Google honors inventor of the ballpoint pen

Today’s Google Doodle honors the 117th birthday of the Hungarian inventor László József Bíró (1899-1995). From either his name or the Doodle you can guess that he invented the ballpoint pen.


Biró’s story from Wikipedia:

Bíró was born in Budapest, Hungary,[2] in 1899 into a Jewish family. He presented the first production of the ballpoint pen at the Budapest International Fair in 1931.[2] While working as a journalist in Hungary, he noticed that the ink used in newspaper printing dried quickly, leaving the paper dry and smudge-free. He tried using the same ink in a fountain pen but found that it would not flow into the tip, as it was too viscous. Working with his brother György,[1] a chemist, he developed a new tip consisting of a ball that was free to turn in a socket, and as it turned it would pick up ink from a cartridge and then roll to deposit it on the paper. Bíró patented the invention in Paris in 1938.

In 1943 the brothers moved to Argentina. On 10 June they filed another patent, issued in the US as US Patent 2,390,636,[3] and formed Biro Pens of Argentina (in Argentina the ballpoint pen is known as birome). This new design was licensed for production in the United Kingdom for supply to Royal Air Force aircrew, who found they worked much better than fountain pens at high altitude.[4][5]

In 1945 Marcel Bich bought the patent from Bíró for the pen, which soon became the main product of his Bic company.

And from the Torygraph:

The first major buyer of the newly created pen was the Royal Air Force. During the Second World War the organisation ordered 30,000 of the tools, which would work at high altitudes unlike traditional fountain pens. After the war it entered commercial production.

Today, the Bic Cristal biro is the world’s most popular pen. In the US, the price has remarkably stayed the same since 1959 – retailing at 19 cents despite inflation.

In Europe you can still hear these pens called “biros,” but that word is virtually unknown in the U.S., where they’re called ballpoint pens. Here’s an early ad:


And here’s Biró himself:


Now I’ve never liked writing with ballpoint pens. Earlier in my life I loved fountain pens, which made the act of writing a sensuous pleasure, and I eventually worked my way up to the King of Fountain Pens, the Montblanc Meisterstück. (I still have it, but it needs to be repaired.) I also had a Parker 75 in sterling silver. Over the past few years, though, I’ve graduated to the Uni-Ball micropoint pen, a sort of hybrid between ballpoints and fountain pen. The ink dries quickly and it has a very fine point, good for drawing cats in books. I also find that I write almost nothing by hand any more, and so my handwriting has degenerated a bit.

What do you write with?



  1. dougeast
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:28 am | Permalink

    I use a variety of ballpoint pens. However, my favorite these days is the Pilot Varsity disposable fountain pen. Cheap and lots of different colors. I enjoy giving them to friends who invariably say “I can’t remember the last time I used a fountain pen”.

  2. david
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:29 am | Permalink

    Mostly vintage pens. I am grading student work this week with a 1940 Esterbrook and a mid-1920s Conway-Stewart. My general writing is being done with a ten year old Pelikan and a 1929 Sheaffer’s Balance. You are very right about the feel. Old celluloid and ebonite just feel better in the hand than acrylics or modern plastics.
    Interesting post about Mr. Biro. While the price of the Cristal hasn’t changed much there has been a marked drop in durability. When I was in high school I saw a Bic add that featured a hockey player slapping a puck around hard with a Bic embedded in the blade of his stick so the pen hit the puck. It still worked after that punishment and I doubt that a modern Cristal would.

  3. steve oberski
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:33 am | Permalink

    A keyboard.

    Seriously, my handwriting has always been so abysmal that it could not possibly degenerate any more.

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:20 pm | Permalink

      Keyboard for me too.

      I *can* ‘write’ – or rather print – by hand, very neatly and very small, if I want to – for instance if I’m drawing a careful sketch map. But it’s a slow process. If I have to handwrite fast it degenerates into an indescribable mess.

      Oh, favourite pen? Any old ball point so long as it writes easily and, preferably, is skinny and parallel-sided without silly styled rubbery ‘grips’.


