Readers’ wildlife photographs

I found an old readers’ wildlife post from October, and can’t see that I actually posted it; I believe I was traveling when I prepared it. The photos are from Stephen Barnard, one of our most faithful contributors (and one of the best photographers), so it’s appropriate to start the new year with his work. His captions are indented. (If I’ve posted this before, forgive me.)

Some landscapes and a white-tailed doe (Odocoileus hemionus):

rt9a1672

The Boss (Alces alces):

rt9a1790

One of these three landscapes has a flock of Canada geese (Branta canadensis). Can you spot them?

rt9a1761-1

rt9a1762_tonemapped

rt9a1780_tonemapped

Here’s a photo of a juvenile rabbit (a cottontail?) that I took two summers ago, and I may have already posted it. But something this cute is always worth seeing:

P1080323.JPG

And a photo from Christopher Moss, who contributed a pheasant for the Christmas Cat parade:

Standing exactly where the pheasant was on Christmas Day, this young doe was photographed through a different window. She’s about 15 feet from me and kept a wary eye on me as I took pictures.

christopher-moss

14 Comments

  1. somer
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    more stunning pictures from Stephen Barnard and I just cannot get over how beautiful his Idaho property is.

  2. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 8:06 am | Permalink

    Gorgeous landscapes.

    Other pics excellent.

  3. Randall Schenck
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    Fist one has the geese. Love the rabbit.

  4. mclaughlinr
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 8:19 am | Permalink

    The first photo appears to be a mule deer (Odocoileus hemionus) IDed by the white rump patch that is not present in white-tailed deer. The characteristic locomotion exhibited in the photo is “stotting.” Wikipedia says, “There are believed to be several subspecies, including the black-tailed deer”. White-tailed deer is Odocoileus virginianus.

    • Stephen Barnard
      Posted January 1, 2017 at 10:17 am | Permalink

      Did I actually identify that as a white-tailed? White-tailed deer are very rare here, to the point that when one is seen the word spreads. Mule deer are common.

  5. rickflick
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 8:25 am | Permalink

    Lot’s of wild and lots of life. The landscapes are quite stunning. Do you think anyone would notice if I copied one for my desktop?

    • Stephen Barnard
      Posted January 1, 2017 at 9:53 pm | Permalink

      OK with me. I’l send you a full-res if you like.

      • rickflick
        Posted January 1, 2017 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

        I’ll take a rain check on that. Current res is just fine. Thanks.

  6. Debra Coplan
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    As always, great photos. I especially love the doe suspended in that second before it’s time to come down.

  7. Lorraine Brevig
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 10:20 am | Permalink

    Gorgeous landscapes!! Great photos! Thank you for sharing them. They made my day.

  8. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    Another beautiful set, and it was worth waiting for.

  9. Posted January 1, 2017 at 11:22 am | Permalink

    love the mountain plus the flock of birds above it.. Kudos

  10. RossR
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    Particularly like the rabbit whose shadow is a duck.

  11. Mike
    Posted January 2, 2017 at 6:31 am | Permalink

    Those Landscapes are stunning, given me an idea for my next Art attempt.


