Jesus ‘n’ Mo ‘n’ blasphemy

It looks like today will be Blasphemy Day on this site, as we have four posts about it, including this one showing the latest Jesus and Mo strip titled ‘upset’. The email came with the creator’s note:

What a week for blasphemy laws it’s been! Stephen Fry investigated for breaking the Irish one, Indonesian governor imprisoned under an Islamic one, and New Zealand finding one of their own down the back of the sofa.

More on Fry and New Zealand shortly. Here’s the strip, which needs no comment:

68 Comments

  1. Alfonso D
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    Guinness! a heavenly beer.

  2. John Hamill
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    Blasphemy … a truly victimless crime.

  3. Joseph McClain
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    All this news about blasphemy isn’t what I understood blasphemy to be when I was growing up and they were trying to teach me not to take the name of the Lord in vain. I watched the Stephen Fry video and my initial reaction was that I had heard more blasphemy at a KOC bingo game.

    • Diane G.
      Posted May 11, 2017 at 2:25 am | Permalink

      😀

    • darrelle
      Posted May 11, 2017 at 7:50 am | Permalink

      I don’t know. I think considering blasphemy a punishable crime or even bad manners is ridiculous. But, what Stephen Fry says in that video is definitely blasphemy. It was great!

  4. Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    J’ai fait un commentaire.

    • Fred M
      Posted May 11, 2017 at 7:28 am | Permalink

      Ceci n’est pas un commentaire.

  5. Paul Schoeckel
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    I was just thinking that I’ve never seen a post without comments and next thing I know PCC(e) writes a post about the lack of comments.
    sensus divinitatis Felidae

  6. Recorridos Virtuales
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:38 pm | Permalink

    Leaving a comment could be considered blasphemy. Cheers!

  7. John
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:38 pm | Permalink

    It does seem we are regressing in the realm of free speech. My hope is that this is but a temporary reaction caused by the opening up of more closed societies, and the long term result will be more overall freedom.

    • Heather Hastie
      Posted May 10, 2017 at 6:55 pm | Permalink

      Especially when a reporter gets arrested in Virginia today for asking Tom Price questions in a public space, when he’s been screened for attendance, and is clearly wearing his press pass.

      • Ken Elliott
        Posted May 10, 2017 at 9:11 pm | Permalink

        Arrested? Seriously? I’ll have to find that story?

        • Joseph McClain
          Posted May 11, 2017 at 8:15 am | Permalink

          Seriously, but not in Virginia. It was in West Virginia.

          • Ken Elliott
            Posted May 11, 2017 at 8:16 am | Permalink

            Thank you, Joseph.

  8. Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    I have yet to receive a single like or comment on Facebook for this cartoon. I do have many “faithful” followers, so that may explain it. What’s your excuse?

  9. Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:42 pm | Permalink

    OK, I’m game. Maybe no one commented because to so would be blasphemy. Everyone knows blasphemy laws don’t exist, well at the reason for them don’t exist but then, as agnostics are fond of saying, “You never REALLY know”!!!

  10. Sshort
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:43 pm | Permalink

    I am chastened, and possibly sinning, because I do hold Jesus n’ Mo in reverance.

    In pentitence I will blaspheme ten more times today.

    In all honesty, it’s not much of a stretch.

  11. Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:45 pm | Permalink

    /@

  12. Peter N
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:47 pm | Permalink

    Is the truth of a proposition inversely proportional to the vigor with which it has to be defended?

  13. Randy schenck
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:51 pm | Permalink

    What got me was what you said at the end of the post…Here’s the strip which needs no comment. So I agreed and left none. Anyway, it was a nice catch 22.

  14. Reginald Selkirk
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:51 pm | Permalink

    Here’s the strip, which needs no comment

    I guess you changed your mind about that.

  15. Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:52 pm | Permalink

    A rabbi, Saint Anselm, and St. Thomas went into a burger joint.
    The two saints said, “Imagine a being than which none greater can be thought.”
    “That’s tautilogical,” the rabbi said.
    “Oh,” Ansrlm replied.
    “Never mind,” Thomas said.
    “Make me one with everything,” the rabbi told the waiter.
    And they all vanished into a black hole.

  16. BobTerrace
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:52 pm | Permalink

    Superscribe

  17. Diki
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    In response to your agonised plea to comment I have copied and pasted the following joke – do I get a signed t shirt or something???????? There was this atheist and he was in the woods. And suddenly he heard some leaves cracking. He looked behind and there was a huge bear behind him. He started running and running and soon the bear was right on top of him and his paw was on top of him like he was going to swat him but suddenly he saw this big light appear and said; “For all these years you have despised me and now you call for my help.” The atheist said, “I’m sorry God. If you can’t help me, can’t you at least turn the bear into a Christian? Then the light disappeared. Then the bear knelt down and said, “Bless me Lord for this meal I’m about to receive!”