  4. tubby
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:37 am | Permalink

    I enjoy using the drier ball point pens for drawing. They can produce a wispy, almost pencil-like quality and are pleasant to do strait to pen sketches and drawings with. Because I can’t spell to save my life I use a computer to write.

  5. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:42 am | Permalink

    As a curmudgeon of Google Doodles I have to say this one is good.

  6. GBJames
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:42 am | Permalink

    I’ve relied on keyboards all of my adult life. My handwriting has always been horrible. I can’t read it myself. I once was yelled at by a service station clerk because they couldn’t read my signature. He basically insulted my parents for having raised such a horrible son. But most people just make a comment about how I could be a doctor.

  7. bric
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:46 am | Permalink

    For formal writing a Faber-Castell roller ball, otherwise I prefer a mechanical pencil, a Pentel Graphgear 1000 with a 2B lead

    • Mark Sturtevant
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:11 am | Permalink

      Interesting. It looks like the Biro invention succeeded above other efforts for reasons that were not entirely predictable.
      This reminds me of different typewriter designs. Various serviceable keyboard designs were around in the 1800’s but the QWERTY design simply caught on (even though a couple others were similarly effective), and here we are today even texting on smartphones with the same pattern of keys.

  8. Dominic
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:48 am | Permalink

    Yes, writing is much less done by hand. I have moved towards pencils, also because occasionally I try to sketch things. If I go to a lecture (public I mean) & want to write notes, it is in pencil. In the past I have ‘written up’ notes never to be read again!

    • Jeff Lewis
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:56 am | Permalink

      Same here. I write almost exclusively with pencils – 0.5 mm Bic disposable pencils to be exact. I’ve had nice mechanical pencils, but I’m constantly misplacing or otherwise losing pencils, so the cheaper the better. And I only use 0.7 mm when there’s no other choice. The lead’s so thick I feel like I’m writing with a crayon. BTW – I’m an engineer, so a lot of my writing is calculations or preliminary sketches of designs, so being able to erase is nice.

      If I have anything formal to write, it’s typed on a computer. And with the proliferation of PDFs, even most forms get filled out on computers these days, too. Probably 99% of the time I use a pen is just to sign my name.

      • Jeff Lewis
        Posted September 29, 2016 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

        Just thought I’d add that about the only time I really write out long ‘essays’ by hand is in a travel journal I keep while on trips. Like a lot of others mentioned in a previous thread on handwriting, mine has evolved into a hybrid print/cursive. I also write rather small, which is why I prefer the 0.5mm pencils. One page of my handwritten journal pages usually takes around 2 pages when typed out with 12 point Times New Roman.

        • infiniteimprobabilit
          Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:32 pm | Permalink

          Interesting about the hybrid print/cursive – mine too. (At primary school they tried to teach us ‘joined-up’ writing and mine was so horrible and laborious that a few years later I rebelled and started printing everything).

          I use pencil for the infrequent entries in my diary, 0.5mm for preference (I’m an engineer too, if there’s any significance in that). And my writing is small.


  9. Beau Quilter
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:52 am | Permalink

    I’ve been writing with a keyboard for years. But cervical disc degeneration has caused my left hand to go numb this year, making typing more difficult. So I find myself frequently reverting to a 0.7 lead mechanical pencil.

  10. Mike
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:58 am | Permalink

    I use a Waterman mainly but also a Parker to conserve the ink in both, they are easy to write with, I too noticed the fall of in handwriting skill, now everything in the main is written via keyboard. but I made the effort to write more and its slowly coming back, “use it or lose it”

  11. Alain Van Hout
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    In Belgium/Flanders, ‘bic’ is a widely used synonym for a pen of any type. It’s even in the Dutch dictionary.

  12. darrelle
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    Writing? What’s that?

    In grade school I won top marks for my penmanship. Starting in my late teens, late high school and through college, my writing went straight to hell. I attribute that to two things.

    1) Nearly all schoolwork that involved composing words had to be typed. I had learned how to type in Home Economics in 7th grade. Between computer programming and having to type most school work, by late high school I was pretty good and could type much faster than I could write.

