Sunday: Hili dialogue

Hili is late today, as Professor Ceiling Cat Emeritus overslept, but he needed it!  It’s Sunday, September 18, and will be a nice sunny day in Chicago. The first-year students have arrived on campus to begin their “orientation” (aka indoctrination), and I’ve made yet another bet on Hillary winning the Presidency: I’ll get a fancy meal in Hyde Park if she wins. This is, I believe, the fourth such bet I’ve made, and, since I firmly believe Clinton will win, I have no compunction about taking money from those  willing to bet because they have a desperate fear that Trump will win. “You can’t lose,” I tell them. “If Trump wins, you get a free dinner (or money). If he loses, you’ll be so glad that you’ll be happy to pay me off.”

It’s National Cheeseburger Day, though I’m planning on having a Mexican sandwich, a cemita, at a newly opened local joint.  On this day in history, in 1919, the Netherlands gave women the right to vote (“gave”, of course, implies that a favor was being conferred), and, exactly two years ago, Scotland voted against independence from the UK. The results might well be different in the next referendum!

Notables born on this day include Robert Blake (1933), Ben Carson (1951), and Tara Fitzgerald (1967 ♥). Those who died on this day include Dag Hammarskjöld (1961), Jimi Hendrix (1970), and Katherine Anne Porter (1980). Meanwhile in Dobrzyn, Hili is demanding fusses to soothe her in the open, where she gets a bit freaked out:

Hili: Stroke me once more and we will see.
Malgorzata: See what?
Hili: Whether it’s enough.
In Polish:
Hili: Pogłaszcz mnie jeszcze raz, a potem zobaczymy.
Małgorzata: Co zobaczymy?
Hili: Czy wystarczy.


  1. thompjs
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 7:20 am | Permalink

    I had to look up Cemita. I don’t know of any Mexican places in Houston that offer those.

    Of course when we have taco trucks on every corner, they may show up.

  2. Historian
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 7:41 am | Permalink

    I don’t think a free dinner would compensate for a Trump victory. I am trying to cut down on the time I spend obsessing about the election. I now read less about it and watch less election coverage on TV. I don’t want to suffer from “Election Stress Disorder” as discussed in this article.

  3. bluemaas
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 7:41 am | Permalink

    “O, I quite agree, Hili ! I know of that freak – out when one is soooo exposed there in … … The Open. IF only ‘enough’ fusses and ‘enough’ stroking sufficed to alleviate such of its wowza – epinephrine surging ! If only.”


  4. Dean Booth
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 9:21 am | Permalink

    If Trump wins, to give just one example, Obamacare will be repealed and thousands will die prematurely. Betting on this election seems a bit like betting on whether trapped coal miners will get out alive.

    • Heather Hastie
      Posted September 18, 2016 at 2:45 pm | Permalink

      If Trump wins, trapped coal miners literally won’t get out alive. He’s promised to open up the coal mines, and the only way to make them profitable in the current international environment is to get rid of workplace safety regulations.

  5. Posted September 18, 2016 at 10:06 am | Permalink

    “If Trump wins, you get a free dinner (or money). If he loses, you’ll be so glad that you’ll be happy to pay me off.”

    Coyne’s “can’t lose wager.” Makes more sense than Pascal’s version.

  6. SA Gould
    Posted September 18, 2016 at 11:54 am | Permalink

    …”they have a desperate fear that Trump will win.” Any country that would let such be seriously considered by a large amount of the populace, certainly has the chance to elect him. My fear is not desperate, it’s cynical.

    • ploubere
      Posted September 18, 2016 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

      Agreed. As polls show, there is a fair chance that Trump will win. To acknowledge that is not fear, it is an objective measure of the country’s culture. It is the consequences that I fear.

  7. bluemaas
    Posted September 21, 2016 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

    And according to my September 2016 issue of Freethought Today, 18 September 2016, is the 62nd anniversary of the birthing event of this currently high arched and fancifully stitched bearer of such footwear, the philosophical linguist of thus: !

    I know. I know. I am so, so late to the / his (birthday) part – tay … … my having been offput and wholly waylaid by a ginormous pocketful of this other dude’s: Ménière’s !


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

