Winner: Squirrel appreciation contest

Sadly, there was only one entry in my contest on Squirrel Appreciation Day, involving readers sending a good picture of themselves helping squirrels. (Don’t you people like squirrels?) The good news is that the single entry was a great picture, and so reader Christopher Moss wins a free copy of Faith Versus Fact with a fact-based squirrel drawn in. (Of course, all animals are fact based since none of them are crazy enough to believe in gods.)

His notes are indented:

I read your post and ran out to grab a photo of one of the three red squirrels that come to be fed on my deck.This one happens to be #2 with respect to dominance as far as I can tell, basing this on who chases off whom. He is nowhere near as fat as #1! It’s interesting to see how they have become much more tolerant of each other as the weather has become colder—my understanding is that this is expected as they have to huddle up together to keep warm whilst they take their long sleeps through the winter. Perhaps we humans might concede that those we sleep with are to be treated differently when we are out at the restaurant!

p1220551

31 Comments

  1. BobTerrace
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:08 pm | Permalink

    Don’t you people like squirrels?

    To be honest, no.

    • Dominic
      Posted January 23, 2017 at 4:32 am | Permalink

      ah! Worried about your nuts!

  2. jeremy
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    I didn’t know aboot it! I love my squirrels!

  3. Claudia Baker
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:38 pm | Permalink

    Very sweet picture Christopher!

    I do like squirrels. It’s just that I am sans a good camera at the moment. Researching what to buy…

  4. Debbie Coplan
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:41 pm | Permalink

    I love that picture of that very cute squirrel.
    Not too many squirrels around here, so I had to pass….
    And recuperating from a great march in San Diego yesterday!

    • Claudia Baker
      Posted January 22, 2017 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

      Brava!

  5. Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

    Yes, I do like squirrels. But, insofar as I know, I have no squirrels on my little acreage in the countryside. At least, I’ve never seen them. I do see them in the towns nearby. I get other wildlife. Occasional deer, quail, robins,
    (other birds), possums and skunk. Moles and mice, of course.

    The red squirrel photo is great.

  6. Stephen Barnard
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

    Good photo.

  7. Lorraine
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:54 pm | Permalink

    I like squirrels, but none come close enough to get photographed. I suspect it’s my d*g’s fault. He likes squirrels a bit too much.

  8. Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:55 pm | Permalink

    Whether I like squirrels depends on what kind of squirrels and where they’re located.

    California ground squirrels (Otospermophilus beecheyi) are a giant pain when in my yard, making vegetable gardening very difficult. I am constantly at war with them (and usually losing). Gray squirrels in the forest are lovely creatures. Heck, even ground squirrels out in the hills are OK — if we agree to overlook the little matter of bubonic plague.

    • Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

      I should have added that Christopher’s shot captured an animal that is cute beyond understanding.

    • ploubere
      Posted January 22, 2017 at 3:00 pm | Permalink

      Yes, I can only grow tomatoes in cages which I had to build. Otherwise the little buggers take one bite out of each.

    • Jonathan Wallace
      Posted January 23, 2017 at 6:45 am | Permalink

      “…if we agree to overlook the little matter of bubonic plague”

      Of all the causes of death in the US I guess that there are many, many, many things that you should fear ahead of bubonic plague.

  9. ploubere
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    I wouldn’t have a better photo than that one.
    Re animals being fact based, dogs seem to worship humans, and cats seem to worship themselves.

  10. Sarah
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

    Excellent photo!
    I love squirrels. They are delightful to watch.

  11. Deb Trombley
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    Two badly lit pics of a flying squirrel at my feeders, around 10:30 PM. Not good enough for the contest, but cute anyway. It helps if you embiggen the photos Sent from Deb T

    >

  12. ajlowry
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    There are Abert squirrels in the woods nearby, but they’re shy and very fast, so I have no photos. I barely get to identify one before it vanishes in a blur. Aberts are the ones with the big tufts on the top of their ears.

    That red squirrel is the cutest thing I’ve seen in a month, other than some of the positions my cat takes while he sleeps. Good going, Christopher Moss, and thank you!

  13. James Walker
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 4:03 pm | Permalink

    I like squirrels but they have a tendency to get into my bird feeders. Also, they’re mostly monochromatic black around here, so I really only notice them when they’re other colours.

