Friday: Hili dialogue

by Grania

Good morning! PCC(E) is still feeling the effects of timezone-hopping so I am with you again today.

Today in 1928 Disney released Steamboat Willie which was the first the studio had released with fully synchronized sound. The Jazz Singer had appeared in cinemas the previous year which had pretty much sealed the fate of sound in movies, prompting Disney to produce this short.

In 1978 in rather more grim news, Jim Jones convinced members of his cult to commit suicide – and murder in some cases – in Jonestown, Guyana. Whatever grandiose legacy the madman wished to leave behind him, his legacy appears to be the phrase “drinking the Kool-Aid” which is fitting if nothing else.

It’s Kirk Hammett‘s birthday (1962) today as well. He’s the lead guitarist with Metallica. Here he is on a guitar solo strutting his stuff.

Over in Poland, Hili is still scheming, although I suspect the plans now included maximum comfort as a prerequisite. And he’s still chatting with the lovely actress Gaia Weiss, the daughter of Andrzej’s niece:

Hili: We have to reach as far as possible.
Gaia: And beyond.
(Photo: Gaia)

hilihili

In Polish:

Hili: Musimy sięgać tak daleko jak to możliwe.
Gaia: Albo jeszcze dalej.
(Zdjęcie: Gaia)

Here’s a new Leon:

Leon: And they are not trimming its claws!

leon-cactus

And in keeping with the solemn tone, here is a lagniappe from Twitter. I did not know this was a thing. Apparently it is.

Finally, we have Gus. Out in frigid Winnipeg, he’s sleeping away the cold winter days:

img_6244

16 Comments

  1. Dominic
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 6:41 am | Permalink

    That’s my mate Lindsey with the cat hats!🙂

    I thought Steamboat Willie was an STD…

    There is a really good song by The Almighty, Jonestown Mind…

  2. Christopher
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 7:16 am | Permalink

    I was a fan of Metallica in high school, but after their black album they really went downhill. I then spent my 20’s refusing all metal in favor of classic rock, blues, and folk, then jam bands. In some strange way, however, I’ve learned that blasting Iron Maiden in the car has helped me cope with our impending presidential doom in a way that Yo Yo Ma or Arthur Rubinstein, both recent favorites, just can’t.

    • Alpha Neil
      Posted November 18, 2016 at 8:33 am | Permalink

      After the black album I started referring to them as “the band formerly known as Metallica”. I guess that makes me a snob. Didn’t expect to see Metallica referenced here so it’s a pleasant surprise.

      Lately, it’s been the on-two punch of “One Gun” and “Break You” by Lamb of God that’s been damaging my hearing when current events start getting to me. I doubt many here have heard it or will care to listen but here’s the gist of “Break You”

      “You taught me hate, I’ll teach you fear
      Open the eyes, kill despair
      You tried to squeeze the life from me
      Son of a bitch, I’m going to break you”

      I won’t quote One Gun because I don’t want the Secret Service at my house.

      • Christopher
        Posted November 18, 2016 at 5:02 pm | Permalink

        For me, the morning after the election it was Can I Play With Madness by Iron Maiden that was stuck in my head, for the title, of course, but also lyrics like:

        “Give me the strength to hold my head up
        Spit back in their face
        Don’t need no key to unlock this door
        Gonna break down the walls
        Break out of this bad place”

        It’s not a great fit, but it works.

    • darrelle
      Posted November 18, 2016 at 10:29 am | Permalink

      I’ve been wondering for years if I was going to outgrow my taste for the hard stuff. Hasn’t happened yet. I’m not even sure if my tastes have broadened. As long as I can remember I’ve enjoyed at least some music from nearly any genre. And I still like the hard stuff, older, newer and in between. From Anthrax to Vagina Panther.

      • Christopher
        Posted November 18, 2016 at 5:17 pm | Permalink

        I quit metal for many years, mostly looking for some gritty folk early Dylan, Seeger, Guthrie feel and sound, with plenty of Mississippi John Hurt and Howlin’ Wolf thrown in. Who knows why, but it rang true at the time, still does actually. But for pure rage, uncontrolled energy I need screeching wailing pounding hard rock/metal, even if I feel a bit disconnected to the teen that was the target audience I once was. I have expanded my interests, but I’ve kept plenty at my core as well. I doubt I’ll ever get tired of Led Zep, Sabbath, GnR, early Aerosmith, Maiden, Megadeth and others. I just spice it up with some Chopin Nocturns, Jacques Brel, Ali Farka Touré, and much more. Still, I love metal in the same way I love old sic-fi and monster films. In fact, they compliment each other wonderfully.

  3. Randall Schenck
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    It’s the only thing to do Gus. And Leon is looking quite well. The first blast of winter has arrived here in the Midwest today. So we go from 75 yesterday to maybe 40 today and lots of wind. It is this time of year when California does not look so crowded or expensive.

  4. Charlie Jones
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    Hello Grania,

    I always enjoy your posts. Any possibility that you’d contribute regularly even when Jerry is 100% available?

    Charlie

  5. Posted November 18, 2016 at 9:00 am | Permalink

    May I recommend the guitar playing of Steve Howe? He is one of my guitar player heroes.

    I used to be able to play Mood for a Day (must practice that one back up …)

    Here he is playing two if his famous fingerstyle peices: Clap and Mood for a Day

    This man can really play. Formerly the main guitarist for the group Yes.

    I can say from personal experience that playing this sort of thing is much harder on an acoustic guitar than on an electric guitar.

    • Posted November 18, 2016 at 9:04 am | Permalink

      He plays Francisco Tárrega’s “Arada” as a prelude to “Mood for a Day”.

    • Christopher
      Posted November 18, 2016 at 5:38 pm | Permalink

      Yes, you may recommend! When I listen to/watch someone who has such control over their guitar like Howe has, I just die a bit inside. I have such dumb, clumsy fingers. I have never been able to master even a slight resemblance to a proper fingerpicking style. Might as well use my damn feet for all the good it does me. I even had a few lessons and tips from a guy who used to pal around with Leo Kottke but I’ll be damned if anything stuck.

  6. jaxkayaker
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    Coincidentally, but perhaps not randomly coincidentally, a new Metallica album is being released today.

  7. gluonspring
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 9:21 am | Permalink

    Thanks.

  8. Vaal
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    Even though I was young in the 90’s I always wondered why Metallica was so hyped.

    That “guitar solo” leaves me still wondering.
    (And jeeze, he couldn’t have tuned the guitar?).

  9. rickflick
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    Shouldn’t Tugboat Willy have a disclaimer – no animals were harmed during the making…?
    And it should rate PG due to chewing tobacco use.

  10. AdamK
    Posted November 18, 2016 at 2:42 pm | Permalink

    Gus needs a hat made from his own hair to protect the remainder of his ears when he goes out in wintry weather.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

