Monday: Hili dialogue

It’s Monday, October 17, 2016, and National Pasta Day! Hooray! On this day in 1888, Thomas Edison was awarded the patent for the first motion picture machine, and, in 1814, a brewery accident killed eight people in The Great London Beer Flood. In 1931, Al Capone was convicted of income tax evasion, and two years later Albert Einstein fled from Nazi Germany to the U.S.  And, on this date in 1979, Mother Teresa was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for opposing birth control, thereby allowing many Indians to suffer privation, as well as for her refusal to ease the suffering of her “patients”.

Notables born on this day include Rita Hayworth (1919), Montgomery Clift (1920), Margot Kidder (1948♥), and Wyclef Jean (1969, see here for a rousing performance with Shakira). Those who died on this day include Frédéric Chopin (1849) and Tennessee Ernie Ford (1991).  Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili is still ticked off at the Polish government, who haven’t yet finished with their attempts to totally ban abortion.

Hili: The politicians are more and more pious.
A: Quite the opposite to the rest of the society.
In Polish:
Hili: Politycy są coraz bardziej pobożni.
Ja: Zupełnie odwrotnie niż reszta społeczeństwa.
And, from reader jsp, a cat’s Cone of Shame is transformed into an empowering statement. I have a sinking feeling that this was Photoshopped, which considerably reduces its value.
Finally, I voted this morning by absentee ballot, as I’ll be in Hong Kong on election day. Rest assured that I didn’t vote for a single Republican (or non-Democrat). When Clinton wins, I expect every piker who has bet me out of fear to cough up.


  1. geckzilla
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 6:41 am | Permalink

    When Clinton loses? Uh oh.

    • Posted October 17, 2016 at 6:51 am | Permalink

      Saw that, too. I think he meant when Trump loses, unless I’m confused, which is possible.

      • Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:02 am | Permalink

        No, it was an early morning typo, now fixed.

        • dabertini
          Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:03 am | Permalink


          • Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:12 am | Permalink

            I saw “win Clinton loses” in my RSS feed this morning and it freaked me out! Thanks for fixing it so quickly. Whew!

  2. GBJames
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:02 am | Permalink


  3. Christopher
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:11 am | Permalink

    “see here for a rousing performance with Shakira” Oh, the difference a space makes. Hello mind…Hello gutter.

  4. SA Gould
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:19 am | Permalink

    Cat not photoshopped! Just a more artistically drawn version. Do a goodle search of “cats with drawn expressions on paper”

  5. Billy Bl.
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 7:36 am | Permalink

    You better deliver that in person. The election is rigged, and the Post Office is in on it.

    • eric
      Posted October 17, 2016 at 1:25 pm | Permalink

      I read an op-ed earlier today that noted that Trump’s now going full-bore conspiracy theory. Guess his prior anti-Semitic dogwhistles to white supremacists weren’t YUGE enough.

      As for the election, I’ll be voting day of. My voting area tends to have short lines, but the real driver is that my kid is coincidentally off school that day, so its either take the day off or pay someone. Might as well do the former, take my kid, and make a lazy late morning out of it.

  6. Posted October 17, 2016 at 8:00 am | Permalink

    I’m voting later this week.

  7. AdamK
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 8:02 am | Permalink

    You got free postage on your ballot? Here in Republican-controlled Ohio I had to pay 90 cents. It was heavy card stock with an inner and outer envelope.

  8. Randall Schenck
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 8:13 am | Permalink

    Tennessee Ernie Ford and all you pea pickers. Never did understand that. All those who bet you in fear? Sorry, I was thinking of another word.

  9. Ken Kukec
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    Jeez, Jerry, if Ms. Hayworth’s scandalous one-black-glove striptease in Gilda ain’t enough to earn her a parenthetical heart, what’s a gal gotta do?

  10. tubby
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 8:39 am | Permalink

    I thought betting against Clinton was like insurance she would win.

    Later this month I’ll be paying a visit to my local firehouse to cast my own early ballot. No reason to wait and risk being caught in a crowd all day waiting for my turn.

  11. Teresa Carson
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 8:59 am | Permalink

    In-person voting in Lawrence, Kansas, begins tomorrow at the courthouse. Looking forward to my part in saving the country from perdition.

  12. jeremy pereira
    Posted October 17, 2016 at 9:38 am | Permalink

    Vote early, vote often.

  13. Posted October 17, 2016 at 10:56 am | Permalink

    I will cough up my dough with much pleasure when Trump loses.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

