Friday: Hili dialogue

It’s Friday, October 7, 2016, and I’m in Pittsburgh, soon to head out to Frank Lloyd Wright’s masterpiece of home architecture: Fallingwater. The Freedom From Religion Foundation has offered that as an excursion, and as speaker I get to go! (The last time I spoke at the FFRF, it was in Hartford and we got to tour Mark Twain’s house.) I believe some of us are meeting at the hotel bar today at 4 p.m.

It’s National Frappe Day, and for non-Americans a “frappe” is a milkshake (milk, ice cream, and syrup), but it’s only called that in New England. In other places it can be an iced coffee drink, sometimes with ice cream, like my grandmother used to make.

On this day in history, Uppsala University was inaugurated in Sweden in 1477; can you name a famous early biologist who taught there? On October 7, 1868, Cornell University also began operations, and as a purely secular school. The GDR (East Germany) was formed on this day in 1949, and one year later Mother Teresa’s order of nuns began in India.

Notables born on this day include Joe Hill (1879), Heinrich Himmler (1900), Desmond Tutu (1931), Harry Kroto (1939), Oliver North (1943), Yo-Yo Ma (1955), and Tim Minchin (1975). Those who died on this day include Edgar Allen Poe (1849), Christy Mathewson (1925), and Irving Penn (2009). Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili decides to imitate Jesus, except that the staff is providing the loaves and fishes:

Hili: We came and you petted us, and now it’s time to feed us.
A: I’m afraid I do not have a choice.
In Polish:
Hili: Przyszliśmy i pogłaskałeś nas, a teraz pora nas nakarmić.
Ja: Obawiam się, że nie mam innego wyboru.

Lagniappe: a cat attack a plush tiger. Look at that wicked right paw!



  1. somer
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:35 am | Permalink

    Sheesh what a bad tempered cat

  2. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:38 am | Permalink

    Errrmmm. …off the top of my head and with 5 cc coffee: I guess Svedberg, or… Porath. I have a feeling they don’t count though.

  3. Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:40 am | Permalink

    SERMON ON THE LAP! Genius.

    And kitty pak sau!

  4. somer
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:48 am | Permalink

    Regarding early biologist at Uppsala – Carolus Linnaeus in the 18th Century at 23 in I think 1730
    Im sure Fallingwater would be a very memorable experience

    • jaxkayaker
      Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:57 am | Permalink

      Beat me to it. Originally known as Carl von Linné, he founded modern taxonomy and binomial nomenclature.

      • Torbjörn Larsson
        Posted October 7, 2016 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

        I have the pleasure to try for my 2nd MSc, in Bioinformatics, at the haunts of Carl Nilsson Linnæus (lat. Carolus Linnæus; ennobled Carl von Linné, lat. Carolus a Linné) in my old alma mater of Uppsala University.

        Big Biology meets Big Data…

  5. busterggi
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:57 am | Permalink

    And that is why no tigers come near that cat’s territory.

  6. jaxkayaker
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 6:58 am | Permalink

    Enjoy Fallingwater. I visited years ago. It is beautiful.

  7. GBJames
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 7:15 am | Permalink

    Pittsburgh reminds me of my home town. They are about the same size. They both have three rivers that converge. Both have blue collar working class histories. Falling water is nearby here, but we have a Wright home in my neighborhood in MKE and, of course, Taliesan is not far away.

    Pittsburgh doesn’t have Milwaukee’s great virtue, however, Lake Michigan.

  8. Posted October 7, 2016 at 7:35 am | Permalink

    Carl Linnea, n’est pas?

  9. rickflick
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 7:53 am | Permalink

    Checking the map location of Fallingwater, I see it is 150 miles south of Pittsburgh, adjacent to State Game Lands 51. Area 51 is believed to be top secret. Keep your eyes open for any unusually designed birds overhead. Do not pick up green hitch hikers.

    Fallingwater is on my bucket list.

    • Hempenstein
      Posted October 7, 2016 at 8:10 am | Permalink

      More like 50mi SE of the burgh.

      • rickflick
        Posted October 7, 2016 at 12:03 pm | Permalink

        Thanks for the correction. I misread the map’s scale marker. Must have been a recessive decimal in there somewhere.

  10. W.Benson
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 8:51 am | Permalink

    I didn’t recognize the name of Joe Hill. Now I do.

  11. Posted October 7, 2016 at 9:01 am | Permalink

    I believe that it is also Have Coffee with a Cop day; not sure it is national but it is in Colorado.

  12. charlize
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 9:18 am | Permalink

    It looks like it was a left hook, rather, that almost had the tiger down for the count.

  13. Flemur
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 10:32 am | Permalink

    Cat vs toy tiger reminded me of “Cat stares down cougar in window”.

  14. Walt Jones
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

    That cat looks like the titular character of Get Fuzzy. I wonder if it’s missing a tooth?

  15. barn owl
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

    Most biologists and anthropologists will tell you that human hands evolved to better manipulate tools. However, Andrzej is demonstrating the real driver: the ability to pet multiple companion animals at the same time.

  16. frednotfaith2
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

    I’ve seen that cat vs. plush tiger video before, still hilarious. I wonder if it’s something about the tiger’s eyes that set off the boxing kitty. Seems rather unusual behavior for a cat but I don’t know if anyone else has seen cats give any real or toy beasts such a thrashing.

  17. Randall Schenck
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

    Hili and friend never forget the staff.

  18. Kevin
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    All of our cats (3) are lefties.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

