Two announcements

First, I’d like to call attention to a new website produced by one of our readers, classical scholar Laurie Sidoni from London. Her new site is called A Classicist Writes. . . , and deals both with classical life and literature as well as more quotidian matters (like groundhogs). If you’re a reader and have a website as well, please give a link in the comments.

Second, I would like to repeat my request that any given reader send me no more than one email per day, as I’m having trouble keeping up with the volume of email. If you want to send me some links to look at (and I much appreciate this), please combine them into one email.  The one exception to this request is that if you find an error, a misspelling, or other howler in one of my posts, feel free to contact me at any time.

Thanks.
The management

 

17 Comments

  1. Todd Morgan
    Posted February 10, 2017 at 8:48 am | Permalink

    Well, I was horrified by this article today by Christine Williams.

    https://www.jihadwatch.org/2017/02/the-islamic-state-chops-off-childrens-hands-for-refusing-to-execute-prisoners

    This counts as my email today.

    • Posted February 10, 2017 at 12:09 pm | Permalink

      Include me in those who are horrified by this article.

    • Craw
      Posted February 10, 2017 at 7:28 pm | Permalink

      Almost as bad as Steve Bannon.

      • Mike
        Posted February 11, 2017 at 7:49 am | Permalink

        Despicable bastards.

  2. Posted February 10, 2017 at 9:03 am | Permalink

    I have a website on Evolution in Spanish.
    https://www.todosobrelaevolucion.org.mx

    • Posted February 10, 2017 at 1:13 pm | Permalink

      ¡Excelente! I am trying to learn Spanish (at least to the point where I can get by in an informal conversation), and I need reading material. I will be visiting your site! 🙂

  3. ladyatheist
    Posted February 10, 2017 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    I haven’t been as active recently on my website but FYI for anyone interested (and feedback is welcome):

    http://ladyatheist.blogspot.com/

    • Michael Fisher
      Posted February 10, 2017 at 1:45 pm | Permalink

      @ladyatheist I’ve subbed via RSS. Thanks.

  4. Jeff Lewis
    Posted February 10, 2017 at 11:47 am | Permalink

    I have a personal website and associated blog:

    jefflewis.net
    Jeff’s Lunchbreak

  5. E.A. Blair
    Posted February 10, 2017 at 12:38 pm | Permalink

    I don’t have a blog of my own, but I have been a frequent guest writer at Mad Mike’s America, and you can find an index of my posts at this link. I’ve had a bad case of writer’s funk since the election, but I hope to start cranking things out again soon.

  6. Posted February 10, 2017 at 12:38 pm | Permalink

    I am a geophysicist, but in my younger years, I was a commercial beekeeper. I tend two sites that might appeal to folks here…

    Readers of Jerry’s website might like this post on my geophysics blog. It’s about a cute little ignorant Creationism museum near my home:
    https://mountainmystery.com/2016/08/04/creation-science-museum-part-1/
    (Enjoy the comments – especially the ones written by the museum’s owner.)

    My beekeeping blog is fairly popular. Here is a link to a story I wrote about the fellow who created ‘Killer Bees’ – it has a little genetics which readers here may appreciate:
    https://badbeekeepingblog.com/2016/09/09/the-man-who-made-killer-bees/

  7. Posted February 10, 2017 at 12:42 pm | Permalink

    I have a website that deals with the darker side of “spirituality”

    https://spiritualityisnoexcuse.wordpress.com/

    I mostly focus on specific teachers rather than topics. One of my favorite targets for mirth and ridicule is the cell biologist and cancer quack Dr Bruce Lipton who is extremely popular, extremely dangerous, and of unparalelled stupidy.

    Here, for exammple, is a series of posts covering a discuussion between him and Rupert Sheldrake.

    https://spiritualityisnoexcuse.wordpress.com/2014/12/14/aaaaarrrrrggghhhhh-rupert-sheldrake-meets-bruce-lipton-part-1/

  8. Posted February 10, 2017 at 1:19 pm | Permalink

    I’m a physics grad student in Mexico, and have two blogs:

    laplaciandemon.blogspot.com
    hectormatav.blogspot.com

    The first is in English, but I haven’t written there in a long time. It’s meant to be mostly about physics.

    The second is in Spanish and is more regularly updated with book reviews or articles about things that interest me beyond physics.

  9. Posted February 10, 2017 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    I have a mostly cats and nature website. I try to make sure any occasional science and natural history is solid. My bossy and talkative editing cat. Bud, has taken over … https://catwoodsporchparty.wordpress.com/

  10. Ken Kukec
    Posted February 10, 2017 at 11:18 pm | Permalink

    Bonam Fortunam! to Laurie Sidoni on her new classicist website.

  11. Posted February 11, 2017 at 1:36 am | Permalink

    I don’t write as much as I used to, for time reasons, but I still occasionally put some things on my blog. I do have some plans for things still to come.

    https://evidenceandreason.wordpress.com/


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

