named Grizzly as he’s almost a small bear, the king racoon of the area. he’s in the 3rd photo.

    Bob

    Robert Jase busterggi@aol.com

  2. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted May 12, 2017 at 8:10 am | Permalink

    Beautiful!

    One personally interesting ant discovery was citronella ants – they smell like citronella!

    Don’t ask how I know this!… or you know, you can ask…

  3. Posted May 12, 2017 at 8:34 am | Permalink

    Wow! I know how hard it is to get good pictures of ants since they never. stop. moving.
    That first paragraph to the link on jumper ants shows that they are among the more impressive of the ants.

  4. darrelle
    Posted May 12, 2017 at 11:10 am | Permalink

    I’ve got my eye on a macro lens so I can try my hand at pictures like this. Fascinating what tiny creatures like these ants look like up close. They are beautiful.

  5. Posted May 12, 2017 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

    Does classifying them all as ants make evolutionary sense? Are they a clade?

    • Tony Eales
      Posted May 14, 2017 at 9:00 pm | Permalink

      I believe that they are a clade that evolved within wasps. It might be that “wasp” is problematic but not ants

  6. Mark R.
    Posted May 12, 2017 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

    Tiny insect jewels. Though I’m currently battling an ant infestation on the back porch…man they are hard to thwart.

  7. Posted May 12, 2017 at 5:01 pm | Permalink

    Nice shooting and very interesting, thanks.

  8. Posted May 15, 2017 at 7:12 am | Permalink

    I’ll admit it; as lovely as they are, I still want to squish them. I’ve been bitten (stung?) by too many ants to ever like them.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] via Readers’ wildlife photos — Why Evolution Is True […]

