Readers’ wildlife video: Valentine’s Day special

Today we have a special Valentine’s Day video from Tara Tanaka (Flickr page here, Vimeo page here); it’s culled “Black Vulture Romance: Just one look. . . “, and shows that you don’t have to be pretty to find love. Tara’s notes:

I was culling videos from my last birding trip around Florida, and realized that this clip was perfect for Valentine’s Day. It almost looked like a flip of her wing was the thing that so piqued his interest and set off his dramatic display. Another vulture photo-bombed the couple, and then another bird’s alarm call broke the mood for this romantic pair. The loud bird call in the background is a Limpkin.

Be sure to watch it on the Vimeo site, enlarged and in high definition. (The Black Vulture is Coragyps atratus, the limpkin is Aramus guarauna.)

6 Comments

  1. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted February 14, 2017 at 7:58 am | Permalink

    Very sweet and charming! Not something I would think to say regarding vultures, but I am pressed to say it.

  2. Randy schenck
    Posted February 14, 2017 at 8:04 am | Permalink

    I think she said, let’s go find something dead.

  3. rickflick
    Posted February 14, 2017 at 8:59 am | Permalink

    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder – definitely. Actually, they aren’t all that bad looking birds. Not the worst anyway. I bet the chicks are as cute as kittens.

  4. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted February 14, 2017 at 9:12 am | Permalink

    On one route that I drive, I go by a forest near a landfill. There are quite a few turkey vultures, and I am sure they are nesting in the forest, and frequent foragers at the landfill. They are indeed graceful fliers.

    • Jeremy Rigsby
      Posted February 14, 2017 at 9:45 am | Permalink

      Nothing can make one yearn for the imminent apocalypse quite so longingly as a scene of coyotes and turkey vultures, awash in fluorescent green light, competing over a Starbucks dumpster at 4 AM.

  5. Andrea Kenner
    Posted February 14, 2017 at 10:48 am | Permalink

    This is just gorgeous, and I never thought I would say that about vultures!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

