Coynefest tomorrow

A final reminder that everyone is invited to CoyneFest, which is a symposium at which my former students, colleagues, and other folks I know will give short (20-minute) science talks, mostly on the subject of speciation. The details have already been given (you can find them here), but I wanted to add that you’ll have the chance, for making a very small donation to charity (Doctors Without Borders) to get a commemorative button, designed by artist Tubby Fleck:

coynefest-buttons

16 Comments

  1. moleatthecounter
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 6:11 pm | Permalink

    3000 (or so) miles away sadly! I would love to buy a button though! (And attend of course…)

  2. Posted October 13, 2016 at 6:54 pm | Permalink

    Sorry to miss this gathering which is in a good cause — paying tribute to Jerry’s good influence on evolutionary biology and areas beyond.

  3. tubby
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 6:59 pm | Permalink

    I just drew the cat. Didn’t Su design and make the buttons?

    • Posted October 13, 2016 at 7:14 pm | Permalink

      I am under instructions to mention ONLY Tubby Fleck!

      • tubby
        Posted October 13, 2016 at 7:30 pm | Permalink

        OH. Wait, is that because I declined to add any kind of signature?

  4. DrBrydon
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    Have a great day, Jerry!

  5. dabertini
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 7:23 pm | Permalink

    Wish i could be there to celebrate with you, but i will definitely make a donation.

  6. Glenda
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 7:38 pm | Permalink

    Very special day. Enjoy every minute. Just love the buttons.

  7. Robert Bate
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 8:02 pm | Permalink

    I wanna haz retirement button. How can haz?

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted October 14, 2016 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

      I am sure that the traditional methods of bribery and corruption will rise to the task. What Coyne you pay in (sorry!) is not so clear, but over-ordering is a racing certainty.

  8. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 9:06 pm | Permalink

    Enjoy your party.
    Get a new hole punched in the belt, and a month’s worth of gym bookings to work it off.

  9. Christopher
    Posted October 13, 2016 at 9:17 pm | Permalink

    I’m only 8 miserable hours away but due to my perpetual poverty, I cannot attend. I do so wish I could. But, they do say “never meet your heroes” but then, I did meet Dawkins, and he was great, so maybe whoever “they” are, they just needed better heroes.

    Have a grand time!

    • Dominic
      Posted October 14, 2016 at 3:45 am | Permalink

      šŸ˜¦ & I have no passport…

  10. somer
    Posted October 14, 2016 at 1:12 am | Permalink

    Congratulations – looks like an amazing program

  11. barn owl
    Posted October 14, 2016 at 6:50 am | Permalink

    Enjoy your special day and celebration, PCC(E)!

    The buttons are super-kyuuto!


