Wednesday: Hili dialogue

It’s Wednesday, September 28, and a day that nearly everyone can celebrate: National Drink a Beer Day. I’ll have a Goose Island Honkers Ale (though I’ll be wishing for a nice, well-kept pint of Landlord), and if you plan imbibing to celebrate, list your tipple below. On this day in 1066, William the Conqueror invaded England. And in England in 1928, it was on September 28 that Alexander Fleming noted, in a Petri dish, a mold that appeared to kill bacteria. The rest is history: antibiotics. On this day in 1970, Gamal Nasser died of a heart attack in Egypt, and his successor, Anwar Sadat, became the permanent replacement.

Notables born on this day include Georges Clemenceau (1841), Ed Sullivan (1901), Al Capp (1909), Brigette Bardot (1934), Sylvia Kristel (1952 ♥), and Janeane Garofalo (1964 ♥).  Those who died on this day include Louis Pasteur (1895), Edwin Hubble (1953), Harpo Marx (1964), John Dos Passos (1970), Miles Davis (1991), Elia Kazan (2003), and Shimon Peres (today).  Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Andrzej and Malgorzata were given burnooses by a friend, as they had two spare ones made out of wool, which might help stave off the cold of the coming Polish winter. Unfortunately, Hili has no truck with these new garments:

A: Deo gratias.
Hili: Oh no, prayers again!

In Polish:
Ja: Deo gratias.
Hili: O nie, znowu modlitwy!


  1. Posted September 28, 2016 at 6:56 am | Permalink

    Sam Adams Boston Lager.

  2. David Harper
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 6:59 am | Permalink

    I shall be drinking a bottle of Black Sheep ale, from the brewery of the same name in Masham, Yorkshire. But I shall secretly be wishing I had a bottle of Anubis Imperial Coffee Porter from the Laughing Dog Brewing company in my adopted hometown of Sandpoint, Idaho.

    • DrBrydon
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:39 am | Permalink

      I like Black Sheep, but I’ve never seen it in the US. I will have an Abita Amber, one of my favorite beers, which luckily my local grocery store carries.

  3. ThyroidPlanet
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:02 am | Permalink

    I think the key difference with Fleming was that he proposed an active substance in the mold, plus he was using isolated bacteria – that he saw the mold’s effects was not new.

  4. GBJames
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:05 am | Permalink

    Looks like Obi-Wan Kenobi to me!

    I’ve recently been enjoying Goose Island Honkers Ale, too. But I’ll probably shift my attention elsewhere again having discovered that they are yet another microbrewery gobbled up by the giant corporations. Anheuser-Busch InBev, in this case.

    • Rasmo carenna
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:26 am | Permalink

      I thought the same: “What is Obi-Wan doing with a cat?” Maybe teaching it some jedi tricks…

      • DrBrydon
        Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:37 am | Permalink

        Ditto. Obi-Wandrzej?

      • bugfolder
        Posted September 28, 2016 at 9:30 am | Permalink

        I think Obi-Wan is demonstrating why the lightkitty never really caught on as a Jedi weapon.

    • Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:28 am | Permalink

      My philosophy is that if the beer remains good, and it’s not produced by Nazis or the equivalent, I’ll still buy it.

      • GBJames
        Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:30 am | Permalink

        That’s just your taste buds talking!😉

    • David Harper
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 8:43 am | Permalink

      Black Sheep Brewery was set up by Paul Theakston, after his family’s brewing company, famed for its Old Peculier ale, was taken over by Scottish & Newcastle Breweries in a similar situation to Goose Island.

    • mordacious1
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 9:26 am | Permalink

      Goose Island was at one time one of my favorite breweries, but I too no longer buy it. Its not that AB or InBev has changed the recipe (although that may eventually happen), the problem lies with distribution. Craft brewers are getting squeezed out by the big guys. When you go into a restaurant or bar and are only offered Stella Artois, Goose Island, Bud and perhaps Elysian, it’s because InBev has forced that restaurant to only carry its beer.

      We had a revolution in the US 30 years ago. We no longer had to drink swill. The microbreweries gave us choice. Now companies like InBev are trying to take choice away. Once that happens, quality suffers. In order to avoid this, I support craft brewers.

      • GBJames
        Posted September 28, 2016 at 9:41 am | Permalink

        I agree completely. That said, we are right now in a Golden Age of Microbrewing™. There are a goodly number of actual craft brewers out there and they seem to be opening new ones more rapidly than the big corporations can buy them. But it takes effort to distinguish them at the grocery store or in a restaurant.

        My craft-brew options include:
        Central Waters Brewing
        O’so Brewing
        Great Dane Brewing
        MKE Brewing
        Black Husky Brewing
        Good City Brewing
        Company Brewing
        Brenner Brewery
        Lakefront Brewing
        Hinterland Brewing
        Sprecher Brewing
        New Glarus Brewing
        Titletown Brewing
        Sand Creek Brewing
        Capital Brewery
        Wisconsin Brewing Co.

        Those are just some of my Wisconsin options. Seven of them are here in Milwaukee, three are within walking distance of my front door. So I can’t complain.

        • John Conoboy
          Posted September 28, 2016 at 12:13 pm | Permalink

          Indeed, it is a lovely time to be a beer drinker. I have not done a count, but here in Albuquerque we have at least 20 breweries and it seems like a new one opens every few months. I haven’t even been to all of them. The best day was when Boxing Bear brewery opened about 1/2 mile from my house. Only a few bottle/can their beers, so tonight I will be drinking La Cumbre Elevated IPA,

    • Kevin
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 10:24 am | Permalink

      Obi-Wan with cat.

