“You make my dreams come true”

I’ve thought I’d put up this song before, but I can’t seem to find it. At any rate, “You Make My Dreams (Come True)”, first released by Daryl Hall and John Oates in 1980, is one of the great rockers of all time—a great dancing song. Instead of the original (second link), here are two versions performed live on the underrated show “Live from Daryl’s House.” The first version has Mayer Hawthorne sharing lead vocals, the second Kenny Loggins. Be sure to pay attention to Booker T. Washington’s fantastic organ work in the first version (2:04 and 2:56), which I think is marginally better.

Daryl Hall is, like me, a collector of fancy cowboy boots, and you can see some in the second video.

But both videos show that old people can still rock!

8 Comments

  1. Ken Kukec
    Posted November 20, 2016 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    Let’s hear it for blue-eyed soul.

    Now, that’s some old white-people shit even I can get behind.

  2. merilee
    Posted November 20, 2016 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    My kitty, Booker T,. loves it!

  3. Ken Kukec
    Posted November 20, 2016 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

    Jerry – if the cat on organ is Booker T. of the old Stax/Volt house band Booker T & the MGs, his last name is Jones.

    Maybe you’ve confused his name for that of the Up From Slavery author and Tuskegee Institute founder?

  4. Jeff Chamberlain
    Posted November 20, 2016 at 10:06 pm | Permalink

    It is Booker T. Jones on organ. The performance is from “Live From Daryl’s House” episode 43, June 15, 2011.

  5. Frank
    Posted November 21, 2016 at 6:17 am | Permalink

    A fantastic song brilliantly used in the movie 500 Days of Summer https://youtu.be/8tJoIaXZ0rw

  6. darrelle
    Posted November 21, 2016 at 7:39 am | Permalink

    Completely agree that Live From Daryl’s House is under rated. I’ve seen quite a few excellent performances on it, and I don’t even watch it regularly.

    I think my favorite Hall & Oates song is Sarah Smile.

  7. Posted November 21, 2016 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

    Huge Daryl Hall fan here, even though he is a bit before my time. I think that, especially in his earlier years, he had a first-class voice and was an underrated composer of songs. There are so many Hall & Oates songs that make you want to get up and move around!

    Also, I think that Daryl Hall, like Prince, wrote a lot of songs that other artists performed and made famous. I believe that Paul Young’s hit “Everytime You Go Away” was written by Daryl.

  8. keith cook +/-
    Posted November 21, 2016 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    That was good, Hammond B3 organs are something else to the ears.
    If your up for it, try Hall and Oats “Live in Dublin” i have it on DVD great little concert, venue and crowd.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