    2) During that same period there was suddenly tons of paperwork, official forms of all sorts, to fill out. Part of becoming an adult I suppose. All those forms had to be printed. I hadn’t printed since about 3rd grade. I never really made the transition back to printing and my printing has always sucked. Also as a result of all the forms my signature, which used to be as pretty as my writing, evolved into a totally meaningless squiggle.

    The end result is that now I can’t write or print worth a heck. Slow and messy. I’ll go back and read a note I jotted down about something and there will be changes from writing to printing, sometimes within the same word. I’ll stick with typing.

    But, my favored writing implement is a gel pen. I try not to use them though.

  13. Rob
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:15 am | Permalink

    I have an lifetime collection of pens and pencils. I use whatever works. In a 100 years, I might have to buy some new pens.

    And, yes, my handwriting has degraded to awful. Good enough for a grocery list, but little else.

    Loved fountain pens back in the day!

  14. Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:18 am | Permalink

    After complaints from my primary school teacher and parents about my poor penmanship (penxanship?) I spent hours writing a short essay only to be told my writing was still completely ineligible but with more pointless flair.

    I went on to study Computer Science, am now a web programmer and only write by hand if I’m forging a doctor’s note.

    • Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:20 am | Permalink


      Seems handwriting isn’t my only problem.

  15. busterggi
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:30 am | Permalink

    Mostly I use whatever pens I can steal (thank you banks!). I dislike pencils because they tend to break when there is no sharpener around. Mechanical pencils break even more often for me. I do have a few nice fountain pens but it would take a special trip to get ink for them so they just gather dust.

    • James Walker
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:13 am | Permalink

      You’re the reason for this:

      • Dave B
        Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:45 am | Permalink

        This was exactly what I thought about when I read this. Perfect.

  16. Keith from NJ
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:41 am | Permalink

    Before they were discontinued, I bought a bunch of Scripto 0.9 mm mechanical pencils that advance lead by turning the barrel. With 2B lead, they are great to use. As for pens, either a Cross or Bic Clic ballpoint.

  17. Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    I love ballpoint pens. I’m pretty indiscriminant as to brand, but mostly Bic or the promo pens in hotel rooms. Every couple years I accumulate too many and take a handful to a local elementary school.

    In general I don’t like pencils because the writing is relatively faint and it smudges easily, and sharpening them is a constant problem. However, I do like Papermate mechanical pencils. Each one lasts me a long time and nothing seems to go wrong with them.

  18. Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:04 am | Permalink

    Mostly I type, fast and at one time well. My handwriting has never been good. It has never been as bad as my Dad’s, though — he got permission to bring a typewriter to law-school exams, because nobody could read his writing. One of the people at the herbarium here has lovely handwriting. Unfortunately, student workers now mostly can’t read even his cursive.

    • Marilee Lovit
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

      What herbarium? Some of those old handwritten labels are lovely. And nice to see the actual handwriting of botanists who have gone before.

  19. nwalsh
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    I much prefer the uni-ball.

  20. Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:13 am | Permalink

    That ad says 34’10 – which I interpret as 34 shillings and ten pence – in old money🙂 Essentially 35 shillings, which is about £1.75 (took me a while to find the £ symbol there). Even post brexit that’s around $2.25. Which seems like a lot, given how much inflation has occurred in the intervening period (not sure how it fits the constant price since 1959 theme). I’m pretty unconvinced by the policeman writing in the rain too!

    • infiniteimprobabilit
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:47 pm | Permalink

      The very early Biros were prestige, premium items, with stainless steel barrels and brass writing points. You could get refills for them. They were not disposable items. I think I’ve got an old one of my father’s lying around.

      The ball mechanism was precision engineering for the time, so I’m not suprised by the price.

      In the 12 – 15 years to 1959, the ballpoint became a ‘commodity’ and disposable, hence the massive price drop.


  21. James Walker
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:14 am | Permalink

    I’ve always used ballpoint pens. I had one teacher in high school who insisted that we use fountain pens for her course, but I hated the sound/feel of the nib scratching on the paper, and ink was always getting everywhere.

    • Jeff Lewis
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:41 am | Permalink

      In art class in middle school, we had a project where we used fountain pens. I agree – I hated the feel on the paper. Even just thinking about it now is reminiscent of fingernails on a chalkboard.

