The Bubble: A safe space for all traumatized progressives

I’m sure that Lorne Michaels and the cast of Saturday Night Live are all liberals. Nevertheless, they were self-confident enough to make fun of the mentality of those liberals who wept and wailed when Trump was elected, saying that he was either “not our President” or vowing to leave the U.S. (I don’t think anyone has left over this yet.) Here’s a sketch they did after the election, laying out the world that many of us long for now. The details of this sketch are perfect, down to the Ta-Nehisi Coates book.

As one commenter on the YouTube video said, “This is Portland, Oregon. I know, I live here.”

h/t: Charleen

30 Comments

  1. Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    Happy Trumpsgiving everyone, and may Paul Ryan bless us all!

  2. ploubere
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:26 am | Permalink

    One can dream.

  3. Historian
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:32 am | Permalink

    SNL’s skit is really old news. For some time now Americans have been voluntarily migrating into their own metaphorical ideological bubbles. People are simply happier associating with people like themselves. This self-created political segregation seems to be reflected in the urban-rural divide of the last election.

    I ask myself if I could de-age myself into a young, single person, would I date a conservative? I fear that the answer would be no. Just as I could never date a religious person, I think my relationship with a conservative would be unsustainable. I’m not particularly happy I feel this way, but my view that conservatives believe in the antithesis of almost everything I believe in is why I am as I am. Apparently, some “mixed” couples can get along by simply avoiding talk on this topic, but such a relationship would not work for me.

    http://www.alternet.org/culture/americans-are-increasingly-segregating-themselves-ideological-enclaves

    • Randall Schenck
      Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

      I’m not so sure it is as bad as you think. It’s not so good but when you “de-age” yourself you have to also think as you did when much younger. I can only give myself as an example.

      Many years ago I did a bit of time in the military – around 18 to 22 years of age. Lots of friends and people I knew, both male and female. So then 40 to 45 years later I come across some of these same people. At first it is like old home week but soon, with more dialogue and communication I find that many of these people, I really do not like or want to even communicate with or be around. I stop and think, many years ago these were my friends, some of them pretty close friends. But now…what a change. Can’t really figure it out but I think the age difference it a big cause. And by that I mean, my interests and communication with these other people at say, 20 years old is totally different than at 60 or 66 years old.

      So likely when you think of yourself back at that much younger age you also have to think of what your values and thinking was at that time. Likely you may have found yourself close to a pretty right wing type and not even known it.

  4. DrBrydon
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:33 am | Permalink

    The comedian George Lopez maintains that he is still planning to leave, and is in escrow on a house.

  5. BobTerrace
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:36 am | Permalink

    Suspected Colombian drug lord extradited to South Florida.

    Henry Lopez Londono will now be appointed by president-elect T rump to head the DEA. “He is one of the most knowledgeable people” said small-fisted Donald.

  6. colnago80
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:36 am | Permalink

    I hate to disagree with Prof. Ceiling Cat but the evidence so far seems to indicate that the incoming Trump administration is looking to be a disaster.

    What’s most disturbing is the type of persons being appointed to positions in the incoming administration. The national security nominees are particularly frightening. Flynn Mattis and Pompeo are certifiable. Then there are the nominations of racists Sessions and Bannon.

    However, yesterday it started to get even worse with the nomination of Betsy DeVos as education secretary, which I commented on yesterday. For all intents and purposes, DeVos, favors prioritization of the elementary and secondary school systems in the US.

    I see no rational reason for optimism here.

    • BobTerrace
      Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:54 am | Permalink

      Did you mean privatization instead of prioritization?

      • colnago80
        Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:45 pm | Permalink

        Yes, picked the wrong choice in Firefox spellcheck.

    • Rita
      Posted November 24, 2016 at 11:55 am | Permalink

      I didn’t see anything in this post or the SNL sketch that contradicts your take on the Trump administration.

    • Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:20 pm | Permalink

      Umm. . . . I’ve said repeatedly that the Trump administration will be a disaster. I can prove that in two words alone: Supreme Court. Where on Earth do you get the idea that I thought the Trump administration would be okay?

      Please point me to those posts.

      It does behoove us, sometimes, to make fun of ourselves, which is what this post is about.

      • colnago80
        Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

        Judging by the appointments of the likes of Bannon, Sessions, DeVos, Flynn, Mattis and Pompeo, I shudder to think what his appointments to the SCOTUS will be like.

      • Randall Schenck
        Posted November 24, 2016 at 1:24 pm | Permalink

        Yes, not only make fun of ourselves but to point out the overreactions of others. That is far from anointing a buffoon.

        • Jim Swetnam
          Posted November 25, 2016 at 10:13 am | Permalink

          Overreactions? Like believing that Trump could ever be elected President?

  7. Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

    Maybe we’ll get the results of a “brain drain” here like we did during the Vietnam war. Of course, people made these promises at the Bush II election, so …

    • Michiel
      Posted November 25, 2016 at 7:26 am | Permalink

      I think we are already witnessing the results of a brain drain😉

  8. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

    Yes, I saw this and expected Jerry would enjoy it too. I liked the look of the black actress after the the guy said ‘we don’t see color here’.

  9. Mark Reaume
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 12:45 pm | Permalink

    Link for Canadians (and probably others):
    http://www.globaltv.com/saturdaynightlive/video/clips/the-bubble/video.html?v=813642819985

    • Gabriel
      Posted November 24, 2016 at 1:29 pm | Permalink

      “Sorry, playback is unavailable. This content can only be viewed from within Canada.”😦

      • Mark Reaume
        Posted November 24, 2016 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

        Sorry, but at least I feel special.

      • Posted November 24, 2016 at 4:45 pm | Permalink

        Last time I checked I wasn’t in Canada and am still seeing the video.

      • Diana MacPhersonq
        Posted November 24, 2016 at 8:00 pm | Permalink

        I think you mean within the US. I can’t see it and I’m in Canada.

  10. Merilee
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 2:16 pm | Permalink

    Sub

  11. Gamall
    Posted November 24, 2016 at 3:14 pm | Permalink

    “The uploader has not made this video available in your country [FR].”

    Riveting.😐

    • W.Benson
      Posted November 24, 2016 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

      Do they consider us subhumans? (:()

  12. Posted November 24, 2016 at 9:34 pm | Permalink

    The idea that liberals can live within a bubble is totally unrealistic: to create a completely safe space, they would have to make separate bubbles for people of color, women, LGBT (possibly separate bubble for each letter), and possibly additional bubbles for any intersections of any oppressed groups.

    • HaggisForBrains
      Posted November 25, 2016 at 5:20 am | Permalink

      Like a 3D Venn diagram?

      • Diane G.
        Posted November 25, 2016 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

        I think it would take more D’s.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

