Where I’m going this morning

UPDATE: My haul: the famous apple fritter (with walnuts), a caramel fully frosted cupcake (the icing got marred on the drive home), and apple-pecan bread pudding. I’m working on the fritter as I type; it’s terrific. The other items will wait a day or so. .

 

abundance-bakery

The Abundance Bakery on 47th Street has a considerable reputation, but I’ve never been there. I’ll rectify that omission this morning. I don’t know what I’ll get, except one thing will be the apple fritter, below, a specialty of South Side Chicago. They are large:

o

Photo from Yelp site

I’m also contemplating the caramel cake and bread pudding.  Here’s a video:

24 Comments

  1. Ken Phelps
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 8:32 am | Permalink

    Love your nails! Fabulous!

    …Sorry, too much Milo on Maher’s show last night.

    • Randall Schenck
      Posted February 18, 2017 at 8:42 am | Permalink

      I saw the highlights, where the comedian told Milo to fuck himself.

    • ThyroidPlanet
      Posted February 18, 2017 at 8:46 am | Permalink

      Just finished the YouTube material – so good.

      Never paid that much attention to Milo. Really don’t see why anyone would lite cars on fire over anyone, let alone him. His only problem is he sort of keeps talking like he’s lost track that other people are there.

      • Posted February 18, 2017 at 9:38 am | Permalink

        Can you put up (or send me) the websites for Maher last night? I have one but it’s been taken down.

        • ThyroidPlanet
          Posted February 18, 2017 at 10:03 am | Permalink

          I use the YouTube app, which gives this as a Home for RTwBM

          https://www.youtube.com/user/RealTime

          … hmmm, looks user-friendly.

          Specifically:

          Milo’s protected interview:

          Milo on the panel on Overtime:

          … at that point, hopefully the intro monologue and Scientology debunker interview comes up and is evident. Sadly, New Rules are rationed.

          • ThyroidPlanet
            Posted February 18, 2017 at 10:05 am | Permalink

            Oh no the damn embedding again.

            Ok – next time I put up YouTube links, I’ll do surgery on them – like inserting “REMOVE_THIS_PART”

      • ThyroidPlanet
        Posted February 18, 2017 at 10:26 am | Permalink

        To clarify in case anyone gets the wrong ideas: by “so good” I mean that Maher was very funny, and the panel was engaging….

        That is, I’m not exactly a fan of Milo.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted February 18, 2017 at 10:56 am | Permalink

        Yeah, I don’t know why anyone takes Milo seriously – he spends most of his time giggling at his own jokes.

        • Randall Schenck
          Posted February 18, 2017 at 11:14 am | Permalink

          I would say Milo was over his head with this panel but then, he probably would be with most anyone.

        • Ken Phelps
          Posted February 18, 2017 at 11:40 am | Permalink

          That was certainly my take on it. Illustrates the stupidity of no platforming people like him – it’s the only notable thing about him. Give him the damn platform, he’s flamboyantly uninteresting.

  2. ajlowry
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 8:42 am | Permalink

    Apple fritters seem to be a Midwest thing. They were a big deal where I grew up (Columbus, OH). Now that I’m in AZ, I hardly ever see any, and if I do, they’re extremely over-glazed. I might just have to ask my mother to mail me some. 😉

  3. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 8:44 am | Permalink

    PCC(E), you are baiting me to hold forth on diet – I’ll refrain….

  4. Nancy
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 9:25 am | Permalink

    Had the best bread pudding last night; bourbon maple bacon. Craving it now.

    Watched Bill Maher last night. Milo was nothing other than obnoxious. My husband watched with me (he’s not very political) and said “What’s the big deal w/ this guy?” Yes, he’s outrageous but he has the same right of free speech as all of us. Now, Ann Coulter; I REALLY hate watching when she’s on Bill’s show.

  5. Nancy
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    Forgot to add. Haven’t been impressed w/ Bill Maher over last few years. Thinking maybe he’s smoked too much weed and he has hard time focusing quite often.

    But, I love Larry Wilmore. Can we give Bill’s show to Larry?

  6. Colin
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    Does that come with rib-spreaders? LOL

    • Posted February 18, 2017 at 10:02 am | Permalink

      Yes, I guess I should just eat vegetables and never indulge in these treats!

      What kind of life would that be? Maybe a longer one, but a really, really boring one.

      And. . . I am not fat.

      • ThyroidPlanet
        Posted February 18, 2017 at 10:11 am | Permalink

        You’re doing it again …

        Look, I thought I wasn’t fat either. Also, would you believe – I feel better, by targeting to not eat salt/fat/sugar. Like when you feel “ooof, I’m full” or “oh dear, I’m tired/groggy/in a food coma” or “meh, my pants don’t fit too badly”- that seems to go away. I really would urge anyone to just try losing 10 pounds, if like me you never tried before. I was astounded….

        I’m saving up for smoked brisket – but just a bit at a time….

  7. Heather Hastie
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 11:18 am | Permalink

    I like Maher, but get annoyed that he always calls the far left liberals. They’re not liberal at all. They’re authoritarians. You can’t be a liberal authoritarian. That’s an oxymoron.

    • Randall Schenck
      Posted February 18, 2017 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

      Yes, I notice that Bill sometimes gets a little goofy. Some guests like Harris know that and quickly real him in when he goes off track.

  8. Frank Bath
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 11:19 am | Permalink

    Blimey, Milo’s a Brit! Come back home.

  9. Kevin
    Posted February 18, 2017 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

    YUM. Going to be near there in April, will have to stop by.

  10. chrism
    Posted February 19, 2017 at 6:12 am | Permalink

    Much as I approve of bread pudding, I always preferred its more decadent cousin, the bread and butter pudding – undoubtedly the food of the gods.

  11. Mike
    Posted February 19, 2017 at 6:21 am | Permalink

    I’m glad that Bakery is over there, I would never be away. I didn’t realise that this Milo gobshite is a Brit, I can only apologise.

  12. Posted February 20, 2017 at 11:53 am | Permalink

    Interesting foods!

    That fritter looks like an amorphous pizza somehow – if it hadn’t been labeled apple, I wouldn’t have known.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

