Mr Rubin, I’m ready for my close-up

When in Hollywood. Blending with the indigenous population. They won’t suspect a thing.

Note by JAC: The pictures and text above were posted by Grania, to whom I sent the photos for posting. It was great fun meeting Dave Rubin and his coterie—an amiable and helpful bunch—and being on the Rubin Report. Dave and I had an hourlong conversation that, as I recall, was mostly about evolution, with a tad of atheism thrown in. The hour flew by, and I think it went well. I’ll send the link when it goes up.

Now I’m cooling my heels in LAX, ready to fly back to Chicago; I dare not look up the temperature there!

img_0545

img_0546

After the taping. I love this sign!

img_25201

22 Comments

  1. Rita
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 1:05 pm | Permalink

    🙂

  2. BobTerrace
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 1:06 pm | Permalink

    You closed eyes and mouth. You forgot to close your nostrils. 😉

  3. Posted January 16, 2017 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    You’re in the hood!

    Welcome ❤

  4. George
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 1:24 pm | Permalink

    More orange! Or you will never be president.

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted January 16, 2017 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

      😀

  5. Ken Kukec
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 1:30 pm | Permalink

    “I’m ready for my close-up”

    And Joe Gillis thought Norma Desmond’s old-timer friends were the “waxworks.” 🙂

    • Ken Kukec
      Posted January 16, 2017 at 1:37 pm | Permalink

      Don’t worry, Jerry. You’re still big; it’s the talk shows that got small.

      • Larry
        Posted January 16, 2017 at 5:01 pm | Permalink

        Haha! Good ones.

  6. BobTerrace
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    Now I’m cooling my heels in LAX, ready to fly back to Chicago; I dare not look up the temperature there!

    There isn’t any temperature there.

  7. David Coxill
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    Who looks like the cat that got the cream?.

  8. Posted January 16, 2017 at 3:23 pm | Permalink

    When I was flying back to Chicago through Mexico City last Thursday night, I checked the Chicago temperature in the ‘Weather round the world’ section of El Pais. The only place colder than Chicago that night was Moscow! But don’t worry: it’s 36 F now, and actually getting warmer.

    • Dominic
      Posted January 17, 2017 at 4:07 am | Permalink

      Oh dear – his make-up will run when he gets back!

  9. George
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    RIP Gene Cernan

    Great picture he took on his way back to Earth:
    https://www.nasa.gov/topics/earth/earthday/gall_whole_earth.html

  10. eric
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    How dare you call a green room a ‘safe space’! It makes me think of Kermit, then Jim Henson, then his death, sending me into terrible trauma! Remember, it’s all about how the victim feels. There is no safe space unless *I* deem it safe!
    [/snark]

    Congrats on the program. Condolences on flying back to Chicago. 🙂

  11. jaxkayaker
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 7:35 pm | Permalink

    When will the video of your discussion with Rubin be posted?

    • Posted January 16, 2017 at 10:07 pm | Permalink

      Dunno, probably soon. I’ll post it when I hear it’s ready.

      • Posted January 17, 2017 at 9:21 am | Permalink

        Rubin releases the interviews in parts, with the full episodes usually airing on Fridays. 🙂

  12. cooeerup
    Posted January 16, 2017 at 11:31 pm | Permalink

    Rubin interviewed another climate change denialist on the same day as his interview with you. I think that makes 4 denialists now. I wish he wouldn’t keep promoting anti-science views, we need help convincing people of the science, not more people confusing them

    • Posted January 17, 2017 at 7:53 am | Permalink

      Rubin has fallen far and fast in my estimation. He’s come as long way from his start as Sam Harris’s defender against the Young Turks. I suppose Jerry educating his audience of Trumpistas about evolution is a good thing, but it wouldn’t surprise me at all if he brings on a young Earth creationist and credulously nods and agrees about how important it is to hear different points of view and just get those ideas out there for his audience to make up their own minds.

      • Posted January 17, 2017 at 1:46 pm | Permalink

        I really doubt that he’d bring on a creationist! And Rubin told me that he was interviewing Dennis Prager the same day he interviewed me.

        I wouldn’t be too sure that he agrees with a lot of people he interviews: he’s a strong free-speech advocate, and often lets people talk rather than challenging them. That’s just the way he prefers to do his interviews, and I know some people object to it. We had, for instance, an interesting discussion about Milo Yiannopoulos.

  13. Brian Salkas
    Posted January 17, 2017 at 2:48 am | Permalink

    Damn dude, you look like a hot blond! Whos that guy whos face your touching?

  14. Posted January 17, 2017 at 11:32 am | Permalink

    Is there a green screen in the green room? Green tea? Greenbacks?


