Tuesday: Hili dialogue

It’s December 6, National Gazpacho Day—a toothsome soup. It’s also Independence Day in Finland, celebrating its independence from Russia in 1917. On this day in 1768, the first edition of the Encyclopædia Britannica was published. 97 years later, the Thirteenth Amendment of the Constitution, banning slavery, was ratified. On December 6, 1933, a federal judge ruled that James Joyce’s Ulysses was not obscene. And, exactly 20 years later, Vladimir Nabokov completed his excellent (but controversial) novel Lolita. 

Notables born on this day include Ira Gershwin (1896), Baby Face Nelson (1908), Dave Brubeck (1920), and JoBeth Williams (1948, ♥). Those who died on this day include Jefferson Davis (1889), Honus Wagner (1955; as a kid, he used to throw baseballs against my great-grandmother’s outhouse), B. R. Ambedkar (1956), and Roy Orbison (1988).  Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, the former lodgers, including their lovely daughter Hania, have come to visit Malgorzata, Andrzej, Hili, and Cyrus. Here Hania shares a tender moment with the cat:

Hili: Go and conquer the world!
Hania: First, the backyard.
15300528_1156214531113228_18650495_n
 In Polish:

Hili: Idź i zdobywaj świat!
Hania: Najpierw podwórko.

As usual, there’s snow in Winnipeg. Reader Taskin built a snow cat in the image of Gus (except its ears are longer), and Gus posed next to it.

img_6318

img_6320

9 Comments

  1. bluemaas
    Posted December 6, 2016 at 7:13 am | Permalink

    06 December y1989, 14 more died: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89cole_Polytechnique_massacre#/media/File:Mtl_dec6_plaque.jpg. These people died this day a mere 27 years ago for one reason. And for that reason only.

    An ordinary Wednesday perhaps it was because the thinking / the motive as of this murdering man’s is still outrageously quite a norm: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89cole_Polytechnique_massacre. Still.

    So … … one more 06 December – time again, our flag hangs this day at half – mast. I know of nothing more to do: this thinking just does not ever go away.

    Blue

    • Christopher
      Posted December 6, 2016 at 7:44 am | Permalink

      I was just 11 at the time, so I’d never heard of this. Acts such as this is why I despise the whole “mens rights” crap, which I fear may act as fuel for similar situations.

      • gravelinspector-Aidan
        Posted December 6, 2016 at 10:33 am | Permalink

        I was just 11 at the time, so I’d never heard of this.

        How did that work? Did your parents prevent you from watching the TV news, listening to the radio news, reading the newspapers? You having a country with large amounts of weapons in private ownership, weren’t there warnings and drills in your school?
        Age of 11 … I remember the summer of drought (we never had the water turned off, but the standpipe was erected in the street in preparation and Dad had us drilling in filling our appropriate containers and the physical graft of bringing the full containers back to the house). Summer of Punk. One of my school friends (well, a classmate) got the shit kicked out of him for being non-white. I think it was a year or two before the Hungerford massacre.

        • Christopher
          Posted December 6, 2016 at 11:48 am | Permalink

          No, I wasn’t prevented from watching the news, we didn’t take the newspaper, but I was 11, so my interests were elsewhere. I spent my time running around in the woods and creek, and only engaged with the news by accident. I wasn’t a very aware child anyway, atleast of much beyond my toys, my friends, and the woods. I’ve had plenty of time to be horrified and disappointed by the world since then, so I’m grateful for that brief time of blissful ignorance.

    • Diane G.
      Posted December 6, 2016 at 9:04 pm | Permalink

      Thank you for adding that, Blue.

  2. Christopher
    Posted December 6, 2016 at 7:14 am | Permalink

    Two books I’ve never been able to finish. Ulysses because I was constantly confused, Lolita because I was constantly creeped out. Which is a shame as I adore Joyce’s short stories and I’m really fond of how Nabokov weaves bits of scientific study into his novels and characters. I assume I’m not the only one here who’s had similar issues?

    • allison
      Posted December 6, 2016 at 7:32 am | Permalink

      I had no problem with Lolita (it’s not explicit anywhere, as I recall). Despite its controversial reputation I really see its main theme as being paranoia and madness, but it has been 15 or 20 years since I read it.

      I’ve had a copy of Ulysses for 15 years but haven’t had the nerve to start on it yet 🙂

      • Christopher
        Posted December 6, 2016 at 7:41 am | Permalink

        It may not have been explicit, but it was very vivid. I was even a bit bothered by checking it out of the library, mostly I guess because I’m a guy in his late 30’s and as is my anxiety-warped tendency, I got stuck in the mindset that people would assume I was reading it because I was a pervert (nobody said anything, but they don’t have to with my particular disorder). Anyway, maybe I’ll give them both another go…eventually.

  3. busterggi
    Posted December 6, 2016 at 11:41 am | Permalink

    Gazpacho – I just can’t wrap my head around the idea of cold soup.