  22. Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:18 am | Permalink

    I do possess a nice hand-crafted pen that I use when handwriting is necessary – I bought it at the Rudhams Village Fete five years or so ago, although my preference is for typing – and if you saw my handwriting you would instantly know why.

  23. Hempenstein
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:28 am | Permalink

    Always wondered what the solvent in those ballpoint inks is. Same for the inks for rubber stamps.

  24. jwthomas
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:36 am | Permalink

    My writing has always been poor. I was one of those left handed children forced in school to change to right hand and have found my hand writing getting even worse as I get older. I compose everything on keyboards (hunt and peck since my left hand is partially paralyzed from a stroke) and never hand write anything but illegible personal checks.

  25. Monika
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    Mostly I use a Lamy safari fountain pen, I bought it in 2000 and by now the nib has adapted to my hand quite nicely.

    • compuholio
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:54 am | Permalink

      I had that pen too. I really liked it and I used it for a long time in my high-school days.

    • Anna
      Posted September 29, 2016 at 3:19 pm | Permalink

      I’m a Lamy fan too! Have a blue one with blue ink for writing, and a red one with red ink for marking.

  26. compuholio
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:50 am | Permalink

    When it comes to writing tools, I am hard to please. I never liked traditional ballpoint pens because you have to press down way too hard in order to write. Also, most ballpoint pens also produce a very thick line which I consider to be ugly.

    For writing comfort I think fountain pens are the best. But for day to day office use I prefer ink rollers with a fine line such as

    Unfortunately I don’t get them through our normal supplier for office tools, so I usually buy them myself.

  27. loren russell
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 10:58 am | Permalink

    I picked the term ‘biro’ from pirated radio version of Hitchhikers Guide in the 1970s. i think the reference was to archaeology of a dead planet, where the Biros were wedged between layers of lost unmatched sox and unmatched shoes. By context I figured it meant some kind of bp pen.

    About the same time, I had a Canadian friend who called all BPs “bitches”. Thought it odd at the time, now I know he was just honoring M. Bich!

  28. Posted September 29, 2016 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    I remember as I was taught handwriting (printing and then cursive) in elementary school I thought that there must be another way to do this. My mother had a typewriter, and I had used it, but it had no delete etc. so wasn’t good enough. Within 2 years I was convinced about computing. (We got our first home computer after my grade 3 year; grade 2 and 3 were the worst years for handwriting classes).

    In that grade 3 class, we were required often to use a *cartridge pen*. From my own experience, this made the neat kids neater and the messy kids (including me) messier.

    Now I use ballpoints or those I think they are gel … not sure, the ones with absolute minimum pressure needed. (That was always the problem with the cartridge pen – I never did learn to press correctly.)

  29. Posted September 29, 2016 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

    For my journal, a fountain pen; for work, ballpoints; for creative writing a manual typewriter can’t be beat!

  30. Posted September 29, 2016 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

    Pentel 0.9mm (mustard yellow) mechanical pencil, almost all the time.

  31. Posted September 29, 2016 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

    I, too, write by hand very little anymore. My handwriting has always been poor and now it’s almost ridiculous. I’m in a hurry! Get off my lawn! 🙂

    If I must use a pen, it is a Bic Velocity, which is a click-pen with a rubber grip and comfortable diameter for my hand. Purple ink if possible, otherwise, blue.

  32. Kevin
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    I’m a leftie. Ball points can be pushed or pulled. They generally work, though not with same success.

    Any writing utensil is going to leave the side of my left pinkie inky. That’s why I can type >80 wpm.

  33. Rod
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    In Elementary school in Ontario in the 50s, we actually were taught to write with a steel nib in a holder, which you dipped into an inkwell!
    Was pretty messy, especially for the lefties.
    Soon went to a fountain pen through secondary and beyond.
    Fountain pens don’t work well with carbon paper (what’s that, you ask?) so went to generic ballpoints by the 80s. Lot of form-filling in the day.
    Mostly two-fingered typing now.

