Spot the mantis!

Reader Mark Sturtevant has another “spot the. . ” picture. Click the photo to enlarge, and I’ll reveal the answer at 11 a.m. Chicago time. (I’d classify this one as “hard”.) As always, try not to give it away in the comments below, though you can say whether you spotted it.

Mark’s notes:

This summer has been a summer full of photographic adventures, and it included a multitude of mantises, which is great because there is nothing in the insect world like a preying mantis. The lady hiding in this scene was a big one, perhaps the largest of this species that I have come across. I will let the readers identify her, and that will not be hard once she is spotted.

She stayed with me for about a week, and I have plenty of candid shots to show of her later. Some of those are gruesome since she was always hungry. In any case, here I have released her again near where I found her. Can the sharp-eyed readers of WEIT find her? She is lurking in there somewhere, and woe to any grasshopper or katydid that gets in her line of sight!



  1. GBJames
    Posted September 23, 2016 at 8:50 am | Permalink

    A hard one, but I found her!

  2. Posted September 23, 2016 at 9:00 am | Permalink

    My eyes are bleeding eh eh eh

  3. Flemur
    Posted September 23, 2016 at 9:53 am | Permalink

    In Soviet Union, mantis spots you!

    Re. previous post, from Lionel Shriver:
    Will the Left Survive the Millennials?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

