A new game that I’d play

I don’t think I’ve ever played a video game in my life. I won’t give my reasons as I don’t want to offend readers who like them and would disagree with me. To each their own!

But this is one game I really would play: it’s called “HK”, and is in development; in fact, they just got funding. It’s about the stray cats of Hong Kong, and I love the graphics. I don’t even know what the game is really about! I do know it’ll be a while, since the developers are two guys and (they say) their cat. There’s a bit of information here:

But this game is about more than just being a cat. This is about being a cat in Hong Kong. More specifically it’s about being a cat in Kowloon Walled City, a crazily populated area of Hong Kong that is pretty much ungoverned. That’s just an astonishingly interesting high concept for a video game.

Watch their Twitter page and Facebook page for further developments:

There are more graphics on the “devblog“,

 

37 Comments

  1. Barry Lyons
    Posted April 11, 2017 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

    I agree on both counts: a) I’ve never played a video game (was deeply annoyed and bored during one attempt after being goaded to play at a party), and b) I, too, want to see what this game is about!

    • Wunold
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 12:55 am | Permalink

      If video games are not your thing, that’s okay. (I don’t like football/soccer at all and find watching other people do sports boring in general.) But I won’t judge all games because of a single one played in an unsuitable environment.

      Today’s games range from funny to sad, fast to slow, 2D or 3D, simple to complex etc. There may be a game or genre waiting for you out there.

  2. Michael Fisher
    Posted April 11, 2017 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

    I’m guessing it’s a Mario Bros. type game with tasks & levels

    I hope the developers build in sufficient ‘catness’ to make this different! i.e. One guides Cat towards an option to jump, but Cat spots an inviting warm window or radiator & promptly goes there instead for a kip.

    There’s other interesting distractions that thwart the players intentions too such as Catnip toys & birdies on twigs!

    • Wunold
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 12:48 am | Permalink

      Instead of indirectly guiding the cat, the developers could use some kind of “gravity” towards warm spots, cardboard boxes, freshly washed clothes etc.

      If the cat heals by sleeping, those places could boost the effect.

  3. allison
    Posted April 11, 2017 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    Kowloon Walled City no longer exists; it was demolished in 1994.

  4. MeowCat
    Posted April 11, 2017 at 6:22 pm | Permalink

    The desire you feel regarding this game is what “gamers” feel on a more regular basis and about a variety of games 🙂

  5. Posted April 11, 2017 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

    I’d play the heck outta this.

  6. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted April 11, 2017 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    I used to be very much into particular video games. The most interesting video game that I know of is Portal. That one was very clever and very funny.

    • Saul Sorrell-Till
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 7:53 am | Permalink

      Portal is sublime, its sequel maybe even better. They’re definitely the funniest games I’ve ever played. If I had to choose a game to impress upon non-gamers what the medium is capable of Portals 1/2 would probably be top of the list.

  7. BJ
    Posted April 11, 2017 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

    Jerry, if you’re interested in games about cats, I have two very good, very different suggestions: The Purring Quest (where you basically play as a cat going about its day and is rather zen in its approach), and The Cat Machine which is a fun and absolutely adorable puzzler with lovely physics jokes and others thrown in.

  8. Posted April 12, 2017 at 12:05 am | Permalink

    Looks like a cool game and I would like to play it if it were on a system I could get access to. Personally, when I played video games, I liked ones with a deep story that didn’t require me to have fast reflexes. Kind of like a novel you participate in. So thanks for saying “to each their own!”

    • Wunold
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 12:57 am | Permalink

      What system(s) would that be? I for myself hope the game comes out for Linux.

      • Posted April 12, 2017 at 1:00 am | Permalink

        PC is about all I have access to – time was, I would have liked it for PS2.

        • Wunold
          Posted April 12, 2017 at 1:09 am | Permalink

          With PC you mean Windows, I presume. I know it’s a common equation today, but a false one since other OS’ like Linux also run on PC hardware.

          Consoles were never my thing, because my preferred control method is mouse + keyboard, even for jump & run games.

      • Stephen Mynett
        Posted April 12, 2017 at 2:52 am | Permalink

        There is a fun app in the Ubuntu store called Oneko (neko is Japanese for cat). It is not a game but a small cat chases the cursor around the screen.

        • Wunold
          Posted April 12, 2017 at 6:52 am | Permalink

          Although I’m not into such desktop slapstick normally, cats are a special case so I may try it out, thanks. 🙂

        • gravelinspector-Aidan
          Posted April 12, 2017 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

          Oneko (neko is Japanese for cat).

          That one was around when I first got an X environment working on Slackware in about 1995, and I recognised it from a port to Windows 3 which I’d seen in about 1991. I’m pretty sure it’s a lot older than that (in GUI terms, maybe even back in the Dark Ages of the pre-11 GUIs in the 1980s).

    • Wunold
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 1:03 am | Permalink

      Do you know the game Oxenfree? I played it through recently and liked it very much. It’s a kind of playable novel in 2D with great atmosphere, graphics and audio. Your decisions involve mostly timed choices in conversations that change some outcomes at the end.

      You may read some non-spoiling reviews before, though, as people’s opinions about Oxenfree seem to range from outstanding to crap depending on their preferences and expectations.

      • Posted April 12, 2017 at 1:06 am | Permalink

        Haven’t seen that one – I haven’t had time to play video games in several years, though I still love them.

