Readers’ wildlife photos

I’d like to say two things this morning. First, I issue my call for MOAR PHOTOS, just to keep me comfortable. Second, thanks to all the people who have sent their photographs in. Sometimes I worry that readers may be getting jaded by the daily presentation of such great pictures, but remember that they represent a lot of time and expertise on the part of the contributors. I’m constantly amazed at how good the photos are. So thank you, thank you all!

Today we have birds from reader Karen Bartelt, sent in an email called “‘Tanagers’ from Panama + one euphonia”. The IDs are hers:

Palm tanager (Thraupis palmarum):

p1090322pt

Female summer tanager (Piranga rubra):

p1090721stf

Female crimson-backed tanger (Ramphocelus dimidiatus):

p1090740cbtf

Dusky-faced tanagers (Mitrospringus cassinii):

p1090931dft

 Female thick-billed euphonia (Euphonia laniiostris):

p1100010tbef

9 Comments

  1. Mark Joseph
    Posted February 1, 2017 at 7:40 am | Permalink

    Not to worry–I never get jaded, and love to see pictures of critters in places I’ll undoubtedly never get to. Both the contributions, and you posting them, are very much appreciated.

    Furthermore, I often forward pictures to a small group of family members. While I usually redact them from the context of the website (after all, the title of which uses the scary “e-word”), I do, on rare and necessary occasions, even send a link to this site. Hopefully they can see that we atheists and evolutionists do something other than just swap recipes for cooking babies.

  2. rickflick
    Posted February 1, 2017 at 7:53 am | Permalink

    How full and shaggy the palm tanager is!
    Great shots.
    If I ever get back to Panama it will be to do some serious birding.

  3. Jim Knight
    Posted February 1, 2017 at 8:44 am | Permalink

    Nice photos Karen! Where were the pictures taken? My wife and I get to Panama to look at birds and herps at least once a year – perhaps we have “crossed trails” somewhere down there…?

    • Karen Bartelt
      Posted February 1, 2017 at 3:57 pm | Permalink

      We have only been there once, but it sure would be nice to get back again. The palm tanager was at the Canopy Tower; the rest were in and around the area of the Canopy Lodge near El Valle de Anton, Panama.

  4. darrelle
    Posted February 1, 2017 at 9:48 am | Permalink

    I can’t imagine becoming jaded to the Wildlife Pictures of the Day feature. Please keep ’em coming.

    Very nice group of pictures Karen. I especially like the 1st picture.

    • Claudia Baker
      Posted February 1, 2017 at 7:33 pm | Permalink

      +1

  5. Mark R.
    Posted February 1, 2017 at 12:27 pm | Permalink

    I’ll never get jaded of RWPs.

    Thanks Karen for the lovely birds.

  6. Bob Scott Placier
    Posted February 1, 2017 at 1:30 pm | Permalink

    Some very nice photos! Tanager classification, as with many other birds, is in a constant (it seems) state of flux. The birds here represent 3 families. Summer Tanager is presently in Family Cardinalidae. The Euphonia genus is placed in Fringillidae. And the other three are in Thraupidae. Would love to see some of these birds! Of course, Summer Tanager is a fairly common breeding season resident of the southeastern U.S, up into southern Ohio where I live.

    • Karen Bartelt
      Posted February 1, 2017 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

      Yes, the classification is so at odds with the common names. Note ‘Tanagers’ above!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

