Readers’ wildlife photographs

Stephen Barnard from Idaho sends us some mammals, a bird, and two lovely landscapes:

I’ve been spooking Northern Flickers (Colaptes auratus) all summer. Finally got one to sit still. A bit later it was harassing a Kestrel [Falco sparverius].


Mule deer (Odocoileus hemionus):



Bull moose (Alces alces) in Loving Creek (poor light):


Sunset over the creek:


Bull moose (Alces alces) this morning [Sept. 29]:


Looking north across Loving Creek toward the Wood River Valley.




  1. Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:33 am | Permalink

    Very beautiful, as always Stephen!

    Love the landscapes. Makes me homesick to be back out in the west …

  2. Randall Schenck
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:39 am | Permalink

    Love those deer. Ours here are the white tail but from a distance, not much different than mule deer. One of the amazing things about the deer is their ability to move cross county with little effort. A human doing the same is stopped and slowed by so many things that are absolutely effortless to the amazing deer.

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:44 am | Permalink

      We are slowed because of the lovely landscapes. Though some of us are slowed because we see an interesting bug. I sometimes take 30 minutes to travel 10 feet in the woods.

      • Randall Schenck
        Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:51 am | Permalink

        Certainly. However the deer does not often have that luxury.

  3. Christopher
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:46 am | Permalink

    Your landscapes often leave me feeling cheated. I look longingly at the photos and can’t help but compare them to the decrepit suburb outside my bedroom window or the rundown and decaying city in which I work. That such wonderful places exist still delights me but that I’m am trapped where I am…still, thanks for sharing.

  4. Mark Sturtevant
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 8:46 am | Permalink

    Beautiful landscapes! Maybe the flicker had gotten used to you, letting it return to its normal behavior of harassing the birds of prey.

  5. Mark R.
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

    Beautiful shots, I especially love the Flicker and the 2nd bull moose. What a beast!

  6. aldoleopold
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 9:50 pm | Permalink

    Whew that sunset!

  7. keith cook +/-
    Posted October 3, 2016 at 10:55 pm | Permalink

    Give me land lots of land under starry skies above, don’t fence me in!

    Altogether now! that includes you, moose!

    Nice batch, thanks.

  8. Stephen Barnard
    Posted October 4, 2016 at 2:46 pm | Permalink

    That second moose has the biggest rack I’ve seen here. I’ve been seeing him most mornings, but not close up, yet. The photo was taken through a spotting scope. He was about half a kilometer away.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

