Readers’ wildlife photos

I have only about five days’ worth of readers’ photos in the tank, so do send me your good wildlife pics!

Reader Rob Bate sent two pictures of an Antarctic fur seal (Arctocephalus gazella)and a gentoo penguin (Pygoscelis papua), and I’ve recovered his notes, which he kindly re-sent. His trip to the polar regions, which was just last month, is diagrammed below:chart-overview

 The daddy Fur Seal was at a colony at Salisbury Plain on the eastern shore of South Georgia Island.  He was beaming because his mate had just given birth.

daddyfur

baby-fur-sealmom

The Gentoo Penguin was coming out of the water to join the rest of his colony mates at Brown Bluff on the tip of the Antarctic Peninsula.

gentoo

A dragonfly from Kevin:

This is type of dragonfly we see quite a lot (also in red) – I would appreciate an identification because all the blue Hawkers look alike to me.

imgp3035

And here are some pelicans resting and in flight from reader Esther Mandeno. Her notes:

My husband and I were kayaking Elkhorn Slough near Monterey, California. The pelicans were everywhere, as were the kayakers. Every now and then, the two clashed and the pelicans would take flight, but would settle down only a few feet away.


img_4704

img_4699

8 Comments

  1. Randall Schenck
    Posted January 7, 2017 at 7:38 am | Permalink

    Very nice photos. Is there a finer place in the U.S. than Monterrey, California?

  2. jwthomas
    Posted January 7, 2017 at 8:41 am | Permalink

    Twenty years ago Pelicans were all but extinct in coastal California. It’s good to see their remarkable recovery pictured here.

  3. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted January 7, 2017 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    Blue-eyed darner, Rhionaeschna multicolor, although I wont rule out the similar shadow darner (Aeshna umbrosa). Those will roost more often.

    • serendipitydawg
      Posted January 7, 2017 at 11:31 am | Permalink

      The picture was taken in the UK … I don’t think we get darners, but we do get Hawkers 🙂

      • Mark Sturtevant
        Posted January 7, 2017 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

        Very good. I did not take location into account at all!

  4. Merilee
    Posted January 7, 2017 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    Wonderful pelican pics!

  5. Posted January 7, 2017 at 1:39 pm | Permalink

    Great photos! That trip to the Falklands and South Georgia is one I desperately want to make myself.

  6. Barbara Radcliffe
    Posted January 8, 2017 at 3:35 am | Permalink

    Lovely photos. I’ve been to the Falklands on an Earthwatch project during which we helped count elephant seals. There we were privileged to see five species of penguins including Gentoos.
    I have not been to South Georgia, but would love to so.


