Readers’ wildlife videos

Tara Tanaka informs me that I put up the wrong video the other day, and so here’s the right one: a new one, 3.5 minutes long, called “For the love of cranes”. These are of course sandhill cranes, Grus canadensis.

Here are Tara’s notes.

I finally culled the remaining video I shot in November, 2016 at Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Reserve last week, and have worked non-stop on this video ever since. There are some clips from our trip there in 2014, as well as a couple of clips I shot exactly one year ago in Florida. I will always look back on the days I spent capturing this footage as some of the best of my life.

The night that I videoed the super moon, I had been standing on the edge of one of the crane ponds where there were many Sandhills roosting overnight. As I was walking back to the truck in the moonlight, I heard a loud roar from what sounded like the far side of the pond, and then I immediately heard splashing and flapping. I had desperately wanted to see one of the mountain lions that was reported to be at Bosque last year, but at least I got to hear him.

It has lovely music as well as wonderful bird noises and adorable chicks. Be sure to watch it on full screen on the Vimeo page, and in high-definition.

Tara’s Flickr page is here, and her Vimeo page is here.

 

11 Comments

  1. Randall Schenck
    Posted March 29, 2017 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    Great stuff. Anyone who thinks we do not need national reserves (govt. control) of such areas is nuts and just needs to look at this.

  2. Debbie Coplan
    Posted March 29, 2017 at 11:09 am | Permalink

    This was such a stunning and gorgeous video.
    Besides the birds, the background looked like an impressionist painting. I just loved every detail.

    • Posted March 29, 2017 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

      Thanks so much Debbie!! It was such a great experience being there for 7 weeks over 2 years videoing it.

  3. rickflick
    Posted March 29, 2017 at 12:09 pm | Permalink

    Wonderful imaging. Next time you go, take me with you! 😉

  4. Posted March 29, 2017 at 3:40 pm | Permalink

    Thanks Rick! It’s worth at least one trip there.

  5. nicky
    Posted March 29, 2017 at 9:44 pm | Permalink

    Thanks Tara, that was an outstanding video.
    And I fully agree with Randall.

  6. Andrea Kenner
    Posted March 30, 2017 at 5:50 am | Permalink

    So beautiful! It left me in tears.

    • Posted March 30, 2017 at 6:40 am | Permalink

      Thank you Andrea for letting me know how much it moved you!

      Tara

  7. JoanL
    Posted March 30, 2017 at 1:03 pm | Permalink

    Stunning indeed. Thank you so much, Tara.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