  34. kelskye
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 1:24 pm | Permalink

    I mostly write with a keyboard, and occasionally a touch screen. On the very rare occasion I ‘go analogue’, my near-illegible scrawl is done with ballpoint pens.

  35. Dianne Leonard
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 2:28 pm | Permalink

    I mostly use random ballpoint pens that I get–umm, in random places. Anything that works. My dad was a leftie who was “broken” (they used that word) to write with his right hand. He was an archictural drafter, so mostly he used various types of pencils. He had, however, a terrible time with scissors. He was so proud of me when I tracked down a pair of left-handed scissors for him (long before the Internet.)

    • Posted September 29, 2016 at 4:13 pm | Permalink

      I’m strongly left handed and write that way. (My father and his mother were left handed. Fortunately, grandma absolutely insisted her son be allowed to write left-handed, and nobody messed with my handedness.)

      However, all the scissors in my young life were right-handed. I mastered the non-intuitive pressure needed to cut with them as a left-hander. A couple times as an adult I’ve happily acquired left-handed scissors and then been unable to use them. The pressure I apply somehow shoves the blades apart.

  36. Heather Hastie
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    We mostly call ballpoint pens biros in NZ as well. At school we used fountain pens (after graduating from pencils) which we filled with ink. Our desks still had ink wells from the “dip” days. At about the first year of high school we moved onto biros.

    Writing with a fountain pen is lovely but completely impractical. Carrying a fountain pen in your handbag it’s only a matter of time before you have a spillage. And there’s never ink around when you need it. A high quality ballpoint is almost as nice to use, and there are some lovely ones. Come to think of it, we don’t call the high quality ones biros, just the disposable ones.

    I used to have pretty good handwriting, but it’s just too slow to write nicely. I’m not a proper typist, but it is quicker than writing legibly. If I handwrite something in a hurry, I often can’t read my own handwriting.

  37. Steve Brooks
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

    My favorite pen is a uni-ball VISION ELITE. I, too, am a leftie. On ordinary paper, this pen’s ink dries so quickly that I rarely blur it with my pinkie. Using a pencil, especially one with soft graphite, is a different matter.

  38. Steve Brooks
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 5:01 pm | Permalink

    As an aside, I taught English to middle schoolers for many years. One persistent trick they employed was to remove the ink cartridge from a Bic pen. The empty shaft made a dandy spit-wad shooter. I quickly learned to listen for a characteristic “puh” sound. I eventually had a generous collection of confiscated, empty Bic shafts.

    • Posted September 30, 2016 at 11:28 am | Permalink

      Maybe that’s why my grade 7 English teacher required cartridge pens!

  39. barn owl
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 5:02 pm | Permalink

    I’ve returned to using fountain pens and brush pens for journaling and for writing letters and cards, and my handwriting has almost recovered to its award-winning-penmanship elementary/middle school state. That took a bit of deliberate practice, since I’ve printed for note-taking since undergrad, and for years and years of lab notebooks and labeling (prefer gel pens and rollerballs and ultra-fine Sharpies for all that). Never did learn to type properly, so I’m a writing Luddite.

    I kind of have a thing for pens, but at the lower end of the fountain pen range (I’d rather have a number of less expensive pens loaded with different ink colors). So far I have a Lamy Safari, a Kaweco Skyline Sport, two Pilot Metropolitans, and a Pilot Cavalier. The Pilots are my favorites. If you like pens of various types, as well as stationery, planners, pencils, etc., I recommend JetPens.

  40. nicky
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 7:39 pm | Permalink

    I use any ballpoint with black ink (required) that I can lay my hands on. In my environment they tend to disappear, but I’m guilty of using pens that are not mine too.
    Reps and hotels are a common (legal) source.

  41. Posted September 29, 2016 at 8:32 pm | Permalink

    I always hated writing, because I have this special condition where I make the squiggles with the sinister hand. We had to use fountain pens that made matters only worse.

    My teachers were appalled by my occult technique of ink smearing and with equal measure frustrated because I could draw quite well. They were right — it looked satanic. When presented with opportunity, they complained about it and, it seemed, punish me extra for the difference in quality of drawing and writing. The difference was, at the bottom of it, the tool, though I couldn’t articulate it then. We were allowed to switch to ball pens later, but I learned handwriting with the fountain pen and it permanently left the devil’s mark on my style.

