Find the fossa!

Here’s a tweet from Asia Murphy, sent by Matthew Cobb, who loves “find the. . .” photos. Matthew adds that Asia is doing a Ph.D. on the mammals of Madagascar. Matthew tells us NOT to go looking for the answer on Asia’s Twitter feed, as that would spoil the fun.

If you want to know what a fossa (Cryptoprocta ferox) looks like, here’s one. They are carnivorous mammals in the family Eupleridae, which contains only 10 species, all endemic to Madagascar.

cryptoprocta_ferox

And here’s the enlarge photo. Can you spot this creature? Answer at 1 pm Chicago time:

screen-shot-2017-02-11-at-6-52-09-am

10 Comments

  1. Randy schenck
    Posted February 11, 2017 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    Very difficult but do not want to spoil the search of others by saying.

  2. Billy Bl.
    Posted February 11, 2017 at 9:23 am | Permalink

    Never heard of Eupleridae before. Dug out my old Mammalogy textbook. Fossa used to be classified as a viverrid. Jeez, I’m getting old.

  3. Posted February 11, 2017 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    Failed to find the fossa. Probably. I see a couple suspect objects that probably are not the fossa, but we’ll see.

  4. E.A. Blair
    Posted February 11, 2017 at 10:08 am | Permalink

    I’m pretty sure I spotted it, and it was pretty easy (providing I’m right about what I saw).

  5. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted February 11, 2017 at 10:13 am | Permalink

    I might see it. Not sure.

  6. Steve Brooks
    Posted February 11, 2017 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    I think I found it. A hint is that the viewer should think of thirds.

    • Randy schenck
      Posted February 11, 2017 at 11:21 am | Permalink

      I was thinking left…

  7. rickflick
    Posted February 11, 2017 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    At first I thought it said fossil. I imagine a fossil fossa would be even harder to find. I have no idea where it is, so I’ll just grab a full lungful of breath and hold it ’till all is revealed.

    A beautiful creature sure enough.

    • Jeremy Rigsby
      Posted February 11, 2017 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

      There is a fossil fossa. The giant fossa Cryptoprocta spelea which is I suppose technically a subfossil, as it seems to have gone extinct circa AD 1000 around the same time as Malagasy hippos. The animal persists in some Madagascan languages and folklore and of course in cryptozoological fancy.

      • nicky
        Posted February 11, 2017 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

        Gone extinct around 1000 AD? Shortly after Madagascar was colonised by humans, I presume…
        And did the giant ‘Elephant bird’ not disappear around the same time?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