    • Peter
      Posted May 10, 2017 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

      Good one ! Thank you.

  18. Posted May 10, 2017 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    I wonder if you occasionally called the comic strip Jesús ‘n’ Mo if anyone would notice.

  19. Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    I always wanted “Jesus Christ” laser-inscribed on a phlebotomy needle so I could truly take the lord’s name in vein.

    Cheers,

    b&

  20. sensorrhea
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    Ezekiel 23:20

  21. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:16 pm | Permalink

    Jesus and Mo – never disappoints.

    • ThyroidPlanet
      Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

      FYI I get JaM by email.

      • Heather Hastie
        Posted May 10, 2017 at 6:58 pm | Permalink

        I get it by e-mail too. I din’t comment on this one because it made me remember a better one the Author has done on blasphemy, and I thought it would be rude to say so.

  22. Gary
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    If I commit blasphemy, can I blame Satan instead of my free will?

    • Frank Bath
      Posted May 10, 2017 at 7:43 pm | Permalink

      Possessed you will be, and in need of stoning. (See videos above.)

  23. Curt Nelson
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

    I actually liked this J&M very much and should have said so.

    Barmaid gets set strait again.

  24. GBJames
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

    I’m traveling and not able to post comments… meeting rooms all day long. It is lunch now.

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted May 10, 2017 at 7:28 pm | Permalink

      This would be why you didn’t post the comment above, I presume? 😉

      cr

  25. E.A. Blair
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:31 pm | Permalink

    I’ll post here what I posted on the J&M site:

    “Any deity that can’t do its own smiting doesn’t deserve to be worshipped, believed in or defended.”

    • Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

      It’s actually even better than that.

      You know why Jesus hasn’t smited anybody recently?

      Because I smoted him!

      Want proof?

      Nobody’s been smitten by him, still, including me….

      Cheers,

      b&

      >

  26. Posted May 10, 2017 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    I Tweeted this out to the world.

  27. Posted May 10, 2017 at 5:05 pm | Permalink

    I recently sign up to support Jesus & Mo on Patreon, thanks to your urgings. :->

  28. Claudia Baker
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    Jesus fucking christ, I love J&M.

    I also love blasphemy.

    And I love the bar maid.

  29. Lambert
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 5:34 pm | Permalink

    Circles within circles. Arguments going nowhere. Silly theists.

  30. Peter
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 5:53 pm | Permalink

    Vive le blasphème !

  31. Wayne Y. Hoskisson
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 6:53 pm | Permalink

    Thank god for blasphemy! It’s refreshing.

  32. Posted May 10, 2017 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

    /@

  33. Randall Schenck
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 7:29 pm | Permalink

    How can you get into trouble for doubting the nonexistent? Only in religion.

    Exceptional claims requires exceptional evidence…

  34. Sastra
    Posted May 10, 2017 at 8:03 pm | Permalink

    Blasphemy hurts the believers, whose faith makes them especially vulnerable to verbal violence. It’s the imposing “Don’t hit me I’m wearing glasses” defense.

    There’s also more than a whiff of honor culture scenting the atmosphere.

    • Diane G.
      Posted May 11, 2017 at 2:35 am | Permalink

      “There’s also more than a whiff of honor culture scenting the atmosphere.”

      Ah, now that you mention it…! Surprised I haven’t noted this parallel before.

  35. Posted May 10, 2017 at 10:01 pm | Permalink

    I think I’ve lost my sense of humor related to
    some kinds of cartoons I used to enjoy. Many of the cartoons and jokes shared I here, I enjoy enormously, but I seldom look at Jesus & Mo.
    Mea culpa.

  36. Posted May 10, 2017 at 10:01 pm | Permalink

    Did not comment because I was upset the barmaid walked into it. Nah.. love jesus and mohammad.

  37. Posted May 11, 2017 at 4:18 am | Permalink

    The barmaid is right as usual!!!

  38. Posted May 11, 2017 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    —I dislike circular reasoning, but this explanation is a really round circle!—
    The above was my reaction below the Jesus & Mo strip itself, yesterday.
    .-

  39. James John Shumaker
    Posted May 11, 2017 at 11:47 am | Permalink

    Believers are so fragile in mind, that their beliefs are not able to stand up to reasoned scrutiny. The believers are so desperate that they have created these so-called blasphemy laws which are another for of coercion and power of another thinking rational being. As soon as I makes a statement or thought that threatens their insular world I finds themselves charges with blasphemy. IMO, it is my sincere hope that these laws are the death throws of religion trying to stay alive in a world that has advanced far beyond the need for fairy tale, superstition, and myth.

  40. Nell Whiteside
    Posted May 12, 2017 at 7:13 am | Permalink

    Isn’t blasphemy itself blasphemous?

    It implies that the god in question is a wimp.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

