Another cat named Jerry Coyne

I’ve lost track of exactly how many cats have been named after me, but most of them were so named at my instigation, usually accompanied by begging and pleading on my part. I see these cats as my legacy, for I’ve passed on none of my genes, and—aside from my (so far) non-reproducing nephew—I’ve reached a genetic dead end.

So far I have these “legacy cats”:

  1. Jerry Coyne the Cat in Christchurch, New Zealand, named by Gayle Ferguson
  2. Jerry the Cat in London, named by Laurie Sidoni
  3. Jerry, one of about 35 cats owned by Birenda Das in Bangalore, India
  4.   At least one more that I’ve forgotten (perhaps a reader might)
Now there’s a fifth: Dan Bertini of Richmond Hill, Ontario sent a photo and this message:
This is a stray that keeps showing up at my door.  He must sense that I am always on  WEIT.com., so I’ve named him after PCC(e).
It’s a lovely tabby, and the big head suggests an unneutered male:
I responded that a cat named after me should be adopted if it’s a stray, or at the very least looked after carefully and fed copiously!
Feel free to name any cats you come across after me, but remember with great privilege comes great responsibility.

6 Comments

  1. Randy schenck
    Posted April 18, 2017 at 9:12 am | Permalink

    I would also note, nothing wrong with a genetic dead end in a species already way over populated. Would not hurt if the new Jerry were to be captured temporarily for some help in this regard.

  2. Đani Stojanov
    Posted April 18, 2017 at 9:38 am | Permalink

    If I ever own a cat… (not likely).
    But I prefer them over dogs I think.

  3. Posted April 18, 2017 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    Our Jerry actually answers to that name now!

    • dabertini
      Posted April 18, 2017 at 12:27 pm | Permalink

      Show-off!

  4. dabertini
    Posted April 18, 2017 at 12:27 pm | Permalink

    Big Head! Really? Compared to Paul Dirac’s I suppose.

  5. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted April 18, 2017 at 12:32 pm | Permalink

    Is bonny moggy for sure. Very good condition for a stray – so probably has a distributed collection of staff to supply meals and accommodations. A god, after all, cannot have too many hoomin slaves.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

