Readers’ wildlife photos

An end-of-the-year reminder: please keep sending in your good wildlife photos, as I can never have too many!

Since September I’ve been posting photos from reader Benjamin Taylor’s odyssey to Africa. Here’s the last batch, all of which were sent in September. His captions are indented:

Last month I went on a camping trip around southern Africa (Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, and Zambia) and took quite a few photographs.

Grey heron (Ardea cinerea), Chobe National Park, Botswana:

africa-0326

Hippopotamus – probably the Cape hippopotamus (Hippopotamus amphibius capensis), Chobe National Park, Botswana:

africa-0335

africa-0346

Wire-tailed swallows (Hirundo smithii) hitching a ride on our boat:

africa-0340

Dragonfly (species unknown), Zimbabwe:

africa-0349

Vervet monkey (Chlorocebus pygerythrus), Zimbabwe:

africa-0350

Victoria Falls (or Mosi-oa-Tunya ‘the Smoke that Thunders’), viewed from the Zimbabwean side:

africa-0355

africa-0359

africa-0373

africa-0374

africa-0378

africa-0382

africa-0399

africa-0404

14 Comments

  1. Christopher
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 10:01 am | Permalink

    I was unaware that there were any subspecies of hippo (I was aware of the 2 accepted species), but the wikipedia link states there are 5, based on morphology and geographic range. Ever mindful of the arguments for and against the notion of subspecies, and recalling the discussions surrounding the lumping/splitting of the giraffe species recently discussed here on WEIT, I was wondering if anyone could either back up or refute the morphs-geographic basis for these subspecies with genetic evidence. The wiki article only briefly mentions a study of mDNA of some populations of some of the supposed subspecies, but the study is 11 years old.

    Great pics, btw, especially the swallows.

  2. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 11:12 am | Permalink

    An amazing series of pictures! The dragonfly looks like it may be the Orange-winged dropwing (Trithemis kirbyi).

  3. Andrea Kenner
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 11:42 am | Permalink

    I love the waterfall pictures!

  4. Posted December 31, 2016 at 11:44 am | Permalink

    I have a great pelican picture I’d like to send in. How do I do that? Email?

    • Posted December 31, 2016 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

      Google my name and university, and my university email address will come up; use that one.

  5. Gregory Kusnick
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

    “The Smoke that Thunders”: if Zimbabwe ever becomes a marijuana exporter, they have a great catchphrase ready-made.

    • Mark R.
      Posted December 31, 2016 at 1:51 pm | Permalink

      I first read this on another thread. Now it makes sense! And a good one at that 🙂

  6. Heather Hastie
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all your pics Benjamin. Thank you!

    • Mark R.
      Posted December 31, 2016 at 1:51 pm | Permalink

      I’m with Heather. Thanks!

  7. aldoleopold
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    Gorgeous waterfall jpegs!

  8. Posted December 31, 2016 at 3:11 pm | Permalink

    I loved Victoria Falls. Never saw so many rainbows. However, the soaking mist did kill one of my cameras.

  9. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted December 31, 2016 at 10:04 pm | Permalink

    The pics of the falls – I almost used all-caps – all I can think of is how exhilarating it must have been! By the way Happy New Year in 56 minutes!

  10. Mike
    Posted January 1, 2017 at 6:49 am | Permalink

    Looking at the Hippo pictures, its hard to believe they are one of the most dangerous animals in Africa.

  11. Posted January 3, 2017 at 9:05 am | Permalink

    Benjamin:

    We are thinking of visiting southern Africa. I am mainly thinking of Zambia. But I am also considering Botswana (I have read all of the Ladies’ No. 1 Detective Agency novels …)

    If you were to pick one country, which one would it be, and why?

    Thanks!