    Fortunately, I dodged a similar drama with scissors, for I am somehow ambidextrous otherwise, where I have to figure out every time for each thing which hand feels better. I learned recently that I’m an oppressed minority, and shall start an intersectionality left-handedness movement where we aim to understand science from a left-handed lens and deconstruct the fountain-pen axis of oppression.

    I began to love writing once I could do it with the keys, but I am still in process of realizing it.

  42. ploubere
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:34 pm | Permalink

    Pilot Precise V5. It’s a fine-lined rolling ball, but feels like a fountain pen.

  43. Wayne Y. Hoskisson
    Posted September 29, 2016 at 9:45 pm | Permalink

    Writing instruments fascinate me. I generally write with a pencil or technical fountain pen. I almost never use a ballpoint pen. I have Rotring and Cross fountain pens. Neither is particularly expensive and are meant to be used as everyday pens. I use Kohinoor Radiograph pens. My favorite brand was Reforme but it does not appear to be made any longer. I have about a 5 year supply of parts to keep it working. Eventually the nibs have to be replaced because of failure to maintain them or just because things wear out. This is a technology that lasted less than the average career. The stylus type of fountain pen became the standard pen for drafting in the 1950s and was replaced by CAD programs in the 1990s. I still have a Radiograph that was given to me around 1966. Such pens have the advantage of using India ink. The ink is lightfast and waterproof. I still use them but now carry a hybrid developed in Japan, the Copic Multiliner SP. It comes in various sizes (line width) with replaceable points and ink cartridges. This makes them a little easier to use for travel or use in the field. I have probably a dozen different steel pen nibs that fit into a pen holder but generally only use three different nibs. I sometimes like to write with a Globe Extra Fine nib which is one that was commonly used for writing when pens were dipped into an ink well.

    I do use a Fisher Space Pen with Rite-in-the-Rain paper when doing fieldwork. It is a particular kind of ballpoint pen. The pen is pressurized and uses a thick, waterproof ink. It will write under water, in zero gravity and up-side-down.

    I keep hand written notes on my iPad with an app that lets me write on the screen and save it as a pdf. It feels a little less intrusive during meetings when I want to make some notes as opposed to hauling out my laptop and typing away.

    Here is a link to a drawing I did of an Ancestral Puebloan ruin not far from home. It is on my DropBox account. I did this on site and have not yet figured out how I will finish it.


  44. Lauren
    Posted September 30, 2016 at 6:44 am | Permalink

    I also have and love my Mont Blanc fountain pen but it stays put most of the time.

    After recovering from a broken (dominant) wrist in 2014, I’ve had to work on my cursive writing. My favorite instrument now is my Apple pen for use on my iPad Pro. There is no latency and I can rest my hand on my iPad while I write. Truly it is as if I’m writing on paper. I use the app Notability so I can easily write on any web-page form, contract, create my own journal, etc. I don’t like sounding like a commercial, but it’s great being able to hand write, be mostly paperless and keep my notes, etc. in one convenient place.

  45. CycleAZLindyB
    Posted September 30, 2016 at 11:00 am | Permalink

    I love pencils. My favorite ones are the Blackwings from

  46. Stuartg
    Posted September 30, 2016 at 5:42 pm | Permalink

    I discovered at university that if I used biros/ballpoints then my handwriting sped up and rapidly deteriorated to the point where even I could not read it. I switched to a fountain pen to slow down my writing and it again became legible.

    These days I get offered lots of biros covered in drug company logos. All get declined.

    Instead, I mainly use one of two Waterman fountain pens for my notes. Both are well worn to my hand and I have sentimental attachment to both. For the carbon copy documents I have to fill I use a Mont Blanc roller ball, which I don’t find as satisfying.

  47. Posted September 30, 2016 at 6:04 pm | Permalink

    I use phones and computers to write. My handwriting went down the drain years ago. The good news is that I have a fantastically illegible signature, which they’ve shown to be much more difficult to forge.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