  5. Christopher
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:08 am | Permalink

    Honkers, Landlord, Black Sheep,(haven’t had Laughing Dog) all good choices. An Oktoberfest Märzenbier would be a great choice, considering the time of year.

    • David Harper
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:21 am | Permalink

      Laughing Dog only distributes within the Pacific Northwest, as far as I know. They recently increased their production capacity, but they are still a small regional brewery which puts quality ahead of quantity. And I hope they stay that way.

      • Christopher
        Posted September 28, 2016 at 5:42 pm | Permalink

        Yes, it is best if they stay regional. But usually greed gets the better of them and they end up like my local Boulevard Brewing, spreading out in all directions and then sold to another company. I love trying beers from all over, but it loses something if I don’t get to go somewhere new and try something local and special.

        and for what it’s worth, I settled on an Oktoberfest Märzen selection, currently on Mothers Brewing, out of Springfield, Mo, which will be followed by other Oktoberfest beers, either Blue Point, from Long Island, or Abita, from Abita Springs, La, or perhaps Goose Island, all Märzen for me tonight. One of my favorite styles that is not from Belgium, my personal earthy paradise, the light of my liver.


        • GBJames
          Posted September 28, 2016 at 6:36 pm | Permalink

          I just enjoyed a glass of New Glarus Staghorn, an Octoberfest brew. Quite tasty.


  6. Reggie Cormack
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:39 am | Permalink

    I shall mostly be drinking Caffreys this evening. Actually such is its obvious health giving powers that I have one at 9.00 p.m. every night. Just the one though as with all that goodness I expect to live to 110 years. That’ll probably be enough for me. But then I may change my mind and go for longer.

  7. Randall Schenck
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 7:49 am | Permalink

    I will have a Licher, thanks. However, will need a quick trip to Germany, to the town of Lich to get it. Maybe it’s on tap at the Frankfort airport?

  8. Walter Holt
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 8:28 am | Permalink

    I’ll be enjoying a bottle from the Northern Irish startup craft brewery Farmageddon. Not sure which but their porter is outstanding.

  9. Frank
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    A pint of Guinness while listening to the incomparable Miles Davis…..

  10. Steve Pollard
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 9:07 am | Permalink

    I have already enjoyed a pint of Harvey’s Best Bitter at lunchtime; and I plan on drinking a bottle of Long Man Brewery’s Long Blonde at an early juncture this evening.

  11. Purshia
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 10:28 am | Permalink

    There are so many good, local (I’m in Central Washington), craft beer options near me. However, as it’s a “national holiday” I think I’ll celebrate with the craft beer that started it all for me, an Anchor Steam from Anchor Brewing in San Francisco.

  12. Dominic
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 10:37 am | Permalink

    The reason is it is St. Wenceslaus or Vaclav’s Day, patron saint of brewers…

    & I am meeting a tee-totaler shortly!

    • Christopher
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

      Let us not forget the Belgian patron saint of brewers, St. Arnold of Soissons or the patron saint of hop pickers, Arnulf of Oudenburg…which is an odd thing for an atheist to say but ah well…Santé!

  13. David Harper
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    With some trepidation, I beg to observe that PCC(E) is not entirely correct. Today is actually National Drink Beer Day. There’s no definite article.

    However, this is good news, since it means that we may imbibe more than one beer! Truly, the Founding Fathers were wise and far-sighted in declaring this national holiday.

  14. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    Sylvia Kristel starred in a movie directed by one of my father’s high school friends, Curtis Harrington. The movie is “Mata Hari”.

    (Not quite as cool as JAC’s father meeting Sophia Loren, though.)

  15. Mark R.
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 11:42 am | Permalink

    I pretty much only drink Pilsner Urquell nowadays. But my favorite beer is probably Schneider Weisse, especially on a hot summer day with a wedge of lemon.

  16. Kurt Lewis Helf
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 1:19 pm | Permalink

    Help me Obi-Wan Katnobi, you’re my only hope!

  17. Taz
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

    Going to a friend’s house who has Guinness on tap – so that’ll be my choice.

    • Christopher
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

      I’ll be right over…

  18. darrelle
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Hmmm. Not sure. Perhaps a nice Eisbock. Or maybe a nice Belgian Abbey ale like Corsendonk. Hard to choose. I’ll take a leisurely stroll through the beer department of a good local liquor store I know after work and pick something out.

    • Christopher
      Posted September 28, 2016 at 5:57 pm | Permalink

      wonderful choices, too. We are spoiled for choice these days, speaking from the US. What I am now missing, however, is a proper cask ale, pulled, not poured. One local brewpub, 75th Street, in KC Mo, used to do something close to it, but they’ve closed due to piss-poor (piss-pour?) management.

      and speaking of real ales, I don’t know if it even comes close, but I believe that PCC’s choice, Landlord, is available in bottles, or at least it used to be, at Binny’s, at least the one I used to frequent out in the Chicago ‘burbs. Worth a look, but it’ll not be quite the same, I know.

      damn, today’s post has given me a powerful thirst…

  19. ploubere
    Posted September 28, 2016 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    Goodwood Walnut Brown Ale, from Louisville Ky. Aged in oak barrels with walnuts.
    If I could, I would have had Erie Brewing’s Ol’ Red Cease and Desist wee heavy ale. It’s seasonal, and this is not the season, unfortunately.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