  14. jonesnews
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 6:19 pm | Permalink

    We had a busy weekend so I didn’t send a pic in time but, just to renew your faith that readers properly appreciate squirrels, attached is a pic of our lovely friend, Quirrel, who rules the resources on our deck. She waits impatiently outside our sliding door and, if we delay too long, will come and hang from the screen on our kitchen window to remind us to give her what is due. Sweet squirrel!

    cheers, Yvonne Wilder

    On Sun, Jan 22, 2017 at 1:01 PM, Why Evolution Is True wrote:

    > whyevolutionistrue posted: “Sadly, there was only one entry in my contest > on Squirrel Appreciation Day, involving readers sending a good picture of > themselves helping squirrels. (Don’t you people like squirrels?) The good > news is that the single entry was a great picture, and so rea” >

  15. Frank Bath
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 6:29 pm | Permalink

    I like squirrels, but here in the UK the introduced North American grey squirrel has driven our pretty native red squirrel almost to extinction. You hear the plague of greys referred to as fluffy tailed rats. I believe there is still a bounty on their heads.

  16. chrism
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 6:56 pm | Permalink

    Two comments:
    Firstly, thanks to PCC(E) for the contest, and I hope he will have the cheek to dispose of the prize as I suggested (I have a copy of FvsF but I don’t think your new vice president has read it yet).
    Secondly, grey squirrels have recently been reported as breeding in the southern parts of my province (NS). Should they start replacing the red squirrels here I shall have to make a choice about how I shall respond. In the UK the introduced grey squirrel has been pretty conclusively shown to be responsible for the decline of the European Red Squirrel by means of the parapox virus, but I think the American red squirrel has good resistance to that virus. (By the way, do look at what some volunteers are doing to preserve the last few European red squirrels in the UK here:
    http://www.penrithredsquirrels.org.uk/ )

    Thanks again, Jerry.

  17. Posted January 22, 2017 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

    Well, I have plenty of good squirrel photos, but the requirement that a submitted photo be taken on this squirrel appreciation day blocked me out. We are having one of the rainiest Januarys on record out here (something like 1/3 of the average annual total so far and still coming), and squirrels have the good sense to stay in out of the rain.

  18. Posted January 22, 2017 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    I feed them corn cobs. But I almost never see them eat them, the corn just disappears leaving the cob. So I can’t really get pictures 😦

  19. Gayle
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 9:38 pm | Permalink

    I like squirrels but we don’t have them in New Zealand.

  20. Bill Morrison
    Posted January 22, 2017 at 10:29 pm | Permalink

    It is a widely held belief here in the northeastern U.S. that “a red squirrel ‘ll bite the nuts off a gray squirrel.” This is, of course, ridiculous. Many people, and probably gray squirrels as well, regard the red one as being a nervous, nasty and scolding creature.

  21. Barbara Radcliffe
    Posted January 23, 2017 at 1:35 am | Permalink

    Great squirrel photo. I do like them, but they have never been introduced to the Land of Oz. Probably a good thing, given what rabbits have done to the ecosystems!

  22. Allen Linville
    Posted January 23, 2017 at 7:31 am | Permalink

    I LIKE squirrels too! But so do my cats so the neighbourhood squirrels tend to avoid my backyard year-round.

  23. Mike
    Posted January 23, 2017 at 8:15 am | Permalink

    Lovely Photo. I like Squirrels the lady wife feeds them religiously every Day, she is in fact attempting to feed the Birds but the thieving little buggers always get first shout.

  24. Adrian
    Posted January 23, 2017 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    I can’t say I love squirrels any more than other wildlife but we only have two species here in the UK and the native Red Squirrel is quite a distance away from me. The ubiquitous Grey, introduced from the USA is not common where I live so I don’t have any acceptable photographs.

    You Americans seem to have an endless supply of the Sciuridae.

  25. stuartcoyle
    Posted January 23, 2017 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    There are no squirrels here in Australia.

    Actually, that is an ‘alternative fact’, as I know there are some around South Perth that escaped from the zoo and bred. Can I submit a picture of a possum or sugar glider as an ‘alternative squirrel’?