        • Wunold
          Posted April 12, 2017 at 1:14 am | Permalink

          A saying I know is “if you don’t take the time, you will never have it.” (translated from German)

          If you love video games, maybe you should reserve a little time for them in your life. 🙂

          • Posted April 12, 2017 at 3:00 am | Permalink

            Good point. I may at some point in the future – at the moment I’d rather use the time for writing.

            • Wunold
              Posted April 12, 2017 at 7:16 am | Permalink

              A couple of years ago, I came back to gaming after years without it and discovered how much I’ve missed it. I also “didn’t have time” (i.e. didn’t take it) so I started to make appointments with myself for playing. It helped to make gaming a part of my life again.

              Since you’re a little out of touch, here some more suggestions from different genres:

              Her Story
              SOMA
              Firewatch
              To the Moon

              Good story-driven, narrative games may even give you new ideas for writing, who knows?

              • Saul Sorrell-Till
                Posted April 12, 2017 at 8:12 am | Permalink

                Firewatch ended up being a bit disappointing to me.
                Games like these are so often put forward as examples of intelligent, ‘worthy’ games and yet I think they just do what an above average TV melodrama would do, and they seem too keen on neutering the aspect of games that makes them so powerful, which is the interactive part.

                Games like Everybody’s Gone To The Rapture and Firewatch look beautiful, and have serious storylines, with good voice acting, but almost always the narrative incidents happen off-screen. You pick up voice-recordings, or data-files that progress the narrative, and in Rapture’s case you just go around what is essentially a film set listening to voice actors perform little snippets of drama that elucidate moments from the past. You’re not involved in the storyline in any significant way.
                To me games like that might as well not be games at all. They should be radio plays, or films. If a game has a storyline the best thing it can do is place you in the middle of it, like the original Half-Life back in 1998. That was sci-fi hokum but it progressed the storyline simply by putting you in the middle of it and forcing you to muddle through. It showed you but it didn’t tell you. The story should not be ‘told’ in the first place, it should simply reveal itself all around you as you play. To not take advantage of gaming’s main draw, the interactivity, is a shame.

                The next big step forward will be when a developer manages to marry the gameplay of Valve’s best stuff, like Portal and Half-Life, with the human drama of the games you mention.

              • Wunold
                Posted April 13, 2017 at 12:34 am | Permalink

                I didn’t play Firewatch yet but plan to do some time in the future. Yet I have no problem with so-called “walking simulators” or games that put you in the role of an investigator after the story events happened, if it’s done right. They certainly are not less a game than others as long I have enough freedom of movement and interaction.

                Half-Life immersed the player like no game (I knew) did before, but also showed todays limits of real time interaction with computer-controlled characters. This uncanny valley is avoided by games that put most or all events in the past, for the price of not being “there” when things happen(ed).

                Then there are the games that mix both approaches, like System Shock 1+2, SOMA or Oxenfree. You discover past events by investigating places and media but you also live through the present situation, being placed somewhere in the middle of the whole narrative. For me personally, these can be the perfect blend of undisturbed storytelling and immersion.

              • Wunold
                Posted April 13, 2017 at 1:06 am | Permalink

                Sorry, broken link. -> uncanny valley

    • BJ
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

      Try The Purring Quest and The Cat Machine. They’re on PC, but may also be on Xbox and/or PS1 (I wouldn’t know).

      • Wunold
        Posted April 13, 2017 at 12:16 am | Permalink

        The Cat Machine doesn’t look like it has a deep story (or any story at all) like Rohvannyn mentioned. Or does it?

        • BJ
          Posted April 13, 2017 at 8:48 am | Permalink

          It’s not really a story, but it does have lovely mechanics, adorability, and hilarious physics jokes. It’s a puzzle game that never frustrates you. It’s very relaxing for a puzzler.

          The Purring Quest, on the other hand, has a story and a very zen approach to its gameplay. It has beautiful artwork and deserves much more recognition than it ever received (just like The Cat Machine).

  9. John Dentinger
    Posted April 12, 2017 at 6:31 am | Permalink

    As one of the side quests in Fallout 4, the Lone Wanderer is tasked with saving Erin’s cat, Ashes, who has wandered out of the safety of Vault 81 into the dangerous nuclear wasteland. I am proud to say that I have saved her. Two or three times.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

      You’d think the cat would learn.
      But if you’d ever known a cat, you’d know it wouldn’t learn.

  10. Saul Sorrell-Till
    Posted April 12, 2017 at 8:24 am | Permalink

    Hey Jerry, this is a game that might interest you:

    It’s called Abzu, and it’s a meditative underwater PC/Playstation 4 game. You control a deep-sea diver. There are no fail-states(you can’t die), it’s very beautiful and it has no specific narrative.
    I’ve yet to play it, although I played Journey, the game that Abzu’s director previously worked on, and that was wonderful.

    I’m sure people say this all the time, but gaming isn’t just Call Of Duty in the same way that movies aren’t just The Fast And The Furious.

    • Saul Sorrell-Till
      Posted April 12, 2017 at 8:25 am | Permalink

      Apologies for the unintentional embedding. I don’t know why it did that.

      • Wunold
        Posted April 13, 2017 at 12:07 am | Permalink

        WordPress does that automatically if you just put a YouTube URL into your comment. Put it in a a href tag and it stays a link.

  11. Posted April 12, 2017 at 12:06 pm | Permalink

    Cross-over with Phantasy Star, anyone? 😉

  12. Mike
    Posted April 16, 2017 at 8:41 am | Permalink

    Those Graphics are very Blade Runnerish, if that’s a word.

    • Wunold
      Posted April 16, 2017 at 1:05 pm | Permalink

      No matter what, it’s an apt description. 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

