True facts about marsupials

The inimitable zefrank1 put this out two years ago, but somehow I missed it. Reader Gregory called it to my attention, and so, without further ado, the TRUE FACTS about pouched mammals:


  1. Ariel Karlinsky
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 3:17 pm | Permalink

    These “True Facts about…” by zrfrank are great videos. it’s a shame he stopped putting these on😦

  2. GBJames
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 3:27 pm | Permalink


  3. Posted October 3, 2016 at 3:38 pm | Permalink

    That had quite a few things I never learned in my 19 years of education in Australia. Thank you, Australian education system. I must say a heartfelt thank you to my teachers.

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted October 4, 2016 at 1:55 am | Permalink

      … for *not* telling you all that? I concur.


  4. Herb Hunter
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 4:31 pm | Permalink

    True facts are, of course, the only kind of facts there are, I feel compelled to point out.

    I enjoyed the video.

  5. Leslie
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:01 pm | Permalink

    That was really cool! I love learning & laughing at the same time. I’m sure that combination guarantees it will be remembered. (Don’t tell me my theory is wrong. I’m happy in my little world 😆)

  6. Jenny Haniver
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:24 pm | Permalink

    I had not known of Ze Frank. He may not be making any more “true facts” videos, but there are 20+ others here to amaze and delight. And lots more wild and crazy, droll material of various sorts on his website He is, as JAC says, “inimitable.” Am so glad to learn of him. That’s my kind of humor.

  7. somer
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

    Great video if a little scatological. I had almost forgotten. We certainly were taught all the stuff about Marsupials in New South Wales (Aust) though the teachers skipped the pre-digested faecal infant meal for koala babies.

  8. ploubere
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 10:50 pm | Permalink

    I laughed and learned some icky stuff. Worth 6 minutes.

  9. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted October 4, 2016 at 1:56 am | Permalink

    True Facts About Marsupials

    … including some I didn’t know and am now doing my best to forget…


  10. David Harper
    Posted October 4, 2016 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    Ze Frank also does the voiceover for the “Dear Kitten” series of commercials, which are very funny, if less educational than his “True Facts” series.

  11. Posted October 4, 2016 at 9:05 am | Permalink


  12. nicky
    Posted October 5, 2016 at 10:33 am | Permalink

    Wonderful video, but most of it is not exactly new.
    I knew about the 2 vaginas, but 3 is completely new to me. How does that work in a bilaterally symmetric animal?
    I also note that despite having 2 vaginas, marsupials like kangaroos have only one baby at a time (correct me if I’m wrong there please).
    And that 2 pronged penis: do they ejaculate simultaneously or do they work independently like in some lizards?
    These early well developed arms, but later even more developed hind legs in kangaroos, how does that work.
    The retroviral DNA that initiates the trophoblast in placentals is supposedly absent in marsupials? Or is there something else going on?
    Why did marsupials not develop hooves? I think the South American notungulates were placentals (?)
    More and more questions, any answers from readers of this website?

  13. Mike
    Posted October 7, 2016 at 8:17 am | Permalink

    Brilliant !

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

