Snow in Chicago!

The weather people report that it snowed about six inches here last night, and it’s started again. We didn’t get that much in Hyde Park, being next to Lake Michigan, but it’s still enough to beautify the campus.

Before. This is the arch that connects my building with the Anatomy Building (home of Neil Shubin and others). Incoming students are told that the three gargoyles ascending the arch represent the first three years of college (freshman, sophomore, junior), while the gargoyle at the summit are successfully graduating seniors. This was taken when the sky began getting overcast yesterday afternoon.

img_0202

After: this morning. The gargoyles are cold. 

img_0259

14 Comments

  1. Randall Schenck
    Posted December 11, 2016 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    We have a gargoyle in the yard but it’s just a place for the squirrels to climb. I suspect they have graduated.

  2. rickflick
    Posted December 11, 2016 at 8:45 am | Permalink

    Looking at Google Earth, this appears to be Hull Gate. Google’s images were taken in autumn so the stonework and gargoyles are covered with ivy. There are several nice photos included of the gate without ivy.
    The snow is not deep…yet.

  3. dougeast
    Posted December 11, 2016 at 9:00 am | Permalink

    Was now curious to see the gate (Cobb Gate I believe) fully dressed in green. Thought others might as well. http://tinyurl.com/zfcz8ma

  4. George
    Posted December 11, 2016 at 9:32 am | Permalink

    I am in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. We got 3-4″ (8-10cm) of snow overnight. Light fluffy stuff. It is not snowing right now. Supposed to start again around 1pm and go to 8pm with the heaviest falling between 3 and 6pm. PCC(e) will get that about an hour later. We are supposed to get another 1-3″ (3 – 8cm) this afternoon. I think NYC and the northeast are supposed to get more tomorrow.

    Chicago does not get lake effect snow. The east shore of Lake Michigan (western Michigan) gets that. Buffalo, Cleveland and areas east have already gotten two feet of lake effect snow with another foot on the way.

    I am thinking about going outside and clearing the snow that has already fallen. So far, I am still in the thinking phase. I could use some sage advice from Hili at this point. Something like go back to bed.

    Slight correction to PCC(e). The University of Chicago has first year students, second, third and fourth. Not freshmen, sophomores, etc. Kind of weird about that.

    • Diane G.
      Posted December 12, 2016 at 12:35 am | Permalink

      Snow is up to my knees here in Kalamazoo County, SW MI.

      • rickflick
        Posted December 12, 2016 at 6:56 am | Permalink

        I got a gal
        (In Kalamazoo)
        Don’t want to boast but I know she’s the toast of
        (Kalamazoo, zoo, zoo, zoo, zoo, zoo)

        Years have gone by
        (My my, how she grew)
        I liked her looks when I carried her books in
        (Kalamazoo zoo, zoo, zoo, zoo)

        Up to her knees
        (in lake effect snow)
        I loved how she danced how lightly she pranced in
        (Kalamazoo zoo, zoo, zoo, zoo)

        • Diane G.
          Posted December 12, 2016 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

          Ha ha ha!

          Make “how lightly she pranced” “how dourly she slogged.”

  5. Diana MacPherson
    Posted December 11, 2016 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    The snow is on it’s way here & should arrive tonight then taper off in the morning (I was hoping for a snow day now that I work somewhere that has them but no dice).

    I hope it doesn’t bring a migraine. Changing weather last week knocked me on my ass with nausea (I took medicine that stopped the head pain).

  6. Posted December 11, 2016 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    They look like they are really grotesques; gargoyles are those that cover the drains and through which water flows.

  7. rickflick
    Posted December 11, 2016 at 4:48 pm | Permalink

    There are a set of videos at the above mentioned site (architecture.uchicago.edu) that give a great tour of the campus buildings. I found the one on Landscape Architecture very interesting. It describes the philosophy of design that went into the grounds. Several views of Cobb Gate and a glimpse of Hull Gate appear.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9KbJz6LBjs

    The University of Chicago must be one of the most beautiful campuses in the country.


