I have landed!

I’m cooling my heels in the San Francisco airport, where the scrum at Customs (see? I’ve been to New Zealand) was horrific, and at 6:30 a.m.!  I am knackered from no sleep, and won’t get any till tonight. I did get to watch about five movies on the 12-hour flight, the best of which was “Hud”. (I had high hopes for “Loving,” about the first court case to abolish laws against interracial marriage, but I found it overly long and dull.)

Normal posting will resume within a few days. Thanks to Grania for keeping Hili and the Caturday felids going, to the readers for their patience, and to all my hosts in New Zealand for their hospitality. My trip would have been immeasurably poorer without their kindness.

Stay tuned for at least three more picture posts on my adventures.

20 Comments

  1. bluemaas
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    Thank you, Ms Grania. Thank you.
    Welcome to Yesterday, Dr Coyne.

    And Mr Paul Newman ? O my, my … … my, my, my.
    My second – ever LIFE – long L O V E.

    Blue

  2. rickflick
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:10 am | Permalink

    Welcome back state’s side. Take a good dose of antihistamine and you’ll sleep on the plane like the proverbial baby. Tell the attendants to wake you up for deplaning. 😎

    • Mike
      Posted April 18, 2017 at 6:39 am | Permalink

      If your flying United, you’ll have no trouble de-planing.

  3. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:18 am | Permalink

    Thank you, Grania for holding the fort. You did a fantastic job!

  4. Randy schenck
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:23 am | Permalink

    Not one of Paul Newman’s best, Hud but sounds about right as best among many on an airplane. Patricia Neal and Melvin Douglas among the cast and black and white. Customs, my favorite thing not to do.

    • Posted April 17, 2017 at 11:17 am | Permalink

      I’d never seen Patricia Neal before in a movie, and she was great. She reminded me of Eileen Brennan as Genevieve, the temptress/cook in Sam the Lion’s cafe in “The Last Picture Show.”

      But somehow Newman always manages to steal the show. Maybe it’s because he was so damn handsome!

      • Randy schenck
        Posted April 17, 2017 at 12:12 pm | Permalink

        But then, both Neal and Douglas won awards.

      • David Coxill
        Posted April 18, 2017 at 12:46 pm | Permalink

        One of my fav films ,she was married to Roald Dahl

  5. Mark Cagnetta
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:35 am | Permalink

    Welcome back Jerry.

  6. rose
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:54 am | Permalink

    Welcome to my neck of the woods. Have a great time.The Bay Area has alot to see.

  7. Teresa Carson
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    Welcome back! I’m so pleased that your trip was delightful! I have to take issue you with you about the movie “Loving.” I was riveted – and I cried a lot. Mildred Jeter who became Mrs. Loving, was a cousin of my ex, so I sort of have a personal stake in the story, but I thought the actors were excellent.

    • Posted April 17, 2017 at 11:18 am | Permalink

      I thought there was too much about the romance (granted, that was very good) but not enough about the court case. Maybe I’m too fixated on the Constitution!

  8. Reginald Selkirk
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 11:51 am | Permalink

    (I had high hopes for “Loving,” about the first court case to abolish laws against interracial marriage, but I found it overly long and dull.)

    This is the problem of a bad or mediocre movie about a person or cause that is good. One is frequently hesitant to criticize such a movie for fear that one will be misperceived to be criticizing the cause, not the movie alone. A prominent example for me is Ghandi.

  9. Heather Hastie
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 2:27 pm | Permalink

    Yep – great job Grania keeping us going as always! Thank you for keeping us entertained. (I’m making you sound like a babysitter, which perhaps isn’t far wrong! 😀 )

    • Claudia Baker
      Posted April 17, 2017 at 2:49 pm | Permalink

      +1

      Great job Grania. Thanks so much!

  10. Ken
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

    We all enjoyed meeting you in Wellington, Jerry. Thanks again for being so gracious with your time.

  11. Les
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 9:37 pm | Permalink

    Hope you get to see some of the bay area.

  12. Dale Franzwa
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 10:34 pm | Permalink

    Thank you Grania. Your posts are always great.

    Thank you Jerry for sharing your stories and pics from “Down Under.”

    Finally, thanks to Stephen for his wonderful trout pics. I think the Rainbow Trout is, perhaps, the most beautiful fresh water game fish going. I’ve caught a few in my life but never that size.

  13. W.Benson
    Posted April 17, 2017 at 11:13 pm | Permalink

    Welcome home!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

