A Cubs win for Doug Schemske

If you know the terrific evolutionary botanist Doug Schemske, a very old friend of mine (and I use “old” in both senses, since he’s constantly emphasizing his age), you’ll know he isn’t given to displays of emotion. So it was unusual, but not unexpected, for him to send me this picture yesterday. After all, he grew up in Chicago and has been a lifelong Cubs fan.

cubs-2016

The caption in the email was “Frank is happy.” (Frank is Doug’s alter ego: a working-class male who yells at kids who step on his lawn.)

And I have to say that Frank is rarely happy!

5 Comments

  1. Dominic
    Posted November 4, 2016 at 7:47 am | Permalink

    Yes – they won as soon as YOU left town!🙂

    • Dominic
      Posted November 4, 2016 at 7:52 am | Permalink

      PS why does alter ego Frank not put up a fence to keep the children off the grass? Or a thorny hedge… Walking on grass doesn’t hurt it anyway!

      Trump is looking for fence contractors…😦

      • dabertini
        Posted November 4, 2016 at 8:25 am | Permalink

        As a kid, I could never understand why adults got so upset about kids going on their front lawns. As an adult, I still do not. I love it when kids trample my front lawn. It probably means they are playing. Something they do not do enough of. Nonetheless, congratulations cub fans!! You rightly deserve the world series championship. And I am genuinely happy for you.

  2. robin
    Posted November 4, 2016 at 8:52 am | Permalink

    I’m happy for you Frank! (and your imaginary friend Doug)

  3. Diane G.
    Posted November 4, 2016 at 8:51 pm | Permalink

    And what a win it was!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

